We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real holiday....”
Review of Maison Valvert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Valvert
Ranked #5 of 15 Bonnieux B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real holiday....”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed last july in Maison Valvert for a week. We know the surroundings quite well and love the luberon; the nature, the little beautiful villages and their markets. But also the nice restaurants...
We have been in several hotels, B&B's in the luberon but never we felt so relaxed and welcomed as in Maison Valvert.
The owners are very friendly; when needed they are there, if you want peace & quiet they leave you alone. So we had a great time and definitely we will come back!
Adrienne, Amsterdam, Netherlands.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
41
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This great place is of course not an official 'Leading Hotel of the World', but for me... it is.
Remote, with honest luxury and top food. Charming place with correct pricing. The world needs more 'Maison Valvert'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I just read the previous review and could not disagree more - Maison Valvert is a fabulous place!! For me, on vacation from my somewhat stressful job in New York and my parents (Australians in their sixties), this was just what we were looking for.

We stayed here last week and from the moment we arrived to the moment we departed, we felt totally welcome and loved staying here. Located on the edge of Bonnieux, the maison is picturesque and serene. Tastefully decorated rooms in traditional Provencal pastels with nice fixtures and a modern minimalist feel.

The breakfast was great too, traditional French well done with attention to detail (fresh juice press, beautiful, clean linen napkins and tablecloths, a delicious spread of local bread, pastries, meats and cheeses and a gourmet yoghurt prepared daily).

Thoughtful suggestions on activities in the area were posted each morning which took the headache out of referring to the guidebook and was a great conversation starter with fellow guests and our excellent hosts, Cathy and Pierre. They were awesome!! Super accommodating and genuinely lovely - with taste that comes through in every aspect of the experience.

A French maison is not a five star cookie-cutter hotel with room service - so if you're looking for that kind of place, you should probably go somewhere else. But if you want a laid back but stylish Provencal experience in a beautiful environment, then look no further.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guezou
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

OK if I had paid 100 euros a night I would have been quite happy. But wait, I paid close to 300 euros a night so I should be expecting some service and not be in front of a very strange type of boarding school where the owner makes you feel like you're doing something wrong every time you get out of track (wait, you took TWO croissants???).

The website looked quite charming but when you stay in this B&B you immediately feel that this is no service, that everything is taken care of to the minimum and that the owners are neither friendly, nor welcoming. The bathroom in our room had no door and was opened to the bedroom. I would agree if it was a usual B&B, but they are selling us this place like the top of the heap. I couldn’t go to the bathroom for three days with this strange configuration.

Another strange thing, everybody speak Flemish, so when you are at breakfast (that only opens from 9 to 10, wait did I mention I paid 300 euros a night?), you feel that you are in a strange atmosphere that makes you feel quite estranged. I don’t mind the language but in the middle of beautiful French Provence, you feel like you landed in a very strange sect. Moreover, the breakfast is reduced to the minimum and if you are allergic to bee stings you are in danger of death every morning.

Very close to this place, you have amazing welcoming B&B for less that half of the price and twice the service. Don’t be a fool.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Guezou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east africa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Beautiful maison with a warm informative welcome from a lovely host with an aperitif on the house!
Rooms are classy , not overdone and very clean . The only improvement I would ask for in future during such a hot spell would be a fan in the room, but aside from this it was perfect.
Nice swimming pool with plenty of pool beds make it v relaxing . Boule, Table tennis to entertain oneself
TV with international channels and wifi that works if you need.
Excellent breakfast so i don't know why an earlier review criticized as it was outstanding with fresh squeezed orange juice, croissants , cheese , variety of teas , coffee and cold meats.

Room Tip: One of our rooms was in the main house the other you enter from the back of the house and is separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuwinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Our first trip to Provence, in early June, included a delightful four-night stay at Maison Valvert, a lovingly restored mas (a classic Provencal beauty). It was a terrific experience, made all the more memorable for the genuine warmth and hospitality offered by Cathy and Pierre. Our lavender-scented room in the main house was spacious and charming; the common areas were accommodating and stylishly decorated; the daily breakfast was delicious (including, among other things, exceptional locally-produced cheeses alongside buttery pastries and freshly-squeezed juice). The property’s situation near Bonnieux made for a great base from which to explore an especially gorgeous part of Provence via car. Our stay unfortunately coincided with an unusually chily and terribly rainy period, which sadly prevented us taking full advantage of Maison Valvert's beautiful grounds and pool, but we nonetheless enjoyed our stay immensely and will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We needed a weekend away and what we found ticked all the boxes: our room was lovely,even though it was the smaller one ,it was perfect for us. Exceelent attention to details,everything was there including courtesy bottled water that was replaced when empty. Cathy was the perfect host and her luxury B&B is absolutely gorgeous and the view:breathtaking. Breakfast was purely delicious and the variety perfect including her daily "yogurt/fromage frais " du jour....perfection. Pool lounging the best....only little hiccup was that with the predominance of Flemish guests and being the first language of the owner, non speakers such as us...felt a little left out during the lively conversations and merriment. We will return and try the Tree House!

Room Tip: Book ahead !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidTraveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnieux
1.9 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
337 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
524 reviews
4.9 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
2.4 mi away
Le Clos du Buis
Le Clos du Buis
#1 of 5 in Bonnieux
209 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 6 in Roussillon
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Valvert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Valvert

Property: Maison Valvert
Address: route de Marseille, 84480 Bonnieux, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Bonnieux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bonnieux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maison Valvert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Valvert Bonnieux, France - Luberon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing