We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel for demanding taste”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Grand Coeur & Spa
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We liked the hotel as it was ski-in ski-out, with lovely personnel and great cuisine.
The hotel is owned by a sympathetic family, they like to have a chat with the guests at dinner to ask them how they are etc. One can see many of the guests are regulars for more than two seasons. Having stayed there in March during 2 consecutive years we were pleasantly surprised to find 1/3 of the same guests we had met during previous stay. I don't need a better advertising than that. The atmosphere is to the large extent French-dominated with a few guests from the USA and elsewhere in Europe. Unlike in Paris, one does not feel unfomfortable for not speaking French at Grand Coeur (I do, my husband does not, so we communicated mostly in English to the staff).

I liked the spa: great hammam and well-working Finnish sauna (coming from North Europe, one can understand why I mention it:), indoor jacuzzi---well designed and kept so no big deal there's no fancy outdoor pool to plunge into after sauna :)

I liked the small details with which (some) hotels create comfort : here we found the Occitane toiletries and samples of Valmont (Swiss brand) products as spa teasers.
Upon arrival a box of Swiss chocolates was in our room as complimentary gift, enjoyed every piece of it until the very end of our stay (into Godiva faith, truly).
The rooms are not very big. In Alps they never are, I think...

As already said, the skiing related is really comfortable. Ski-room is ok, rental just down the stairs on the main street.

One of my favourites is the bar with live music in the evenings, intelligent and cosy ambiance, great drinks and snacks to accompany them.

Oh, and don't even bother to dine outside of the hotel (not unless you drive far), because the food here is the best in Meribel and same goes to the wine list.
Enjoy your stay! Meanwhile I am waiting for a reply back for an availability this year which has not come for 2 days :)

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 65 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2007

Having just spent 8 days at Le Grand Coeur I thought it worth passing a few comments.

Nice hotel,comfortable rooms, and very willing staff in the main (except the receptionist who claimed there was no-one to re-stock the room with tissues at 7.30 in the evening, until the following morning!)

Care and attitude towards children was good, despite the rather restrained atmosphere within the hotel the noise created by young children was fairly tolerated

The biggest area of concern was the dining room -especially dinner - sadly the chef was not quite upto the standards one might expect of a relais et chateaux hotel with some poorly executed dishes and several poorly constructed dishes (especially those involving fish!). To balance that there is an excellent sommelier and a comprehensive wine list.

Breakfast was good although felt repetitive by the end of the week.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank theesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Laurent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
1  Thank 683olivierv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne pas prendre les chambres standard si vous y passez du temps Elles sont chaleureuses mais petites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
1  Thank Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tetyana14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meribel hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Kaila
Le Kaila
#6 of 33 in Meribel
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Savoy
Hotel Le Savoy
#2 of 33 in Meribel
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allodis
Hotel Allodis
#3 of 33 in Meribel
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Eterlou
Hotel L'Eterlou
#16 of 33 in Meribel
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 33 in Meribel
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Coeur & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Coeur & Spa

Address: chemin du Grand Coeur, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Meribel
#11 Luxury Hotel in Meribel
Price Range: $377 - $913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Grand Coeur & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grand Cœur & Spa is a warm and cosy hotel that spares no effort to offer you the perfect mountain holiday. This historic chalet, with its ideal location in the heart of Méribel, offers the perfect combination of four-star service, charming guestrooms and suites and a gourmet restaurant. It offers a haven of upscale luxury in a warm and secluded ambiance. You will be made personally welcome and invited to warm yourself in front of the crackling fire.Le Grand Cœur & Spa, a Relais & Châteaux hotel, nestles at the foot of the ski slopes in the elegant winter resort of Méribel. You are in the heart of Les Trois Vallées, the largest ski area in the whole world, the kingdom of winter sports. After a long day's skiing, take the opportunity to unwind in the Spa and relax in its hammam, sauna, jacuzzi and fitness room.Escape to the sheer seclusion of its gentle ambiance and let yourself be pampered and cosseted. Here you will find magical, poetic luxury – the perfect hideaway for a leisure holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Coeur & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Coeur Hotel Meribel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing