We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price is as good as the rooms”
Review of Hotel Le Mottaret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Mottaret
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The price is as good as the rooms”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We just wanted to ski, so this hotel lived up our expectations. The rooms are rather small and cold. The restaurant is quite good for the price they ask. The stuff is very friendly and helpful.
I will go there next year unless they encrease the price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    99
    32
    16
    12
See reviews for
76
94
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Transfer time from airport 5 1/2 hours due to poor driver and route taken.
Boot room unheated best to take boots to your room.
Rooms comfortable and clean, but need more maintenance eg. Brackets for shower so you dont have to hold the hose while washing. Poor drainage in bath plug.
Bar comfortable drinks okish and agree with earlier review with drafty bottom end!
Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Food was very poor. Breakfast was ok with warm eggs, bacon, beans.
For lunch you get a bland baguette, crisps, fruit, cake and bottle of water. Not to bad this safes you at least €20 a day.
Evening meal main course was terrible every time with really random combinations eg. Tagatelli and stew!
Soup was nice, cheese was cheese and pudding was the best course.
Overall the 8 of us that went had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwsooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djwoz
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Other reviews of the Hotel Mottaret are accurate. This place is far from perfect. The price, however, is considerably less than the more "perfect" hotels in Meribel. The location and hotel is perfect if skiing is the reason you are here. The rooms were clean and comfortable to sleep in. The food was decent but far from gourmet. The bar and lounge area were comfortable and the fire inviting. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

If you are not a skier and are looking for a place to stay with a lot of amenities this is not the place for you. But, be prepared to pay a lot more to stay and for finer dining elsewhere in Meribel.

Room Tip: This hotel doesn't have an elevator. You will have to carry your own bags up the stairs. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

can only think the person below was staying at a different hotel to me because iv just returned from a fabulous stay at this hotel.i agree with taking your boots to your heated bedroom but if you cant walk down a few icy steps i dont think you should be on a ski holiday. the 5 course meal every night was varied and absolutely delicious,didnt have a bad one all week.the all inclusive was a real bonus, unlimited top quality wine and lager really made the trip. lounge was comfortable and warm with a roaring log fire every night. rooms were smallish and beds were narrow but they served their purpose and were always clean tidy and warm when we returned. all in all an excellent hotel and would reccomend to everyone, i,ll certainly be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rizzotherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The location is great, but so are the location of so many other hotels in the 3 valleys. The food was ok, but not really when you consider that you are in France and you expect to have great food. If you like to have fresh veggies at least once a day, bring your own. Having just a hand-held in the shower is on the bogus side - but i did enjoy the mushroom that grew during the week from just a 1 inch cup to a 2.5 inch x 4 inch full blow fungus! Got a great photo of that. The ski room is badly in need of some TLC - nothing fantastic, but is it too much to ask to have lights that stay on and a bench that doesn't collapse? I did like the staff, and the beer was cold, but if you are looking for a hotel that pays attention to the details, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The le mottaret is situated in a great position in mottaret, which is at the heart of the three valleys. Virtually ski in and out access to probably the best ski resort in the world, what more could you ask for? Maybe the following may help you:-
1. Dont leave your ski boots in the boot room. Its unheated, and gets really cold at night, therefore your boots have contracted by the time you put them back on. Also increase your levels of insurance as the steps into it are precarious. Finally take care on the bench, it will collapse very soon.
2. Be prepared to eat out more than you anticipate, the food is bland, often overcooked, and sometimes under-cooked, but rarely properly cooked. We opted to eat and drink in the delightful little village for the last three nights, as we could no longer face the evening meal. Therefore, a few hundred extra euro's or your credit card is almost essential.
3. Take extra clothing into the lounge, particularly if you are sitting at the bottom end, its very cold. Further, dont make the mistake of asking the barman to serve you whilst he is eating. He will rudely point at his food and stay exactly where he is.
4. If you fancy afternoon tea, be quick, as the staff virtually always dive in first. Also be warned the quality of the beer and wine in particular are very very poor.
5. Dont take valuables as neither the rooms or reception offer any form of secure storage.
6. It might be advisable to take a screwdriver with you, as the bathroom door handles regularly falls off. Also a bath plug is a good idea, as the water in the bath of our "superior"??? room always drained out of its own accord, as the bath plug did not fit.
7. The hygiene in this hotel is poor, the room and general cleaning is inadequate. Our bins were rarely emptied, and toilet rolls infrequently replaced.

Be wary of reviews on this hotel, many of the staff in this hotel are British and could be boosting the hotel's ratings themselves. The hotel gives the impression its about to go bust, as all of the ingredients used in the bar/ restaurant are basics, for example the wine comes out of unbranded cardboard boxes.
In summary its a shame, because in the middle of this amazing resort, is a very shoddy, supposedly 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
314 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I guess I'm a bit surprised that this is rated 11th. It is a far cry from a good hotel. The food is plentiful, but not very good. The bathrooms skimp on necessities, like more than a little toilet paper. And in our group of 30 people, within the first 24 hours, 4 came down with a viral infection similar to legionnaires disease. No, not common airplanes, transportation to the hotel or even the same food. In fact in separate rooms we were all stricken within the same exact hour. ( hence my comment about lack of toilet paper.. Even a full roll would have been nice). We can only attribute it to this virus being in the hotel. We have been careful not to spread it, and have done a good job, but I do wonder about the staff comment that they have had many guests with this issue. A good disinfection of the baths and washing of the blankets would seem to be in order.

But for this my review would be the same.. There are better tourist hotels within a door or two... And world class hotels right near by!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank skier003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meribel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#15 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
#4 of 33 in Meribel
115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
#13 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Kaila
Le Kaila
#6 of 33 in Meribel
74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Savoy
Hotel Le Savoy
#2 of 33 in Meribel
164 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Allodis
Hotel Allodis
#3 of 33 in Meribel
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mottaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mottaret

Property: Hotel Le Mottaret
Address: Chemin Chardon 7 | Méribel-Mottaret, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Meribel
#4 Family Hotel in Meribel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Mottaret 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Mottaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mottaret Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing