We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from it!”
Review of Cafe De La Gare

Cafe De La Gare
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in Bonnieux
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay away from it!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Cheap price for cheap food and cheap service if this is what you are looking for... give it a try otherwise stay away from it!

Very unfriendly service and less than basic food.


Too bad the place description and reviews were promising...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Virspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    42
    13
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“Simple and lovely lunch”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went to this place today for lunch and had a lovely time. As people say, it's simple food, made fresh. The plate of the day today was roast pork and potatoes dauphinoise. Choice of white, rose or red wine included in the price. The white and rose are from the local cooperative. Our three year old happily wandered around in the grass while we ate on the terrace. It's so refreshing to go somewhere in the area that's good value, good food and not a tourist trap. Hard to find though - if you're heading out of Bonnieux on the route de Bonnieux direction Goult, take the road on the left just after the wine cooperative.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good local setting and food”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is eating local style (not fancy food). For 15 Euros you can pile up your starter at the buffet followed by a main course and pudding with 1/4 L of wine thrown in for free.

Its a bit out of town and not the easiest place to find so make sure you have directions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OldP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“La Provence of les films- we LOVED it! A Bonnieux must see!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

In the other reviews i have read of this place, I did not feel that anyone communicated just how genuinely French and old school this place really is. Unlike many other places we have visited, the inside of the restaurant is prettier than the outside or even the view. The floor is exquisitely tiled in 'Fired Earth' style geometric patterned ceramic tiles. The bar as you enter is worthy of a Lautrec sketch, with a moustachioed barman serving pastis and rose. MAKE SURE YOU RESERVE as it can get busy.

There is a salad bar with a healthy and voluptuous selection - salad bar does not do it justice. yes, it's basic in presentation, but big on flavour - puy lentils cooked in stock, prawn salad, jambon salad, frittata, potato salad, green salad, terrine, mushrooms a la provencale, gazpacho in shot glasses - as much as you like....main course, grilled chicken with paprika and the most flavoursome ratatouille - not at all watery. Desserts are bought in i think, but still great for the price. I had coffee tiramisu, which was was simple but tasty and my husband had chocolate mousse, which was a bit school canteen- i was v disappointed not to try the nougatine ice cream, which a fellow bed and breakfaster had told me was great - but sold out!

They serve only one main dish every day and are only open for lunch. The salad bar is different every day i am told. The rose is wonderful and served in plain bottles, filled straight from a wine keg in the basement.

The staff are so friendly and helpful. We sat in the garden, but if the weather isn't good, inside is actually far prettier. The placemats are made of cut brown paper, so if you are fond of sketching, take a pen with you and pretend you are toulouse Lautrec in a cafe! Excellent for people watching. We have a toddler, which is often difficult in restaurants, but the relaxed ambience suited her perfectly - she tootled about and drew on the paper tablemat with her crayons quite happily. The restaurant allow dogs, so she was in heaven patting all her new furry friends - something about which i wish the uk would chill out about!

This is without doubt, my favourite restaurant in the whole of provence. Simple flavours, lovely wine, excellent people watching and all for 15 euros per head. Please visit and leave a tip - they deserve one for not jumping on the band wagon and extorting money for good, plain French cooking. I'm so glad we saved this for our final day, as we leave with great memories and full bellies.

The owner of our b and b (le mas del sol -- amazing place and v close to everything) was very quick to point out that the food is in his words 'extremely basic' and was a bit worried we had overly high expectations, but i don't think that the French understand that in England we simply don't have this kind of food. Our version of 'basic' means, yates' wine bar, or harvester carvery, out of a freezer and cooked in grease, charged at a premium. Oh England, please change! We live in hope fellow diners, but until the day, if you visit Bonnieux, please stop off and enjoy some excellent and unpretentious flavours and leave with a smile on your face and a heavy wallet.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Londonairre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always Very Good”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Since we are in the area I have eaten at the Cafe de la Gare numerous times. The food is always very good. The fix menu (one main course) is prepared well, the ambiance is loaded with character. In the summer take a table on the terrace.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De La Gare also viewed

 
Bonnieux, Luberon
 

Been to Cafe De La Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing