We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low expectations slightly surpassed”
Review of Chalet Lou Trave

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meribel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Lou Trave
Ranked #50 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Meribel
H
1 review
“Low expectations slightly surpassed”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having read the reviews and aware of alpine elements we had low expectations but as a late deal ias long as we had a bed we'd be happy. Overall the chalet is what it is basic anf fit for purpose. For sub £500 we had flights, transfers, accom and food which although not inspiring was okay, except the tartiflete. Seriously who goes on holiday for gourmet food it's about skiing and if that's the case pay for a top end operator the hosts were some what over whelmed, we were not the easiest of guests and didn't really host, I got the feeling they lacked the motivation and support from managers during what appeared to be a difficult season for them. The reps were great although their drinking ability was exceptionally poor. Communal areas were small, but once again fit for purpose.

Now before you start to wonder if I work for alpine elements here are the usual comments. The chalet was a health a safety time bomb, owing to what can be only attributed to the poor management and checks and measures by alpine elements. Gas canisters were stored, unchained in an electrical cupboard, bearing in mind the chalet has electrical issues! Remember the fact we'd be happy with a bed, well one member of the groups had a bed that had been broken previously and had a bodge job repair to excell anything on cowboy builders, broken slat replaced with timber, slat supports missing and fixed in place with screws, but with exposed screw end facing up towards the individual's body, beware the quad room. Kitchen lacked cleanliness, hot tub chemicals store by fresh produce, easy for children to reach. More farcical was the external light not working, apparently the owner can't fix it, shocking as he is in fact the local electrician. It's fair to say parts of the holiday lived up to our expectations, low, but you get what you pay for. As a last minute holiday that's about skiing a nd good friends we can not complain. However, the blatant dangerous health and safety issues can not be over looked. As a uk based operator they should adhere to uk legislation, even the laspe French code wouldnt cover this. It's just a shame it was the front line staff that had to deal with this, not the managers who hide behind hosts and reps who after months of this must be beyond motivation. I'll leave this on a though from a host from AE who we spoke to in a rep, Lou trou, you're lucky that's our best chalet you should try Marcelle!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skime1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Lou Trave, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Skime1980,

Please accept my sincere apology for the negative experience you had during your stay. This is certainly not the usual Alpine Elements standard.

I would highly appreciate it if you could get in touch with me directly in order for me to try and rectify your experience.

Please find my details below:
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
sarah@alpineelements.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned home after a good weeks skiing in Merribel. We stayed at the chalet Lou trave. Our room was very good, we had the double, it was clean and very roomy. The chalet staff Jack and Tilly were brilliant. I really don't know how they turned out such good home cooked food in such a small kitchen. The holiday reps were good fun too and we did spend quite a few nights out with them. I don't normally write reviews, but having read some negative reports after booking, and being really worried before we arrived, I felt I should give the guys at alpine a break. Reading between the lines I think maybe some of the complaints are to do with the other guest if you don't book the whole chalet you have no control over who you are sharing with. Having said that we were very luckily to be sharing with 16 complete strangers who were all really good fun. We had a fab week on and off the slopes. One tip if your a light sleeper then pack some ear plugs....

Room Tip: Pick room 4 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This chalet and Alpine Elements should be avoided at all costs. It was dirty beyond all belief with cockcroaches and mice in it. It was dangerous with no fire instructions or care taken to fix broken light fittings, icy access to chalet. Staff stole money (Alpine Elements staff). staff lied to us re promises to book resturants, lied about faulty hot tub, lied about faulty TV and DVD player, basically they are not to be trusted and I will book with aother company at all costs, and certainly do not us this chalet its a dump.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrimacyAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Meribel hotels

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the Lou Trave chalet in Meribel over xmas and could recommend it, superb standard of accommodation which was enhanced by extremely competent chalet hosts, food was superb and in all it was a memorable holiday

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were very comfortable I wouldnt mind which one I had
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Jen and Tom were exceptional chalet hosts and ensured that we had a fantastic week in Chalet Lou Trave in February 2012! They were extremely personable, great cooks (we certainly never went hungry!) and kept the chalet looking spotless. They consistently went the extra mile. We were particularly impressed with the value for money with this chalet, and couldn't believe our luck that we had found a premium chalet with all the extras for such a good price. Having a hot tub was a definite perk. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Our chalet hosts, Tom & Jen, were fantastic. They made us feel very welcome and did their best with what seemed to be very little support from their employer (Alpine Elements). Tom & Jen produced some very yummy dishes and were really helpful in accommodating the food needs of my 10 month-old baby.

The chalet was fine; very hot (the underfloor heating worked exceptionally well in rather mild conditions), the hot tub (working, well after it had heated up) was lovely and the location was OK (provided one got a bus before 09.00, after which the service died down considerably). However (without ski boots) it was only a short walk into town / lifts.

Alpine Elements were not great. As a group we had all sorts of booking issues. When we arrived to check-in at Geneva airport our baby had not been booked on the flight!! Thankfully it was quickly sorted and we didn't have to leave him behind, but this was just typical of the service that we had come to expect!

I would be delighted to have Tom & Jen as chalet hosts again, happily go back to Chalet Lou Trav, but would probably avoid Apline Elements.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EnnaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The title says it all. Tom and Jen were our chalet hosts and they were exceptional. They made us all feel very welcome, they worked incredibly hard and they can cook well. This was all the more commendable when taking into consideration the lack of support they received from Alpine Elements and the state of the cooking facilities they were left to work with. Half way through the holiday the gas stopped working meaning that most of the kitchen had to be ripped out. One night it was impossible for them to provide food despite their bests efforts. As a party we had to argue with Alpine Elements in order to get fed that night. They eventually agreed to send us out for a meal (25 Euros a head @ almost 10 o'clock) but not until a long and drawn out negotiation had taken place.

The hot tub packed in with 2 days left of our holiday which was very disappointing after a hard days skiing.

Other than that things were ok. The rooms were a little small but they were well maintained by Tom and Jen.

We will not be using alpine Elements again in the future.

Please note: The 5 star rating for service is for Tom and Jen, not for Alpine Elements.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meribel hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
#13 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#15 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Sentiers du Tueda
1.4 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#16 of 33 in Meribel
73 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
#24 of 33 in Meribel
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Lou Trave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Lou Trave

Property: Chalet Lou Trave
Address: Meribel Village, Meribel, Les Allues, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Meribel
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lou Trave is a modern and appealing alpine ski chalet that benefits from a sauna, a hot tub on the sun deck, mostly en suite bedrooms and a great Méribel location, just 100m from the Dick’s T Bar!The chalet has a warm and colourful interior with textured walls and a cheery atmosphere. The lounge has an open fireplace, which offers superb mountain views and plenty of sofa seating for relaxing after a days skiing.The chalet is located in the very popular and convenient Mussillon area of Méribel, just 100 metres from both the famous Dick’s T Bar and the local Pizza Express! The piste running down to the Chaudanne and ski school meeting point, from the chalet, is about an 8 to 10 min walk, or there is the free shuttle bus to whisk you there in moment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing