We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Mas del Sol
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cesar(Bonnieux)
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$166
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$382
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$571
$554
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Clos du Buis(Bonnieux)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
169
13
0
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
13
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastriesbreadlavender fieldslavender roomthree night staystayed for nightsluberon regionhelpful suggestionsan ideal locationkitchen areaother guestsdelicious breakfastgracious hostsrichardvineyardsviewspatio
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 185 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at Le Mas del Sol. It is a 5 min drive from Bonnieux village, in a lovely country side, surrounded by vineyards and fruit trees. It is a good base to explore the Luberon area: most of the villages are 10 to 15 minutes drive.
Positives:
- View: hotel is located in a perfect place, between several villages. There are great views of the villages of Bonnieux and Lacoste, plus Goult a bit further.
- Bedroom is clean and nicely decorated.
- Pool is great, large and refreshing for the warm provence end of evenings
- Table d´hote was a great experience. Richard owned a restaurant in the past, and can make dishes full of flavour without all the fuss and excessive focus on presentation.
- There is a small kitchen with fridge, microwave and electric oven, for the guests use. It is a good thing to be able to keep some fromages and a chilled rose wine for the evening, when you return from one of the markets with fresh bread some other delicious provencal treats.
- Owners Richard and Lucine are very nice and speak perfect english, and can help with some tips for the region.
Negatives:
- There are a few rules that we understand necessary and agree, but it´s not the nicest thing to hear the rules right away.
- breakfast was great, but could have some fromages and jambon. We felt the need for some protein...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiovaniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have been here for 10 nights, and we really loved it. The location is fantastic: great view on the mountains and villages. Spacious rooms and a large pool. Breakfast is "French"(means: no eggs or bacon), but every morning something special : e.g. "crepes" or home-made pastry. Don't miss the "table d'hotes", if Richard offers this. He is a great cook!.
A lot of people only visit Luberon as a day-trip. But if you wish to relax or make some beautiful walks this is a perfect place. Greater cities in the Rhone-valley can be reached within one-hour of driving.
The outside-kitchen makes it possible to enjoy you own (bread)-lunch or dinner on the terrace. Of course there are very good restaurants in the nearby villages. We did enjoy our stay here, and if possible, we hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pieterhendrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Okay its not quite IN Bonnieux, you need a car to get to the actual town. I digress....
I would not say that we are B&B experts by any means, we've probably stayed in 20 or so over the years, but this one is at the very top of our list.
Richard and Lucine are wonderful hosts. You are of course aware that this is their home, but they manage to strike that perfect balance of making you feel like welcome guests without being intrusive. The guest rooms are in a separate private wing of the house, we stayed in the lavender room, very spacious, fabulous bathroom very comfortable with a nice seating area.
Each day, in addition to putting up an very nice breakfast, Richard gave us helpful suggestions on how best to spend our limited time in the Luberon.
Outstanding value, outstanding views from the pool and breakfast patio, gracious hosts, super clean, comfortable. If we had one very minor "nit", it would be that the bed was a little hard for our liking. But that minor detail does not detract from our five star rating.

If you stay here, you will love it. Thats a guarantee.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This ancient mas has been re-worked into a thoroughly modern structure complete with all amenities for convenience and comfort. The rooms are decorated in style with Provencal colors splashed throughout. The views from the private terrances, the pool and the bedroom window sweep the countryside of vineyards, pastures and orchards. In the distant mountains the ancient hilltop towns of Bonnieux, Lacoste and many more are simply picture perfect. This is all about the place when some of the best of the mas is about the hosts, Lucine and Richard. Lucine handles the front desk with great energy and effeciency while tending to her beautiful young daughter. She keeps the rooms immaculate, the guests happy while recommending what to see and what to do. Of course, you can always relax on your private terrace or take a swim. Richard is lord of the kitchen and all that comes to the table at breakfast. He most recently owned and operated a resturant in a nearby village before deciding on a slower paced life running the family mas. His kitchen is state of the art and his memorable preparations of fresh yogurt, jams and breads are the work of a true chef. While we did not sample any of his other culinary delights we were able to appreciate the truly wonderful aromas eminating from his kitchen. Maybe next time. As you travel south France treat yourself to a beautiful mas in a perfect location run by delightful hosts. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCBartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Why book a hotel? When you consider what this place costs compared to local hotels you would be mad not to stay here. You are amoungst vinyards, views, peace, great location..... I could go on. Richard is also a great cook (not to eat here would be sinful!). To be honest, we are not bothered by how good a host people are as this was our 2nd b and b experience. If you were interested in this you may find personalities are a bit quirky -I will say no more as it is really irrelevant (and may be cultural) and this place is all about venue.These guys are very established and know how things work in the hotel business.

Another place to go to up the road (30 mins) is called Au Pont de Lumerie (I think that is the right spelling) which is much more relaxed/friendly and still just as amazing. There are so many places near here to visit I could not list them here. Gordes is an obvious favourite, but restautant wise the Coquillade place is amazing value and within 10 mins. It is michein star but does not cost the world and is within 10 mins of this b and b. Loads of other great spots are near this place and Richard will be able to tell you due to his background as a chef.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam_London82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews