We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Le Clos du Buis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Clos du Buis
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bonnieux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at this charming B&B for 3 nights. Our room was small but had a decent size bathroom and both rooms had wonderful views of the Luberon valley. The included breakfast was delicious, the grounds were beautiful and it's an easy, relatively flat walk to three of the best restaurants in town.

They also provide a guest kitchen so you have access to a fridge and cooking facilities should you want them. We didn't use them but for longer stays it would be lovely to prepare food and eat in their garden or by the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EH10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 219 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here for six nights on a small group tour of the Luberon with Bliss Travels. The tour itself was a wonderful introduction to this region of Provence and this hotel served as a perfect base. Our group had four of the eight rooms and by the end of the week it really felt like home.

The staff, Pierre, Sophie and Celine were very welcoming and happy to assist with our requests. Breakfast was fantastic! Fruits, cheeses, breads and unique pastries appeared each morning along with the regular breakfast fare, most of it prepared by Pierre himself. The hotel has a separate guest kitchen which we used two nights to prepare picnics with the produce we had purchased at local markets. There is also a washer and dryer guests may use. The grounds are lovely and include a pool. Rooms are good size and baths are clean, bright and modern. All rooms are air conditioned and Wifi is included.

Bonnieux is a wonderful example of a Provençal hill town, built right in to the side of stone "mountain" and this was a perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: Although our room had a charming view of the town, next time I would request a room with a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leila's Nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks May/June and this hotel and village is the best in Luberon. The hotel has everything one would want including the best service from Celine, Pierre and Sophie,
large charming rooms with ensuites,beautiful breakfast included, beautiful gardens to relax including pool, and large guest kitchen that flows on to the beautiful garden setting and the best position in Bonnieux right in the heart of the village. The village has many good restaurants all a short walk away or great supermarket, boucherie and boulangerie short walk away to buy food that you could enjoy in the garden setting of the hotel. The village market on Friday has approx 80 stalls all fantastic quality. Bonnieux is the best position to base yourself and this hotel best place to stay for a longer period as we drove all over Luberon from here and also to St. Remy and Les Beaux and Chateauneuf du Papes each place comfortable day trips. Make sure you base yourselves here at this hotel for longer stays instead of moving every two or three days and your holiday will be more relaxing and the most enjoyable time at the best place.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dab32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Le Clos du Buis in Bonnieux is fabulous, one of the finest experiences I've ever had traveling and lodging in France. Pierre, Lydia, Céline, Sophie — welcoming, helpful, like family. Good car parking.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure all of the rooms are good. Breakfasts are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lehavrejaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in May and it was a wonderful experience in every way. The hotel is perfectly located, at the bottom of the village. Lots of restaurants within a 5 minutes walk. The rooms are spacious, bright and very comfortable with lovely furnishings. Clean, bright modern bathrooms complete the picture. Above all there are the charming people running this place. Pierre, Sophie and Celine. You could not have kinder, more helpful hosts- nothing is too much trouble.They run this hotel with true grace and style. It really is a pleasure to stay here. There is a reason it comes out as number 1 on many hotel sites- it is simply the best place stay in the area.

Room Tip: all good but ask for one with the view over the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piccolowalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Bonnieux is one of the most perfect towns in Provence. It’s the perfect base for exploring the hill towns of Provence by bike, and Le Clos du Buis is the perfect place to stay. Le Clos du Buis is larger than most places that I stay, with 8 guest rooms. Despite the fact that it's larger, the owners Pierre and Lydia Maurin have successfully created an environment that is charming, warm and cozy.

Rooms are disbursed throughout this former grocery and bakery so that you never have the feeling there are many other people there. My room was located in a small hallway next to the restored baker’s oven, and, with the exception of breakfast, I never really saw any other guests.

Le Clos du Buis is perfectly located in the center of Bonnieux, an easy walk to practically everything in town. It also is a short 3-5 minute walk to the home of Sun-e-Bike, my favorite place to rent e-bikes in the Luberon.

This is definitely the type of place that you want to unpack your bags and stay for a while. From the Provencal furnishings in the rooms, to special touches like purified water for guests, a guest kitchen, washer and dryer, beautiful grounds with plenty of areas for relaxing to a swimming pool, Le Clos Buis is comfortable, charming and friendly. We stayed here for three days and it definitely was not long enough.

Breakfasts were a special treat, a very large sweet and savory buffet with a wide assortment of local specialties. Breakfast was served in a large dining room overlooking the Luberon mountains and the neighboring hill town of Lacoste.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maggielacoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My family and I went on a once-in-a-lifetime tour in France and this was where we stayed. It was a wonderful little place to stay. Beautiful and quaint. The food for breakfast was absolutely fabulous! Pierre made the pastries... outstanding! The rooms were cozy with fabulous views. The staff/owners were so welcoming -- our vacation there was exactly what we needed after an extremely tough year, and they made it perfect. :) Highly recommend it! If I could I'd go there every year!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the valley views.. really all of them are nice but that is really something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suecbrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnieux
0.5 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
359 reviews
8.1 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
274 reviews
4.2 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 5 in Roussillon
285 reviews
4.9 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
284 reviews
8.3 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos du Buis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos du Buis

Address: Rue Victor Hugo, 84480 Bonnieux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Bonnieux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bonnieux
Price Range: $119 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Clos du Buis 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos du Buis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Du Buis Hotel Bonnieux
Le Clos Du Buis Bonnieux, France - Luberon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing