We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Meribel
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
2
5
9
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
2
5
9
5
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here with 5 mates. In fact this was our second stay at the Doron having been here some ten years ago. Maybe ten years ago we were out late every night and didn’t notice just how noisy it is.
The plus side is the convenient location for the slopes ( basically ski in/out) and bars and restaurants. Downside is that there’s no escaping the noise of that nightlife.
Breakfast is extremely basic and the decor very tired- nothing seems to have changed in ten years.
Ok for non stop party people but if you value your sleep its to be avoided

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank wrighty214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Me and my mate stayed here for 4 nights on a snowboarding trip, the location was ideal with access to the slopes right next door and the main access at bottom of the road, also right in the centre of Maribel amongst all the bars shops and restaurants. The rooms its selves were ok but very dated but fine for me and my mate that just got wanted a place to sleep after some drinks and somewhere to kick off our ski clothing, there was a lockable room for ski equipment but be noticed every time we came to it someone had left it unlocked so chose to take the stuff up to our room, we found all the bars in the area was expensive for drinks and food so it’s worth looking out for happy hours and special deals, the continental breakfast was nice enough and the food in Scott’s bar below was nice but was mainly just burgers, we was warned about loud music below the accommodation but wasn’t affected by this until the last night (Sunday) when we was woken and kept awake by loud music and the vibrations till the early hours but think we was more put out that the party seemed to be on the last night when we was in bed and not the other 3 nights we was out lol, overall thou it was fine for what we wanted and would happily stay there again if I was staying in meribel

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank danielbS3200CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2018

This hotel is perfect for friends who are wanting to ski in Meribel and enjoy the nightlife too. It is in a good location next to the escalator on to the Ďoron run. I enjoyed my stay and slept every night - thanks to my good quality ear plugs. I arrived on a Thursday and left on the Monday; it was a great long weekend. It is lively and therefore noisy - so be part of the fun. The price of the hotel is considerably cheaper than those around it but it's clean and friendly. The staff are really helpful and friendly... so I would say if you ski hard and play hard and you're on a budget then you'll be happy here.

Room tip: The trick to staying here is to note what type of place it is. It's over a bar with live bands - so good quality ear plugs are required.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mindymoo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2018

The hotel description says that it is above "a lively pub" - this is not a fair description. The banging loud music went on until 2.30am which prevented sleep 2 floors up (even with ear plugs) until the place finally closed. We couldn't open our windows (it was a hot hotel) due to the cigarette smoke coming from outside. We were told this wasn't the most lively night of the week. On the other night it was slightly quieter which enabled intermittent sleep.
I would not stay here again. A shame as it has some good qualities (good location for the slopes access) - but sleep is the most important one.

Probably fine if you are going to be out partying until after the pub shuts in the early hours!!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellady2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2017

You definitely get what you pay for in this expensive little town, cheapest accommodation around but did the trick, right in the middle of town, short walk to the slopes, happy hours and bands galore, most the bar staff were great, food is excellent, beds are a bit rubbish but alcohol helped.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody_C4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews