We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveler rating
218
209
24
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
218
209
24
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews second floor around the corner great location sea view st martin lovely hotel ile de re underground parking restaurants and shops continental breakfast yogurt many times over the years paying parking my wife's birthday reasonable value stayed here for nights quiet location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 456 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2019

Magical Hotel! We liked everything about it - the decoration, the location, the beautiful room with the great view, and the atmosphere. Definitely one of the best hotels we have ever been in. We did not try the breakfast.

Room tip: Take a room in the top floor!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tzoni08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Le-Galion, La Réception at Hotel Le Galion, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2019

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your wonderful comment about your recent stay in our hotel. We are very pleased to read that you have spent a wonderful moment with us and we would be very happy to welcome you again for your next trip on the beautiful island.
Kind regards.
The reception
Hotel le Galion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Was a last minute decision.

Arrived on Friday and checked in at 4pm. First thing we were told was not to pay for parking as it was out of season.

Set the tone for the whole stay very chilled and relaxed.

We had our dog with us so we got a ground floor room.

Room was clean and just the right size.

Cant recommend tbe hotel enough

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Le-Galion, La Réception at Hotel Le Galion, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2018

Dear Guest, We would like to thank for your very nice comment on Tripadvisor. We will definitely share your appreciation of the service with the whole team. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you for another stay in our Hotel. Best regards, The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Le Galion for three nights across a weekend on our way back from The Dordogne staying with family. We wanted somewhere central ish to the main town of St Martin de Ré but quiet enough to relax if needed. This was perfect.

Unfortunately the secure parking was not available on our visit due to road works outside, but street parking for guests was free in the end, otherwise €15.00. Breakfast we thought was a touch on the pricey side, but very good, there rate options to eat elsewhere but it is convenient and plentiful.

Recommendations for dinner at various restaurants were given by the very helpful reception staff, especially Marie, thanks.

Our ground floor room was a touch small, but clean and comfortable, and as we spent more time out of it than in it suited us perfectly.

Short walks to the centre for shops and bars, cafes etc and right on the harbour to people watch or walk the walls of the old fortified city. A short walk takes you to a sandy beach where you can sea swim if you want to.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank julianh345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Le-Galion, La Réception at Hotel Le Galion, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment about your recent visit to our Hotel.

Thank you for mentioning our staff. Happy to know that they helped you to spend a wonderful and memorable moment.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again for your next stay on the island.

Best regards,

The Reception
Hotel Le Galion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

We were driving through France and wanted to visit this island, so seemed like a good place to stay with secure parking (18 euros pn). Staff were charming and helpful. Breakfast good, wide selection of restaurants close by. Rooms quite small but reasonable value for the price charged. Happy with the stay and would book again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Le-Galion, La Réception at Hotel Le Galion, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Dear Guest, We would like to thank for your very nice comment on Tripadvisor. We will definitely share your appreciation of the service with the whole team. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you for another stay in our Hotel. Best regards, The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

This hotel is very well run. Excellent facilities - friendly staff - nothing too much trouble.
Our room (29) has a lovely view of the park and sea. Good breakfast (14 Euros).
We are looking forward to our next visit in the Spring.

Room tip: Room 29 quiet with a super view of the sea.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jet420634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Le-Galion, La Réception at Hotel Le Galion, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Dear Guests, The Galion team is delighted to have welcomed you and we would like to thank you for your excellent feedback on your experience in our Hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the Spring. Best regards, The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews