We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch as ever”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Meribel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Meribel Adray Telebar
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Having seen the odd negative review, I felt I had to set the record straight! Almost every year we go for lunch here on our annual ski trip to the Trois Vallee. We did today. You cannot fault this Restuarant. The prices are good for Meribel. The views are almost unique. The service today was exemplary. They are charming even to Brits on the next table who would not (could not) use French. The food was tasty; it was timely, which is great when you are skiing on a sunny day; it had Savoie class to it. Drinks are good too with the Gigondas wine we had being excellent and my wife's glass of White for 5€ terrific.

So, in a nutshell, ignore the moaners, take note that there was a table with 10 ski instructors having Sunday lunch on their own (they know quality and value), and go there!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank linskitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 25 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Situated alongside the old route of Meribel's first lift, the Red Dragon (1938), this is one of the oldest buildings in Meribel. Accessible on foot from the slopes and well worth the icy trek. The steak was amazing and the service excellent. The décor is very traditional and creates a very cosy atmosphere despite the size of the large restaurant. Prices were cheaper than the other two nearby restaurants that I've already forgotten about. To top the whole thing off, one of the staff kindly ferried us in groups of two, on a snow-quad, back to the main road at Rond Point. The overall experience was excellent and we will return every time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Chimpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fabrice & Valerie Bonnett own and run this small hotel, which Fabrice's parents ran before hiim. The food, hospitality and location make this an escape to paradise. It's right on the slopes and so private the own way to access it is by snowcat. Lunch times are busy as people ski in for menus that change daily. Portions are huge so feel free to share. Every staff member treats you like you are part of the family and delights in being helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor and the room with the low beam in the bathroom. Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

When you stay at this hotel you are undoubtedly staying in the best location in Meribel. You ski in/ski out onto a blue run, just above a chair lift or you can choose to head down to all the major lifts in about 2 minutes. You receive a great welcome and are very well looked after by Fabrice and his team, nothing is too much trouble. Sitting in the magnificent drawing room with it's huge fireplace having a beer or cup of tea is a very relaxing experience. All our family loved it and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The family suites are huge and fantastic. Two bedroom, two bathrooms and a living room, luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillC216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Returning to the Adray Telebar, again in 2013, with family and friends. You can certainly pay more for lovely, suitably scaled accommodations, but the environment of this on-piste chalet comes from the heart. The rooms are quite sufficient; the common rooms are full of life yet afford the quiet moments as you wish. The whole chalet is very well cared for considering the beating it takes with the ski crowd.

The varied Savoyard dishes that show up on the table are quite fun, beautifully presented and well prepared. The lunch bustle of the dining area attests to its wide popularity and reputation as a lunch spot to ski into for the midday break. The staff manages to direct this crush well, especially on sunny days.

The skiing directly out the door of the heated equipment room puts you on hundreds of square kilometers of skiing as you wish. Additionally you are situated here to explore a wide range of pistes in Les Trois Vallees. Be mindful of which slopes the sun hits early and later and you can plan excursions that are beautiful and exciting to ski. As most hills in the world these are supported with man made snow so conditions can often improve on natures' delivery for the day.

Worth investigating on your next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We live in Los Angeles and are returning for our third trip to the Adray Telebar. We stay at the Inn which is located between pistes. Just fabulous. They have a snow cat to take hotel guests across the ski runs with luggage or rental skis - I don't believe it's available for restaurant lunch guests without prior arrangement. There are risks involved every time you traverse a busy ski slope. You can ski right to the restaurant and have a positively great lunch – not a French version of fast food. It is obviously in the middle of a ski run, so pedestrians with injured limbs are likely to feel grumpy about the experience. The restaurant is hugely popular with everyone that has a clue about where to dine when skiing in the area.

The rooms are very nice, the staff is superb, the owners are infinitely gracious and helpful. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all highly enjoyable - and dinner! well the dinners are outstanding, often featuring local Haute-Savoie regional cuisine. This is a beautiful, family owned gem – the overall experience easily rates our 5 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We returned last week from a repeat ski trip to Meribel....always amazing...however this restaurant almost ruined it for us.

It is positioned on a blue run, so not easy or possible for pedestrians, beginners etc. I carefully skied down (as i am a beginner and have a knee injury), two other members of our group of 11 slowly walked (one with a leg/muscle injury and one who had a broken thumb). Wish we had known it was ski down ... we would not have booked!

Firstly, on arrival they didnt want to serve us outside...the sun was shining and eating inside would have been a complete waste and utterly ridiculous. After much discussion they accepted (there were already 2 tables outside being served). The service was a little slow and the food which arrived (steak, fries, their 'special' veal) was average. The steaks were overcooked and the other reviewer is accurate to say the chips were awful! Far too skinny, overcooked, brown - they looked like they had been kept and re-cooked several times. As a group of 11 our bill came to more than €330 - i felt we paid more for the view than anything else!

On leaving, i asked the waiter if he could arrange for a few of us who were injured or non-skiers to be taken back to the road as i saw them ferrying several clients to and from the venue on a quad bike type of vehicle. It literally is about a 20 second ride....or a 20minute climb in thick, slushy snow back up or much longer walk down if you physically cannot ski in/out!

I was told it was frowned upon (although i saw many people coming and going...) but they would take us one at a time. After the first person was taken, the driver changed and the 2nd driver became abusive and refused to take us. He was incredibly aggressive, rude and offered no solution....he simply refused and told us it was not permitted. I offered to pay him for the rides (even though we spent €330 already!!) but he then shouted at us again to say he wasnt allowed and it would be our fault if he goes to jail (???).

We precariously walked back up the mountain often tumbling due to my knee injury (he could clearly see i wore a large knee brace) and my friends fear (as day 2 on the slopes and too soon for a blue) intensified. Whilst we walked up, we saw him ferry across at least 6-7 passengers from the main road to the venue across the slope.

Very very disappointed and terribly upset on leaving this place....i would never go back and neither will our group - even though we have been going to Meribel each year.

If you want to go for the view....have a drink and then go to the Bistro on the road opposite the Rond Point where they cannot do enough to help and please you (same prices but million times more client friendly) or The Castor down by the Chaudanne for a great atmostphere and great food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank TubsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meribel hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Savoy
Hotel Le Savoy
#2 of 33 in Meribel
164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Kaila
Le Kaila
#6 of 33 in Meribel
74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
#24 of 33 in Meribel
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Mont Vallon
Hotel Mont Vallon
#28 of 33 in Meribel
57 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
#5 of 33 in Meribel
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
#14 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meribel Adray Telebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meribel Adray Telebar

Address: 73550 Meribel Les Allues, Meribel, Les Allues, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing