We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Provencial Perfection”
Review of Les Trois Sources

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonnieux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Trois Sources
Ranked #8 of 15 Bonnieux B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Les Trois Sources is all that it is reknowned to be ... and then some!

A fantastic guest house which offers all that is best about Provence. The location - a short distance from the picturesque medieval villages of Bonnieux and Lacoste - offers the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, being set in a converted silk farm surrounded by acres of greenery. The grounds provide a tranquill stroll with vineyards, an orchard and lavender fields to tease the eye; while the courtyard - which also plays host to breakfast - provides comfort and shade from the Provencial sun. And the location of the pool - away from the main grounds, amidst the vineyards - insures that bathing is private and, likewise, others are not disturbed by noise.

The guest house is luxurious for those looking for all that is fine about Provence - the antique and rustic features matched stylishly and carefully throughout the various rooms of the building, avoiding the cliched and the garish. Rooms are spotlessly clean and well serviced; while the beds are comfortable. Views from the rooms are magnificent, especially at night when the Chateau-de-Sade that sits at the top of Lacoste is lit up.

For those in search of Romantic charm, or those seeking tranquility, this is the perfect location.

The hosts, Caroline Guinard & Paul Jeannet, are very friendly and helpful. Moreover, they avoid the pitfall of so many guest house owners who feel they must push themselves upon you at every opportunity: Caroline and Paul respect your privacy and appreciate that seeking a tranquil and relaxing stay does not require their constant presence or intrusion.

It is a bit of a journey to reach Les Trois Sources, if not indistance, then certainly over the terrain - especially if you make the mistake of not following the hosts' directions and relying instead on GoogleMaps, as we did - and car hire is essential. That said, it is worth the effort. More to the point, it provides the perfect location for excursions to other beauty spots, such as Gordes, one of the most beautiful villages in France.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sludger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Les Trois Sources
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2008

If you read the other reviews you will realise that this place deserves its accolades. At 144 Euros it is pricey for a bed and breakfast but we had a lovely suite of 3 rooms on the top floor with views of the nearby countryside and the hilltop village of Lacoste which is illuminated at night. Not entirely silent as there is regular traffic on the nearby road but nonetheless very rural Provence. The lady of the house is extremely elegant and brings you a lovely French style breakfast in the courtyard each day with 4 types of preserves and 3 types of bread, fresh orange, yoghurt and terrific coffee or tea (I even had my precious Earl Grey). There is a cracking little swimming pool and plenty of areas to sit and read in the shade or walk through the lavender fields if you wish. Access to other areas and restaurants is easy via the nearby road and you can visit the hilltop villages or nearby towns and still easily find your way back. It was hot during our stay, 35 Celsius, so it was very warm at night and for those of you used to A/C you may have a problem, this is a real old building so air conditioning is provided by the night breeze!
We loved our stay here and would highly recommend it for people who want to sample a real house with real people and not just a modern copy or artificial hotel chain.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

This place is amazing! Romantic and close to everything. This was our base to explore the Luberon and it was perfect.
Caroline and Paul are wonderful hosts. What a beautiful chateau and I loved our view of Lacoste from our balcony. The Castle of the Marquis de Sade lit up at night was spectacular! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celeste26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

You can't beat the location of this B&B. It is literally located among the vines and the sweeping views over the countryside include Mt Ventoux, Bonnieux and Lacoste (gorgeous lit up at night). The owner has done a wonderful job renovating the old mas, retaining it's old world charm. We loved staying in the 15th century part of the house which had a marvelous old stairway. Our room was spacious with three windows, wooden beams and stone walls. It had a claw foot tub and a walk-in shower. The bathroom facilities were very adequate, although it would have been nice to have been provided with shampoo. It was lovely relaxing in the lounge chairs by the pool as we enjoyed the view of Bonnieux. Breakfast can be taken inside or under a beautiful tree in their very pretty courtyard. It consists of croissants, breads and confitures. This is a quiet place with plenty of privacy as guests tend to keep to themselves. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iaatf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

If you are simply looking for a place that captures the experience of staying in a historic Provencal farmhouse, simply look no further. My husband and I had the fortunate pleasure of being guests at Les Trois Sources for three nights and what a spectacular property situated between Lacoste and Bonnieux surrounded by lavender fields and vineyards.

The stone farmhouse has a lovely courtyard where breakfast is served and the room we stayed in was stunning, tastefully and simply furnished to reflect the historic character of the place. Through a rustic wooden door of the room, you have a terrace with an amazing view of Lacoste and the castle of the Marquis de Sade.

This place is for lovers of historic French architecture as the owners show a real passion through how well they have preserved and respected all of the historical details. In our world that is full of impersonal generic hotels, blackberrys, televisions, mobile phones, city noise and people rushing around you, this was such a refreshing experience to have none of this around. By staying at Les Trois Sources, you are very tempted to permanently abandon city life and convert to such rejuvenating country living... We shall return!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cruzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We had a two day stay at Les Trois Sources in Bonnieux and want to recommend it. The mas (farm house) has a beautiful lavender field behind it and is surrounded by vineyards and fruit trees. Our friendly host gave us a tour of the oldest section of the farm dating from the 13th century and he is naturally very proud of the work he has done to restore the farm. The farm, he told us, was a silk farm for many years and as such, the silk-processing rooms were very large (and thus the B & B's rooms are larger than normal). The breakfasts were very plentiful and featured homemade delicious jams and honey. The views from the bedroom windows were beautiful, looking towards Bonnieux and La Coste in the distance. I'd definately go for the most expensive room which is in the oldest part of the buildings and has a terrace. It is very lovely. We stayed in a less expensive room, and while very nice, it wasn't as special as the largest room (which is really large by anyone's standards). The pool is located at a short distance from the house which is an advantage in that guests don't have to listen to sounds from the pool, while at the same time providing some privacy for your dip. The B & B's location just outside the town of Bonnieux and is an excellent base for touring the area: Gourdes, Roussillion, Menerbes are just a short drive away. Our host gave us directions for a scenic drive back to the airport which we took advantage of, and we were glad we did. It was fantastic. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank jenkins_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Our second time here. Gorgeous, quiet setting amid grape and lavender fields with 2 hill towns (Bonnieux and LaCoste) in the distance. Warm and friendly owners who speak enough English to get by. Good continental breakfasts with fresh breads and homemade jams. Sitting outside the old farmhouse under leafy trees to savor them was a special treat. Rooms large with fantastic views. Not luxurious, but definitely atmospheric with the feeling of living many centuries ago, but with modern bathrooms. Location: A bit to the east of many of the popular Provence towns, but we found them all within easy driving distance. Use the owners' directions. We didn't (used Mapquest) and paid the price in being lost for over an hour.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank EmptyNestTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnieux
1.7 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
358 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Clos du Buis
Le Clos du Buis
#1 of 5 in Bonnieux
218 reviews
6.1 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#11 of 24 in Gordes
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Le Mas des Romarins
Le Mas des Romarins
#12 of 24 in Gordes
309 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Manoir
Le Manoir
#9 of 13 in Apt
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Clos Les Eydins
Le Clos Les Eydins
#2 of 15 in Bonnieux
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Trois Sources? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Trois Sources

Address: Chemin de la Chaine, 84480 Bonnieux, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Bonnieux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bonnieux
Price Range: $96 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast, charming guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Trois Sources Hotel Bonnieux
Les Trois Sources Bonnieux, France - Luberon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing