We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Grand Coeur & Spa
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
St Albans, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from our a week stay at the Grand Coeur. I cannot find anything negative to say about this hotel. We had two inter connecting rooms west facing overlooking the mountain. The rooms were a bit narrow but had plenty of storage which you will need when you are skiing. Bathroom was very clean and had a nice shower room and a separate bath. On arrival, there was a box of chocolate and loads of Hermes products as a souvenir which was surprising! Breakfast and dinner was very nice each day. The hors d'oeuvres at the bar each night was very nice. (I could just have that and a bottle of wine for dinner!) The location is just so handy to go skiing and to go shopping. I would rate this hotel as a 5 star as everything is there. The spa was lovely too! Would I come back to this hotel? Yes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaymet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was our second stay at Le Grand Coeur. Overall, we had a great time and really appreciate the strengths of Le Grand Coeur. We realize that we are picky in our reviews, but we do so for the sake of being constructive and helpful. We also work hard for our money and have high expectations when it comes to paying such prices.

Issues
- If, like us, you are taller than 5'2", you won't fit under the shower head. It might also annoy you that there is no curtain to prevent water from splashing all over your bathroom. This is surprising for a 4-star hotel.

The bathtub also proved to be very filthy on the first night.

The night shift gentleman at the reception came over and offered to look into moving us to another room in the morning, but we never heard back about it during the remaining 4 days of our stay, which we consider to be unacceptable for the price and the standing of the Grand Coeur institution.

- We were charged outrageous prices for several bar food items that we had not requested over three visits. While it is normal to be charged for items that our guests ultimately consumed, we would have greatly appreciated being informed of the price of those bar food items and, most importantly, asked whether we wanted them before them being brought to the table. We were the fools in that situation, and we accept that we should have asked for the prices, but this would have been uncomfortable in front of our guests. We believe that the Grand Coeur institution should be above this kind of gimmick and doesn't need it to be profitable. This is unacceptable and we expect more in terms of transparency.

Strengths
- Overall charm and authenticity of the hotel, including the wood work and the ambiance/pianist in the bar

- Overall attention to details (service, accommodation and decoration)

- Food: wonderful cheese and dessert trolleys, variety and quality of the breakfast buffet, incredibly good dinner

- Direct access to the slopes

- Large jacuzzi that could easily accommodate 12 guests as well as the variety and quality of the gym equipment

- Good ski room with booth warmers

Opportunities for improvements
- Water temperature in the showers varies approx. every 20 seconds, causing you to constantly adjust the knobs.

- Having two twin beds pushed together in lieu of a larger bed is always a disappointment, but it is done well here and isn't a significant irritant, especially since the mattresses are firm and comfortable.

- TV screen was quite small, I would guess the 26" indicated on the Web site, and was at a good distance of the bed so it wasn’t the best viewing experience.

- We were in a rush on the last morning and were told that our luggage had been loaded in the car, which we reconfirmed, only to find it sitting in the entrance when we walked out. This is only a misunderstanding, but it was quite unfortunate given that we had already pointed out our need to leave quickly.

Useful information
- If you have any issues with the bathroom and can't get moved to another room, we recommend requesting access to the spa showers (even after hours) for a more pleasant experience.

- Hotel has direct access to the slopes, but requires a short walk before putting on the skis.

- Bar food items are quite expensive

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tresbonvivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have been staying at the Grand Coeur for more than 20 years under three different owners. Since being bought by a Russian investor it has improved markedly with continuous investment and imrpovements. Although the rooms are somewhat "old fashioned" they are comfortable and spotlessly clean. As for the food, it can only be described as spectacular with ever changing variety and innovation. The only "complaint" I would have is bar prices which are little short of astronomical. Overall however I rate this estblishment as outstanding

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel-agent-boris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a junior suite. Beautifully appointed.warm , comfortable, and well decorated. The staff were lovely. Always welcoming and helpful. A beautiful bar allowed us to enjoy a drink in luxury. The only fault I could find was that we had neither a shower curtain or screen so the floor became quite wet after a shower...just a small mark from perfection!

Room Tip: If you want absolute luxury check out the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed here at new year. they warned us the room was small and the worst in the hotel yes it was small but not so bad and the bathroom was great....NO minibar or safe ! One bottle of Evian on arrival and after that rob a bank to buy your next one !
Prices ouch ....we are wealthy people who happily pay up for restaurants and entertainment the world over BUT I have not been in a hotel in France that has a room service menu with a fillet steak for 72€ and a green salad for 18€ or where a diet coke and club sandwich ONLY to be eaten in the bar or on a deckchair and not in the restaurant by lowlife costs 40€ ! (nice sandwich but howling price !) I came from Val d'isere which has some great restaurants and they were half the price as is food in the better hotels there.
THE FOOD ohhhh yuk ...really old fashioned menus at night, cheap ingredients.. served in a really clumsy way by some of the lacklustre staff...one night we had a chestnut soup muse bouche ...very yum but then followed by clam soup and then by a bowl of tagliatelle swimming in cream and mushrooms with some strips of white fish ...my stomach gurgled all night and I felt ill and a very average creme brulee ! They also give you two side plates of bar snacks at the beginning of the meal which is a bit odd and they were quite heavy.
The wine is naturally very overpriced ! breakfast buffet was not special yes it had eveything but it was all what you would expect for quality in a 3star... last nights fruit salad , no granola or muesli just supermarket type stuff, carton juice and cheaper hams and cheese nothing gourmet ..no nice butter , yoghurt or local produce etc
The service..there are some very charming older old style employees and then a number of fairly useless detatched young french men who seem to want to crash through the menu with no pauses and get you out of the restaurant. The bags didn't arrive and generally they are quite laid back about things on reception which is not ok when you are paying a 6star price tag for a 4star hotel with 3 star rooms ! the head barman/ ? sommelier/maitr d not sure who but is older was great and he really knew how to serve a glass of champagne at the perfect temp and nicely chosen !
The spa is small but pretty nice the manageress is a great masseuse ! The decor in the bar is nice the restaurant is a bit frilly and cream. The hotel's owner walks about being very sort of scary but trying to be charming and maybe I should have told her to sort the food out ..but she is of the generation that may find this hotel charming...I think it has a lot of older regulars who behave like the English abroad speaking schoolboy french and Russians who couldn't get a room in Courchevel ..... not realising they are being taken for a ride on the price/experience bless them !
They do have free wifi and a computer you can use. The cleaners were sweet and very good.Bulgari bath products and very nice clean bathroom . I didn't like Meribel much I thought it rather downmarket and the slopes are very easy runs the restaurants unexciting ..although I did like Cap Horn and a little restored barn in St martin de bellville was excellent for lunch !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HonorBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

We are annual visitors to Meribel, as we have friends there. this was our second year in Le Grand Coueur. We think it's the best hotel in town. But perhaps March is not the best time to visit the hotel, as the wear and tear of the season clearly showed. My mattress sagged in the middle quite badly, the room had wear and tear damage, and the water in the shower went hot and cold seemingly at random. Also, I do not fathom why they use 2 overlapping twin blankets on a king bed - half the bed has one cover, the middle has a double cover, really strange. Ditto for having a really dated stuck-to-the-wall hair dryer. Not a 5 star experience. The service is excellent but it didn't make up for these things. Our room was also very petite, even for France, and it got claustrophobia-inducing after a while. See photos I've attached. As far as the restaurant, the food is very good but very rich - like French food decades ago. I hope Le Grand Coueur addresses their flaws, as they are easily fixed and detract from what could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bebe38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

We were looking for a ski in - ski out hotel in Meribel. The Grand Coeur is hard to beat. Excellent gourmet restaurant combined with great service made for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meribel hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Savoy
Hotel Le Savoy
#2 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allodis
Hotel Allodis
#3 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Kaila
Le Kaila
#6 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Helios
Hotel L'Helios
#7 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Chaudanne
Hotel La Chaudanne
#12 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Coeur & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Coeur & Spa

Property: Hotel Le Grand Coeur & Spa
Address: chemin du Grand Coeur, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Meribel
#11 Luxury Hotel in Meribel
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Grand Coeur & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grand Cœur & Spa is a warm and cosy hotel that spares no effort to offer you the perfect mountain holiday. This historic chalet, with its ideal location in the heart of Méribel, offers the perfect combination of four-star service, charming guestrooms and suites and a gourmet restaurant. It offers a haven of upscale luxury in a warm and secluded ambiance. You will be made personally welcome and invited to warm yourself in front of the crackling fire.Le Grand Cœur & Spa, a Relais & Châteaux hotel, nestles at the foot of the ski slopes in the elegant winter resort of Méribel. You are in the heart of Les Trois Vallées, the largest ski area in the whole world, the kingdom of winter sports. After a long day's skiing, take the opportunity to unwind in the Spa and relax in its hammam, sauna, jacuzzi and fitness room.Escape to the sheer seclusion of its gentle ambiance and let yourself be pampered and cosseted. Here you will find magical, poetic luxury – the perfect hideaway for a leisure holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Coeur & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Coeur Hotel Meribel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing