We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great holiday!!!”
Review of Chalet Parc Alpin

Chalet Parc Alpin
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meribel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Parc Alpin
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great holiday!!!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was Sue and my first attempt at catered chalet and we're hooked - thanks to the fantastic service from Craig and the team. We were blessed with fantastic weather, ski conditions and a great bunch of guests, and I appreciate this isn't guaranteed, but we'll definitely be back. The rooms were terrific - we had the room shown in the picture from another review and it was perfectly fine. The pool and sauna are small but also perfectly fine. There is every chance of getting to know all the other guests, if you wish. Food and drink were plentiful and excellent quality, Craig and Leon know their way around the kitchen for sure. All of the team were friendly and helpful, and always there to help. We loved it and will, because of this team, use Ski Olympic again, Thank You!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulyF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This was our first holiday with Ski Olympic for many years and some things remained the same.
The staff were attentive, cheerful and helpful and the food was plentiful and hearty. Principals that always made this company stand out for value and friendliness.
The problem was the chalet, the layout was not one that brought the guests together but rather kept them in the groups that they arrived in, with the fire tucked away unnoticeable in the corner.
The pool was pointless, too small, too cold and too public in the entrance.
Also the piste/lifts were not close. After all given the title of 'Gold' one would expect more convenience for skiing and the town.
Overall, despite the best efforts of Craig, and the girls the trip did not represent good value and was a little disappointing.
I would still consider Ski Olympic but not this chalet.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

What the brochure says:

'Parc Alpin was wonderfully refurbished a few years ago'.
I would suggest 'a few' is probably about five or six.

'The chalet boasts an indoor pool and sauna as well as an extremely high standard of decor and comfort throughout, which gives a feeling of real luxury'.
I'm not sure the decor passes as high standard and gives a feeling of real luxury. It is what you would expect from a standard chalet type holiday. We have booked a double room with a double bed. We have two single beds pushed together with two single quilts, although it was a very large room. The bathroom looks quite modern and new. The separate toilet, bizarrely located in the wardrobe area with no door or curtain does seem to be from 1960 though. The pool is about 5 meters x 3 meters so you will struggle to exercise in it and it is only available when the chalet manager is in the building, the same goes for the sauna. You also have to request the use of the sauna as it needs to be turned on to heat up. Although it was only available 2 or 3 days out of the week because it was broken.

‘Ski Olympic Gold Collection which includes the Parc Alpin. This enables us to include extras for your comfort and enjoyment such as an aperitif & canapés on 6 evenings, a delicious 4 course evening meal on six evenings, cooked breakfast every morning, complimentary all day refreshments including the "bottomless cookie jar", plasma TV with satellite channels in each room, bathrobes & slippers and free wireless internet access’.
Spirits are available 5 days per week (not Sundays), canapés are 6 nights. The meals are 3 course plus cheese and port. The food is of a good standard and cooked well. Cooked breakfast is NOT available on the chalet staffs day off. All day refreshments are available in the form of tea and coffee in your room and “the bottomless cookie jar”. Satellite TV channels are BBC Scotland 1 and 2, and the WIFI is exceptionally slow.

‘The Parc Alpin is proving to be a hit with our clients as it combines all the advantages of a great location in the popular resort of Meribel, fantastic accommodation and private leisure facilities, and a realistic pricing policy to offer great value for money’.
The chalet is a good 3 -4 minute walk to the slopes and Meribel Centre is really a bus ride after a hard days skiing.

The chalet staff were very quiet to start with but did pick up towards the end of the week, it was rather odd that they seemed to be afraid to do anything before ‘asking Craig’. Leon stood out as been the chalets best asset and nothing was too much trouble for him.

Taking in to account the above comments I would say that the holiday is of an OK standard for the price we paid (under £1000). This included, flights (including supplements), transfers, accommodation, food, drink and three valleys lift pass. If we had paid the standard price we would have been disappointed, as it's not the standard you would expect from reading the website. The majority are minor points, but points that Ski Olympic say make the difference. Having spoken to people that stayed at Chalet Monique in Courchevel 1650 they had everything that was promised and wouldn’t hesitate to return. With this in mind I’m assuming that there are issues with Parc Alpin this season.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uuummmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Everything was first class. A very big room, top class food and service. Good wine, very well stocked free bar. Nice clean swimming pool, deep enough to dive in. There was a blazing wood fire every night. The temperature was just right. The staff were friendly and did their jobs punctually and to a good standard. I really couldn't fault this place and intend going again this very season.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I disagree with their description and feel that this Chalet was mis-sold to us, it was certainly not worth what we paid. I have stayed in far superior accommodation for a lot less money.

My room (photo's attached) was certainly not anything like the one shown on their website.
This was due the fact that the window/balcony looked out onto a brick wall which allowed no light into my room and the only view available to me was that of the fire escape. We were the first guests to book this chalet so certainly expected a far superior room.

Additional toilet was un-usable, the light was broken and this was never repaired during our stay! and it only had a curtain to divide it from the bedroom (photo attached).

(Goldfish Bowl) Pool you would need to be an exhibitionist to use it. Windows on all sides and was overlooked by the chalet entrance, reception and lounge.

(School Canteen) Dining Room, was absolutely horrendous, there was no ambience and the noise due to its design and lack of soft furnishings was deafening and you were unable to have a conversation with other guests.

On the plus side the snow and skiing conditions were excellent.

On my return I complained to Ski Olympic via email and heard nothing from them so I then had to follow it up with a phone call. I finally received a reply 3 weeks later but received no satisfaction, I will certainly never book again with Ski Olympic.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnS1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiOlympic, Director of Sales at Chalet Parc Alpin, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear "LynnS1963". We were so sorry that you were dissatisfied with your holiday to Meribel this season.
As we said during the communications between us, we maintain that your holiday was not mis sold to you. Over 1000 clients have enjoyed holidaying in the Chalet Parc Alpin over a number of years, and we have received nothing other than excellent reviews in this time. We appreciate that it is very difficult to please everybody who holidays with us, but we feel that in this situation the problems were caused by your expectations of the holiday.
As I also explained to you, the chalet is not owned by Ski Olympic, so if any maintenance issues arise, we are unable to resolve them without the owners permission. Your broken light was reported immediately, but unfortunately they were not able to repair it during your week, although you did have the use of a second bathroom which was also in your room.
Please once again accept our sincere apologies for your holiday not living up to your expectations, and we do hope that we are given the chance again in the future to offer you a holiday that can be remembered for all the right reasons next time.
Kind regards Ski Olympic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Like other reviewers say, we feel this chalet was missold to us, and having put in a formal complaint to Ski Olympic, have not had the courtesy of a reply. Perhaps the Ombudsman will have more luck?

The chalet manager Robin and his team were excellent, and supplied good hospitality. The snow wad good, though there was an awkward walk to the slopes.

The problems with the company were that the website was 2+ years out of date, according to their chalet manager, and offered things that were no longer supplied. It made the Gold Collection chalet appear more luxurious than it actually was, and it certainly was a Gold price. I note that they have now altered the website despite not replying to my letter.....

They also misinformed us about the group bookings in the chalet, so there were very few other couples apart from one huge group, who obviously stuck together. They cancelled ski hosting at the drop of a hat, without compensation or apology, after the French law change.

You have to trust your instincts, I say to myself, and mine are that this company is not customer focused and I would not use them again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CrosspoolSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiOlympic, Director of Sales at Chalet Parc Alpin, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear "Crosspool Steve". We were so sorry that your holiday did not live up to your expectations.
In reply to your comments:
You are correct in saying that there was a group holidaying in the chalet on your week, and when asked about other guests, we were unaware that another single couple were also connected to that group, but had booked separately. There were 2 or 3 other individual couples in the chalet also, so we are a little unsure as to how you felt we had mis informed you.
Unfortunately we did have to suspend our Ski Hosting service, due to a French Law being passed during the season making it illegal to show our guests around the ski resorts. In no way did we stop our guiding service "at the drop of a hat". We did maintain a service in which we helped and suggested routes/restaurants for any guest requiring assistance.
We maintain that your holiday was not misold or misrepresented in any way.
Once again please accept our apologies, for your holiday not living up to your expectations.
Kind regards Ski Olympic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Parc Alpin, has that more rustic feel to a chalet, the rooms are very comfy and nicely furnished. We had a smaller room at the back of the chalet Blanchot (looks out onto road) but traffic is not an issue and it was very quiet. If you book early there are some very large rooms with great views of the valley. The pool is small as they say and i dont think anyone used it while we were there as it is in the middle of the entrance and lounge but hey were there to ski!!.

The food was very good each evening and pre dinner aperitifs really nice and sociable. Wine is served all evening and was very drinkable with a variety of choices by the bootle. and the chalet staff really friendly and accommodating they also have good knowledge of the area.

There are a few shops and a lovely bar / restaurant 100m from the chalet and ski rental about 300m which provided great service whilst we were there, changing equipment no issue any time.
It is about a 15 min steady walk into town and 20 back.

Ski hosting is now currently off the agenda, shame due to the new laws.

The chalet is a 5 min walk carrying Ski's to the main slope which takes for a 2 min run into Meribel central. Alternatively you can walk 3 mins to the Morel lift down a steep hill and take the lift to some of the nursery slopes above 1600.

It is a well situated chalet and the staff made it a super week, would definitely come back and SKi Olympic were great we'll use them again.

Room Tip: Large rooms are on the front of the property facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Del003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meribel hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
#13 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#15 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Sentiers du Tueda
0.6 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#17 of 33 in Meribel
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
#24 of 33 in Meribel
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Parc Alpin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Parc Alpin

Property: Chalet Parc Alpin
Address: Rue de plateau, Meribel, Les Allues, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Meribel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parc Alpin has recently been refurbished and includes 6 standard ensuite rooms with balcony and 6 larger, ensuite superior rooms with a separate dressing area and balcony. The chalet boasts an indoor pool and sauna as well as an extremely high standard of decor and comfort throughout which gives a feeling of real luxury.Whilst our usual service is of a high standard, Ski Olympic has created an even higher class of service to be called the Ski Olympic Gold Collection which includes the Parc Alpin. This enables us to include extras for your comfort and enjoyment such as a Champagne welcome, aperitif & canapes on 6 evenings, 4 course evening meal with a choice of menu on six evenings, selections of fine wines, cooked breakfast every morning, complimentary all day refreshments including the “bottomless cookie jar”, plasma TV with satellite channels in each room, bathrobes & slippers and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing