We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very friendly and truly impressive”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Bartavelle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The chalet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
The chalet
Downstairs TV Lounge
Breakfast
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Cave
Canapes
Food
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Meribel, Les Allues, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Daniel G
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Very friendly and truly impressive”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Chalet Bartavelle was ideal for our three-generation skiing trip. The whole experience was straightforward and immensely relaxing, from the initial booking process, and contact with ace logistician Bettina through early guidance on how to get the best out of Meribel and onto the fantastic yet discreet catering and hosting by Jerry. The reviews elsewhere here show that theirs is a consistently good approach and staying at Bartavelle bears that out. The layout and facilities themselves were perfect too.

Bettina and Jerry really work hard, but in an effortless sort of way that shows they clearly enjoy it. Some highlights include wonderfully put together dinners, each one suitable for the point we were at in the week; flexibility about pick-ups and mealtimes and easy contact arrangements to make that happen; and genuine concern and support when our three year-old had a fall on the slopes. The children were made to feel really welcome and on hearing that Jerry was having half a day off the same three year old plaintively asked "But who's going to look after us now?". We all felt a bit like that. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic skiing and fine dining experience”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Bettina and Jerry own a delightful chalet, close to Meribel, and were magnificent hosts throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and their attention to detail faultless, ensuring that we enjoyed a memorable vacation. Their chalet is beautifully appointed and meticulously clean.
The fine dinning experience was to to die for, and Jerry's international culinary background was evident at every meal. This was fine dining at its very best, and we could have been eating in any of the world's top hotels. Jerry was happy to cater for every taste and set us up daily with a hearty breakfast before we took to the slopes.
We highly recommend Chalet Bartavelle to future guests and have already booked for next season!

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The dining
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, we will be back for our 3rd visit soon”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Ski/Boarding trip with the family - 2013

Perfect hosts, warm and inviting chalet that feels like home the moment you walk in the door and thats exactly how Jerry and Bettina want you to feel. They make everything about you as their guests.

Jerry's food is is quite simply exquisite, as is the entire experience of having your own professional chef cook a fantastic meal each evening - as you relax in front of the open fire and enjoy a glass of the house wine. Everything we ate and drank the entire week was superb.

Location is also good, we have been lucky on each of our visits to have adequate snow that allows the intermediates to ski/board with relative ease right to the back door.

Nothing is ever too much trouble, on one occassion we asked Jerry if he would mind adding some items to his shopping list by way of chocolate snacks for the slopes, fine cheeses and lots of vintage port (we covered the cost of course). Everything was waiting for us the very same day we got back from the slopes.

I can honestly say I have no complaints whatsoever, we will be back for a 3rd visit...soon!

JC

Date of stay: January 2013
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
822juliat
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Have been lots and this one was the best!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

First, Jerry and Bettina and their chalet are an absolutely wonderful, completely magical experience. Secondly, instead of downhill skiing, this time,two of us had cross country skiing lessons with ESF all week. What fun! I thought downhill was what you did in the mountains! Wrong! We had a lovely instructor and a small group, just three or four most days. Apart from learning a new way to get around and getting very fit (or puffed!) we learned all about nature in the mountains - animal tracks, birds, 700 year old trees - and loved the quiet and beauty away from the frenzy of downhill. At half time our instructor brought out of her pack, herbal tea and nuts and raisins!! It was all wonderful.
AND!! on the last day we both hired snow shoes and trecked up to the Refuge du Saut above Lac Tueda - just awesome! Not a soul in sight, just snow and sun and a river gurgling down the valley. Off piste experience for those of us who can't float down mountains off piste!!
And this, on top of comfy beds and silent peaceful nights, great breakfasts, tea with gorgeous cakes, canapes and drinks to relax at the end of the day, and gourmet dinners - with a warm fire, candles, old wooden walls, cushions - fabulous!

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_T...
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Our sixth trip to stay with Jerry & Bettina - that says it all! They are the perfect hosts.

The food is the very best. The chalet itself is delightful, with an open log fire and great views across the valley. The location (next door to a farm) feels like rural France, yet it's only 10 minutes drive to the centre of the lift system for one of the largest ski areas in the world. And there's lots to do besides downhill skiing. Some in our group had a great time doing cross country & snow shoeing (raquettes) - the opportunities for both are extensive

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Unpretentious perfection
Liked least: No faults whatsoever
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2013
Glad to hear you once again enjoyed your stay. The chalet is in a lovely position, and yes there is a small farm down the road, not exactly next door though! Drive wise up to the main lift area actually takes only 5 minutes with the daily transfer and pick up that we offer our guests in our T5 transporter unless you are skiing back to us down the red run.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria P
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We returned to Chalet Bartavelle this February after two years. Our first time there had been fantastic and this time they did it again! Jerry and Bettina are wonderful guests and provide the best skiing holiday ever. Their organisation is impeccable, right from the moment you contact them, Meribel is a wonderful ski resort with very happy and friendly ski schools and Jerry drives you and collects you from the slopes every day. As for the food, it is to die for! Breakfast is fabulous, tea with amazing homemade cakes and cookies and then a wonderful 4 course dinner. Both teenagers and adults loved it and cannot wait to go back. Chapeaux!

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tash_t1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First rate as ever”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Chalet Bartavelle and we were not disappointed.

Once again we found Jerry and Bettina to be conscientious, friendly and welcoming hosts who spared no attention to detail to make our experience a thoroughly enjoyable one.

The food was wonderful – a real treat, we ate like Kings and Queens both the children and adults alike!

The bathrooms have undergone a renovation since our last visit and compliment the already tastefully decorated and furnished interior well.

Highly recommended for any parties (we travelled as 2 families but would certainly return as adults only). We certainly felt we got tremendous value for money in terms of accommodation and location and would say do not hesitate to book this chalet for a memorable holiday in the snow.

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience was brilliant
Liked least: No complaints!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing