We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel du Port

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Port
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Saint Martin de Re
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed for two nigths in this hotel. The location is great, but the hotel is very normal and basic. It does not have a lift, and does not have a parking. Dont expect any thing fancy, is just a place to sleep. If you want to pay more money there're better places.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonGotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Port
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at Hotel du Port in July 2011 for one night. The location is excellent - right at the harbour front in the centre of St Martin. There is no car parking but we managed to park at the back of the town and walk down to harbour in about 10 minutes. This may not suit everyone but was fine for us. The hotel is not luxurious but was clean and quiet despite the location (we had a garden view room). It was perfect for what we were after - an overnight stay,right amongst all the buzz of St Martin at a good price. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as there are loads of places next door with seats outside around the harbour which we preferred (the place downstairs from the hotel has amazing coffee..!) St Martin is a gorgeous place.. well worth a visit and i'd happily stay at Hotel du Port again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

This is a very pleasant hotel. Had a comfortable room overlooking the harbour. 92euros. Lovely views in all directions. Both owner and staff very welcoming and accommodating. Just the right place from where to visit St Martin.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogart96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed for one week at Hotel du Port, and thoroughly enjoyed the visit - room at rear was very clean and comfortable with door onto terrace. Would stay there again - excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougduthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

Hotel du Port as you would expect sits right on the port of St Martin. It has a small reception with the rooms basically situated above shops/restaurants in the harbour.

We chose a 'terrace room' which was basically a room facing an inner yard on the first floor. For 80 euro you had a double bed with a single on a mezzanine. Although absolutely no view it did enable us to sit outside with a 5 euro bottle of wine before going out for the evening.

On the negative side was that the bathroom was a bit dingy and there were no socket points in the room to put the anti mozzie. In addition there was no fan or air con.

On a separate note, many hotels (incl. this one) have no facility to leave hired bikes overnight.

If you want fairly cheap, basic accommodation in a very central location then the HdP is fine, and as we were the only non French residents might be a sign of the market it caters for.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianGlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2007 and, whilst we had a fantastic time on Ile de Re, our stay was marred somewhat by our experiences at this hotel.

We were drawn by the location of this property, which is admitedly superb (although the late night fight outside the windows mentioned in another post was evidently not a unique occurance!). However, aside from this it is hard to find positive comments for this property: the staff are generally indifferent, the rooms are tired, tiny and have a musty air to them, and the whole property smells, inexplicably, of kedgeree.

What prompted this post was not to warn other travellers of rude staff or fishy smells though. It seems that, at least in the room we stayed in, the place has a problem with bed bugs. As anyone who has suffered a run-in with these little [--] will tell you, they are to be avoided at all costs!

Ile de Re is a wonderful place to spend a few days, but with regard to the Hotel du Port, you have been warned!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

Turned up on the day and got a room here. Great location overlooking the port. Small room but only 70 odd euros. Bit weathered in places but I think that's the way for this standard of accommodation. We were on the first floor overlooking the harbour. Bit noisey at night but not too bad though there was a punch up right below us which was quite entertaining as it happens. And they were drunk French and not Brits. Just like being back in London on a weekend night.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonLyncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Martin de Re
4.9 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#1 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
521 reviews
5.0 mi away
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
#6 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
415 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
402 reviews
5.4 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Port

Address: 29 quai de la Poitheviniere, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Saint Martin de Re
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Saint Martin de Re
Price Range: $110 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Port 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are equipped with a double bed of 155cm, a complete bathroom with shower or bath, sink, hair dryer, towel dryer, toiletries and towels, a toilet, a telephone and a flat screen TV. Our hotel is air conditioned and is equipped with a secure wireless network. We also have a bicycle storage for your personal bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Port Saint Martin De Re, Ile De Re, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing