We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant”
Review of Restaurant Cesar

Restaurant Cesar
Ranked #8 of 25 Restaurants in Bonnieux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Food was fantastic, and the service was probably the best in Provence (informal, but at the "right" degree of informality). Make sure you sit by the window to enjoy the sunset in Bonnieux.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge_Novis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    70
    20
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Typical French restaurant : great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

In fact, this is a restaurant and a hotel. My son became ill in the car when passing the village of Bonnieux and so I stopped at the first hotel I saw near the road. The staff was very helpfull and I was allowed to leave my sportscar in front of the door. After a shower, my son was feeling better again and we decided to have dinner. The accomodation for my 3 year old son was great, they had a kids chair. I told the waiter I loved Viognier wine coming from this village and he explained me his views and convinced me to try out another -biological- Viognier wine that the one I had in mind. It proved to be an excellent idea. The food was made with local ingredients, the chef told me and our menus mine with foie gras) were tasting excellent. The restaurant is not cheap, but worth the money. We had breakfast the next morning as well in the restaurant, good choice and nice views.
Tip: ask for the table at the window, you have a superb view over the village with the cobbled streets.
I'm going to return with my wife to this place next year. Recommended .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SooLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Eat before you go”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have to say that I think the food at the Cesar is perhaps the most beautifully flavoured I've ever had. I had the duck followed by the fig tart. The duck was beautifully presented and superbly flavoured served on a long platter interspersed with figs. The flavours were exquisite.
Unfortunately there were no vegetables at all, no potatoes, no other veg at all!
The fig tart which followed with the violet mousse was equally exquisite.
However, as this was my evening meal I found this totally unfulfilling......I think it's the only time I've ever left a restaurant feeling really hungry......if you eat here as your main meal of the day it might be a good idea to have a snack before you dine there, or you could end up going to bed hungry as I did!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank therunners055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramillon P, Propriétaire at Restaurant Cesar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Google Translation
Que penser d'un tel avis?
Un client qui a faim, mais qui prend seulement plat dessert
qui commande un magret aux figues et qui s'étonne d'y trouver ........des figues???
Nous avons choisi de servir de la cuisine fine; pas de faire snack.
En outre, il trouve tout très bon mais donne une note sur cinq!!
Décidément impossible de contenter tout le monde.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Woodmere, New York
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful View, Great, Friendly Service!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a truly lovely dining experience at Restaurant Cesar. The atmosphere is lovely and the view overlooking the village of Lacoste is beautiful. Although it was dark we saw the twinkling the lights. Our waiter was a young, friendly man who was more than happy to translate the menu for us. He made us feel welcome, making light conversation talking about the town of Bonnieux and we talked about our experiences so far in France and our lifestyle in the US. The food was delicious. We shared a salad that was excellent and we both had fish that was also prepared perfectly. I highly recommend Restaurant Cesar and if ever I am in Provence again I would return for another dinner!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent view over Bonnieux and outstanding food at reasonable price relative to quality.Charming waiter multilingual

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Cesar also viewed

 
Bonnieux, Luberon
Bonnieux, Luberon
 

Been to Restaurant Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing