We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolutely wonderful ski experience”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Chalet Bartavelle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The chalet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The chalet
Downstairs TV Lounge
Breakfast
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Cave
Canapes
Food
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Meribel, Les Allues, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
davethorn...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
“An absolutely wonderful ski experience”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

If you are thinking of Les Trois Vallees visit with a group or family, then look no further! Jerry and Bettina have a marvellous, authentic, quaint chalet and enhance it with culinary excellence and service that is unparalleled.

Food - the dinners were masterpieces. Jerry is a great chef, and accommodated vegetarian and meat eaters with aplomb. The evening dinners became as big a conversation piece as the skiing itself. My wife loves cooking and was impressed with & enjoyed Jerry's recipes and flair. Breakfasts are extensive and Jerry is very accommodating, but we skipped the hot cooked breakfasts half the days as we wanted to get to the skiing, not to mention that some of us were still stuffed from the prior evening.

There are also baked treats awaiting the skiers when they return to the chalet in the afternoon. This is followed by hors d'oeuvres and drinks. Which is all a warm-up for the main dinner, a full three course meal.

But it is more than the food that makes this a wonderful ski experience.
Jerry and Bettina will arrange everything before you get there... lift passes, ski lockers, equipment rentals, lessons, guides, airport transfers, etc. We didn't need these services as we have done this a number of times before, but it can be real time saver.

The logistics of skiing in Europe (for North Americans) can be a little different. Jerry makes it easy by driving you to the main lift centre in Meribel, Chaudanne, and also picking you up at a pre-arranged time. He is flexible and helpful - for example, he dropped us off at La Tania one morning because we wanted to spend the day at Courcheval. We took his suggestion to rent lockers (for skis & boots) at Chaudanne, which made the logistics of walking around town after skiing much easier. As well, if you choose to go/return from skiing at different times than others, it is easier to use the bus without having to lug around skis while wearing ski boots. The buses run every 20 mins or so during busy periods (less often at other times). The bus stop is about a 10 minute walk, and takes 12 minutes to get to Meribel Centre. This won't make much sense if you haven't been to Meribel, but having skied at three other resorts in France/Switzerland, I can tell you that it is very convenient and well setup.

The chalet is a few kilometers from Meribel Centre (5-10 mins by car) in Le Cruet/Les Allues. If you want to indulge in the apres ski, you will have to manage the travel; taxis are available, but not cheap (25-35 Euro). If you like to be in the middle of the action, then this likely will not work for you. But if you like the quiet, small town charm, nice views and the company of the group you are with, then this place is wonderful.

The chalet itself is very charming. It has four bedrooms and a loft. It is beautifully finished and reno'd. The amenities and facilities are very good quality. The main floor consists of the kitchen/dining area/living room/fire place. It was the focal point for the group after a day on the slopes. The beds, linens, etc are high quality. In short, we couldn't think of much we would change or needed.

Jerry's personality and helpfulness, nothing is too much, makes the whole experience unique and wonderful. Needless to say, our whole family thoroughly enjoyed the experience and I'm sure we will be talking about it for years. A wonderful benchmark for a great family vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Thank you so much for your comments, We loved having you all here and hope one day to welcome you all back for a return trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona N
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“PERFECT CHALET, PEOPLE AND FOOD!”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our stay at Chalet Bartavelle was superb from start to finish. Even with a delayed outgoing flight, Jerry and Bettina were still there to welcome us and cook our meal. Jerry is an exceptional chef and really went out of his way to accommodate us - from transfers to resort to arranging additional lessons, to putting up with us staring at him whilst cooking every night! The food really is exquisite!! Afternoon tea after a day on the slopes was heaven. The chalet itself is decorated to a very high standard and all rooms, including the lounge area, were warm and inviting. I would personally say the mezzanine sleeping area is perfect for children / small people as the ceiling is rather low but still a way to accommodate for a larger group. The bus into Meribel was a 3-4 minute walk from the chalet and then a 10/15 minute journey - very easy, even with snowboard in tow. Jerry gave all the group advice and information for local attractions, for families and none skiers and those looking for after ski drinks! I can't recommend this place enough - thank you for an extremely memorable week!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhrocks
Bedford, NH
1 review
“Just Book It!”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Staying at Chalet Bartavelle makes for a top-notch ski vacation! Our group included three couples and one single, all in our early 70's and mostly retired.

From arranging transportation from GVA airport, to renting skis and obtaining ski passes, to chauffeuring us to and from the mountain, to stocking up on our favorite libations, Jerry and Bettina Mant are most gracious hosts.

If you do not care about exquisitely prepared meals, go somewhere else.

The meals were a gourmet's delight -- breakfasts were great!, dinners even greater!! Starting with cocktail hour, appetizers such as shrimp in rice wine, fish sauce, lime juice, and finely cut shallots, carrots and cilantro, to dinner appetizers with grilled Belgium lettuce, prosciutto, deep-fried quails' eggs (small -- minimal cholesterol), herring and Caesar's dressing, followed by a main course of Guinea fowl stuffed with chestnuts and walnuts with Madiera sauce, deep-fried parsnip curls, lentils, spinach, spices -- you get the idea! Every night is an adventure.

One week was not enough to fully explore the Trois Vallees, and CB is definitely our choice of a place to stay when we return.

How easy was it to book the property?
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerang...
Aldershot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great week - excellent chalet, hospitality and superb cusine!”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Admittedly we were lucky - a family of 4 staying in this very comfortable chalet for 10.
It's very conveniently located to the Meribel/3 Vallees ski area - 5 mins by car to the main Meribel ski lifts where there was ample cheap parking all day - we had a car which gave us flex but Jerry also provides transport drop-off and pick-up. Public bus also available.
We were made very welcome by the owner - the chalet as mentioned is warm, welcoming and comfortable. Bedrooms standard ski chalet size but beds and linen good quality.
Boot room/boot warmers great.
Best bit was Jerry's cooking - he clearly has an excellent CV and we thoroughly enjoyed both the excellent breakfasts and brilliant upmarket restaurant style suppers and good quality wines - our kids are not known for their epicurean adventures but for the most part lapped it all up!
Only things to greedily suggest for improvement - 1. being coffee snobs an espresso maker would be good and 2. steps up to chalet could be challenging for little kids and those not so young.
But we had a great time very much in part to our stay at Bartavelle - thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hospitality food
Liked least: coffee
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2015
Thanks for the great review, pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Regarding espresso machine we have one. I always normally offer coffee for after dinner (or any other times if desired) but maybe because you stated you were not drinking coffee at the beginning of the week it just didn't come up again in conversation. We take great pride in offering excellent fair trade coffee, Next time i guess?

With regards to the stairs as entry is on the first floor there are stairs but they are standard height and depth so no steeper than normal and so far we haven't had anyone who have had a problem with them either children or older guests (we had one group of all pensioners this year and they managed fine).

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you our chalet again so you we can serve you a great espressso.

Jerry and Bettina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a lovely place to stay. I agree with everything that has been mentioned before - the cosy chalet, the most amazing food and wine, fantastic ski area - but what makes this holiday so special is the subtle extras that could so easily be missed. The skis already loaded into the minibus at the start of the day, a wonderfully comfy bed, large soft towels, Jerry still smiling when we arrive late at the pickup point at the end of the day, a cup of tea appearing at the end of Dinner for the 'teapot'. A very special holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry F
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Amazing Vacation”
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We just spent a magnificent week at Chalet Bartavelle. To say the least. We joined close friends for a week of skiing. Our skiing abilities varied greatly. Jerry and Bettina are extraordinary hosts. The Chalet is charming and comfortable. And the food! Ooo la la the food. Jerry is an amazing chef, completely amazing. We were all astonished, and we are no easy crowd. Indeed, I come on TripAdvisor to see what is good bad and ugly, and never write recommendations. But I am this time - Come to Meribel, for the skiing, the food, the relaxation and the beauty.

Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine dining and super comfort and relaxation!”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Our stay at Chalet Bartavelle was fabulous. We loved the cosy chalet and all it had to offer. We ate like kings all week. Starting the day with a bumper breakfast, coming back to delicious cakes and ending the day with canapés and the most amazing food we could ever have wished for totally made our holiday in this super ski area!
The children's meals were ample and the kids loved everything Jerry provided. Thanks also to him for ferrying us into Meribel and back at the end of the day and also for his helpful tips and advice about Meribel itself.
This is a lovely chalet in a great part of the world and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing