We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our favorite spot during our European vacation”
Breakfast with a view! From your private balcony....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast with a view! From your private balcony....
Not a bad view from the balcony! Stunning views from this apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Breakfast with a view! From your private balcony....
Not a bad view from the balcony!
Stunning views from this apartment
The pool - heated in June and Sept
An historic building in the heart of the village
Pool and area for relaxing
A view across the pool
One of the living/dining rooms - there are 6 apartments in the building
Shared pool - with steps and shallow area for children
Local vineyards...
A misty Autumn morning
Reserved parking spaces for guests
Local, fresh produce at the village market
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bonnieux, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bluemoon6...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bonnieux was lovely.....”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a lovely week in the gorgeous village of Bonnieux (my second visit personally) in mid August. We thoroughly enjoyed the village and exploring the immediate neighbourhood. We went to Roussillon, Lourmarin, ccyeld to Apt and back with SunBikes electric bikes. We travelled to Aix for a day trip and even made one rather crazy afternoon trip to the coast (on the Camargue). We had a pretty full on week and the area is great.

JDV and the concierge for the Gendarmerie did all they could to help with a number of unfortunate issues that we had with our accommodation: cleaning was not brilliant when we arrived, our fridge did not work and the shower was very inadequate (mainly water pressure issues), the dishwasher often did not rinse well as well. We reported all issues immediately and to the credit of JDV and the concierge they immediately brought us a replacement fridge and attempted a repair on the shower but in reality the issue was the woeful water pressure on the top floor.

Having the private secure parking close by is a real help in a town like Bonnieux, the pool was nice (if a little cool) and enough room on the loungers for all guests. The communal laundry worked well and we were made to feel very welcome but as you will infer from this review we would be hesitant to return to this particular property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The town
Liked least: Various aspects of the appartment
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Many thanks for your positive and helpful review. This kind of information is so helpful and valuable to us. It was a great help that you quickly reported the issues you found at the apartment as this gave us the opportunity to improve things, with local help. We would love to help you with accommodation again, perhaps in one of our other villas or apartments, if you visit Provence in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanRWC
Redwood City, California
1 review
“Our favorite spot during our European vacation”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We very much enjoyed this lovely apartment - comfortable, quiet, well-furnished, and a great lay-out - with a nice deck for breakfasts and relaxing in the evening. The pool was just as pictured. Bonnieux is charming, very walkable hill town - with a variety of restaurants, bakeries, small grocery store, ATM, local artists, Friday morning market, and two ice cream shops

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable - we felt at home - easy to relax
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2016
Thanks so much for your glowing review! I'm delighted you enjoyed both the apartment and the lovely village of Bonnieux.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meatthebl...
Lake Bluff, Illinois 60044
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We loved the apartment and the locale”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our concierge met us as agreed and showed us the secured parking spot which was such a bonus in a tiny town with very narrow streets. Bonnieux had much to offer in terms of food and it was so close to many other towns and markets. The driving was easy and the roads are in excellent repair. We loved the morning markets and hit all of them. The entire holiday exceeded our expectations. Provence is amazing! The apartment was roomy and right in the center of town and served us (2 couples) perfectly. Plenty of hot water as well!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Bonnieux is such a lovely village and the apartments are in a convenient location. The markets and boulangeries are hard to resist! We'd love to have you as guests again - many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopki68
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great character - if not a little noisy”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We arrived at the old G a day later than we should have and our key was in the door as arranged, our apartment on the top floor was very attractive and spacious enough - it was all very clean and tidy and Helen at Joie de Viere who arranged our first week were so helpful we couldn't have asked for more - the apartment just needed a little routine maintenance and it would have been perfect, we e mailed our holiday agent and copied the caretaker in who the very next day rectified all the issues - however tea towels, clean dish clothes and a de scaled shower head should have been sorted before our arrival .- that said it is so central and full of charm with a lovely pool area we would definitely go back. Be warned though if you like peace and quiet you are in the centre of a lively town particularly in holiday season and so don't expect a lie.in!!!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is perfect, and the apartment is very spacious (for a couple)
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael A
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Marvellous place in central Bonnieux”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have visited The Old Gendarmerie twice (in 2012 and 2015, both times in Le Lieutenant, booked through Joie de Vivre). It's the ONLY place that we have come back to on a holiday. It's because both the appartement and Bonnieux are plain marvellous. It's so convinient and nice to be in the appartment. It so close to the butcher, bakery and many of the good restaurants. The appartment does not have A/C, but it has not been a problem for us at all (during last visit it was 35+ degrees centrigrade). We just close the shades during the day and open the windows at night. No mosquitos at all. It's a great place to be in order to experience the charme of Bonnieux and to visit the many small other lovely villages in the proximity. It can also be highly recommended to rent bikes for a day-trip from Sun-E-Bike, situated just around the corner. We did enjoy our second stay just as much as our first and we already contemplate on going back. We can highly recommend The Old Gendarmerie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanwren
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I have never stayed in a better Police Station”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation was excellent, we stayed on the top floor and it was charming. There is no air conditioning but at this level there is an health flow of air. The apartment is extremely well equipped and has an excellent shower and kitchen area. Thanks to very attentive cleaners it was spotless.
The entire apartment block is well managed, even to the extent of personalised parking spaces, very useful in a small village.
If you have ever seen the film 'A Good Year' then Bonnieux is a perfect place to stop if you would like to follow the film trail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and overall facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing