We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Chalet holiday; great location, fabulous food, excellent host.”
Review of Chalet Everest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meribel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Everest
Reviewed December 22, 2010

It is always a risk going to an unknown Chalet especially if you know little about it and you are unable to fill it entirely. After a little research we (a family with 2 teenage boys) booked into Chalet Everest along with another couple. Even before we arrived we had a warm feeling. The host, Mat, was in regular communications to ensure everything was sorted before our arrival. He was able to arrange ski hire, lift passes and lessons using his extensive knowledge of the area and the people to ensure we were getting what we needed.

On arrival at the Chalet it was clear we were going to have a good week. Mat along with Gary (Chef) and Ross were extremely friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make us all feel welcome. The Chalet is a short walk from the slopes but each morning Mat would deliver us to the foot of the lifts. Walking home was an slight pain as the local bus service was irregular, however as soon as Mat became aware of this he offered lifts back in the afternoon as well, although we did not take him up on the offer.

The food was excellent with a full breakfast choice of cooked eggs, porridge and cereal as well as the usual european fayre. On returning from the slopes a selection of bread and cakes as well as hot drinks kept even the hungriest teenager going until pre-dinner canapes. These came with a different cocktail each night before a superb 3-course meal followed by cheese and port. The quality and quantity was outstanding - the tuscan pudding will stay long in our memory.

The skiing was very good for the first week of the season and the Chalet is perfectly located to access all the Trois Vallees area with ease. Some great runs to suit all ability levels.

It is clear Mat has a great deal of knowledge about what makes a Chalet holiday work and is keen to ensure he does everything to the highest standard at an affordable price. We ended up sharing with another group of 6 most of whom had been to the Chalet before but the fact they were concious we were a family group ensured the mix worked very well and enhanced whole the whole holiday experience.

All in all this was the ideal Chalet break taking into account price, location and service. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran-Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Everest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 81 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2010

Earlier this week, I joined five other friends for a memorable few days of Premier Neige in beautiful Meribel. Chalet Everest (by Go Ski Meribel), is a place I would return to again and again - in winter or summer - and would recommend that you do too. Let me explain why on five counts.

1. Customer is king - nothing is too much trouble for your host Mat, ably supported by Ross and Gary the chef. From sorting out ski hire troubles to accompanying you on apres ski (and showing you the best places), it's all about making your ski holiday as good as it gets.

2. Location (Part 1) - it's a 5-10 minute walk into town and the skiing. This really isn't far at all. But if you do need help, Mat will drive you straight to the slopes. Alternatively, the bus picks you up and drops you off just opposite the chalet.

3. Location (Part 2) - Meribel is at the heart of the immense Trois Vallees skiing world. So as well as being next to Mottaret, it's easy to pick off a day skiing in Courcheval, or a day in Val Thorens. Much harder if you stay in those other two. And the options once you're on the slopes are vitually limitless.

4. Apres Ski - mentioned earlier, but if you like to party as hard you ski, then Meribel has it all. For example, the famous Rond Point bar (which you can ski to at the end of the day) has top class bands. For the brave, you can also ski back to base afterwards. Alternatively, Mat (once again) is happy to come to the rescue. But if you like the quieter, more relaxed things in life, Chalet Everest is nicely set up with tv, games, dvds, books. And there are plenty of options like massage, swimming, ice skating, etc in town.

5. Food and drink - Mat's hospitality at Chalet Everest is superb. He knows what skiiers and boarders want at the start of the day (hot breakfast cooked to order, vast supplies of coffee, yoghurst, and plenty of bread and pastries); at the end of the ski day (afternoon tea, cold cuts, and cakes), and in the evening (a three course dinner - new menu each night - preceded by cocktails and canapes, and topped off with cheese and port). Perfect. We also had excellent company with a second family party. But if you want to eat out, there are some excellent local restaurants, notably Aux Petits Oignons in Altitude 1600 where I had a three course lunch for 13 euros - wonderful and not a British accent to hear if you like the authentic French touch.

Above all, Chalet Everest offers great value for money. Going almost anywhere else in the Trois Vallees (or indeed most parts of the Alps) will be like a personal encounter with Dick Turpin! That's what makes Mat's proposition so attractive.

Yet, you are also in an area where luxury and class knows no bounds. You will gawp at the snow airfield where the rich and famous land their private jets and helicopters. You will stand in awe at the vast wealth that must be behind each door in these mega-rich chalets. And you will certainly be tempted to try a glass of champagne and imagine for a moment that you are one of the glitterati. This is definitely a place where you can put real life to one side for a few days - and that's the whole point of a good holiday in my opinion. The point is that you will do so in Chalet Everest without breaking the bank.

So, if you want to ski in the Trois Vallees and you are not a billionaire (or likely to be one soon), then one of the best ways to sample what brings billionaires flocking to this area is to find a hidden gem like Chalet Everest.

Who you are when you're on the slopes or out on the town is up to you!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince8085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed at Chalet Everest as part of a group booking (12 of us in total) in Feb 2010 and we enjoyed it so much, we've already organised a repeat booking for next year. The chalet is large and has exactly the right atmosphere you'd expect from a French ski chalet - very traditional with wood throughout, but once you're inside it still has all the mod cons you'd expect from any modern home. The food was excellent and our host, Mat, went out of his way to look after us (don't expect your glass to be empty for very long during dinner!) and ferried us around town in his trusty Landrover. However the chalet is located right in the centre of town, so getting to and from the slopes is never a problem anyway and there's plenty of bars to slow you down on the way back, for apres drinks. Mat also organised our ski passes and ski hire in advance which saved a lot of hassle and wasted time, which meant we could get straight out on the slopes pretty much as soon as we arrived from the airport. And a nice little touch is they even come to you, to settle the cost of ski pass/hire, rather than you having to go to the shop. All in all, really well planned and thought out. I've only been skiing a few times, but this was by far the best all-round experience. Roll on 2011!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilM_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed in Chalet Everest in Meribel, ran by an independent chalet company called "Go Ski Meribel" we had a fastasic week there in late January 2010. We were a group of 13, a mixed group in our 30's.

The chalet is in a great location, just 5 minutes walk to town, where you can find some great bars, yet quiet and peaceful too, set back from the road with some lovely views up the valley.

The host was Mat who couldn't do enough for us, from the transport to the lifts every morning, to the pre dinner cocktails and canapes, prior to the holiday he was on hand to sort out airport transfers, ski hire and private or group lessons as required. Top quality.

The standard of the chalet was excellent, as was the food, the chef Hilary knocked out fantastic meals night after night and Penny the chalet girl was great too, both very friendly and helpful.

For the price we paid, about £400 each I would say it is fantastic value for money, I have paid over £1000 before in Meribel and the food and service at Chalet Everest was far better.

Thorougly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowy3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

My wife and I have used GoSkiMerbel 4 times now with two great new years over the last couple of years. The owner Mat is really helpful and is always there to great us with his beaming smile.
The Chalet itself superb, immaculately clean and very spacious. It is only a short walk in to town and there's a shuttle bus stop right outside.
The Food is tremendous and Mat is always on hand to offer advice on places to stop for lunch, his knowledge of the area is excellent.
I know I will be booking next year and as it's consistantly good.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brass72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Just returned from an excellent week's holiday to Meribel, staying at Chalet Everest. As well as being a great based for exploring the entire 3-valleys and only 10 minutes walk from town centre, the chalet was extremely comfortable with a good standard of accomodation and excellent food. The layout worked well for us since there were as many kids as adults and the kids could hang out upstairs in the mezanine lounge...more adults may have been a bit of a squeeze Top marks for the standard of food, including limitless quantities of wine, beer and even port. Matt was on hand to assist with ski-hire pickup and provide lifts up to the ski lifts in the morning (although the bus stop is literly 2 minutes walk). Having been on coutless chalet ski holidays, this place ticked all the boxes for us at a very reasonable price. Well recommended and would defo consider returning.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We recently stayed at the Chalet Everest in Meribel, run by Go Ski Meribel, for the last week in December and it was superb.

The owner of the chalet, Mat, couldn't do enough for us from the first point of contact. He kept up excellent communication throughout the booking process, as well as updating us on the conditions before we went out there.

As soon as we mentioned something we might like to do, he made it happen (ski hire from the comfort of the chalet, airport transfers, restaurant bookings) so it was a very stress-free holiday.

The chalet is very well located, about 7-10 minutes walk right into the centre of town and the slopes (but Mat would take and fetch us in his 4x4 every day if required). There was a bus stop over the road for the free shuttle bus around the area which was very handy.

The chalet was very comfortable and clean, and just enough space for the 14 people it accommodates, as well as a huge boot room for your kit. The food was superb, coming home to a home-made cake every day and starting the evening off with canapes and any drink from the open bar (which lasted all night) before having 3 courses, cheese and port if you wanted!

In summary, our every need was taken care of and all for a very reasonable price which you would struggle to better even if you self-catered in the current Euro-Pound climate!

1  Thank SPAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meribel hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
332 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#14 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Grand Chalet Des Pistes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Sentiers du Tueda
1.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
#24 of 33 in Meribel
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Everest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Everest

Address: Route de Mussillon | Mussillon, Meribel, Les Allues, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Meribel
Price Range: $3,387 - $14,902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Everest is a comfortable and spacious Savoyard style chalet with fantastic views across the valley.*High standard of accommodation, great food and quality wines served with a 5-course dinner.*Professional Chef*All 6 bedrooms are spacious, light and airy and have full en-suite facilities many benefiting from private south facing balconies with commanding views over the surrounding valley.*Complimentary Bar*Complimentary transport each morning & evening to/from the main lifts at Chaudanne (just a 2 minute drive). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing