We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel. Fabulous service”
Review of Hotel de Toiras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Toiras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel de Toiras on the Ile de Re for two nights. We were upgraded to the Madame de Sevigny suite, overlooking the harbour. The room was exquisite - beautifully decorated and overlooking the harbour of St Martin de Re. The hotel is small but gorgeous, with attention to detail evident everywhere. The hotel is right on the harbour front, so the location could not be better. If coming by car, a valet service is available for 18 euros per night - otherwise there is nowhere to park near the hotel. Breakfast was not included in our room rate, but available for either 16 or 22 euros. The food is delicious and on both mornings, my husband was offered a delicious treat left over from dinner the night before! Service at breakfast and generally throughout the hotel was consistently excellent. Top place to stay in St Martin. There is a sister hotel, the Villa Clarisse, which is decorated in a more contemporary manner and has a pool which can be used by guests of the Toiras. One further point - the sound proofing of the windows is fantastic as once closed, the noise of the harbour couldn't be heard at all - making for a very good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliaEastSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre G, Directeur général at Hotel de Toiras, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

I wanted to thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. I really do hope that you had a most delightful time with us.
I just wanted to rectify your comment on the valet/parking charge which is 15 euros per night (actually the rate you would have to pay for 24hrs parking on a public parking space in the village).
The breakfast “add on” are not prepared from the “chef” leftover but especially prepared by our overnight team in order to give our guests the freshest delight of the day.
It has been a true pleasure to welcome you and we would be delighted to offer you this “unforgettable” experience for your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 546 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spend 4 days in July 2013 in this fantastic hotel and location. To our surprise at our arrival we received an upgraded room ( suite on the 2nd floor ) which was fantastic with a magnificient view on the harbour ! The staff was extremely friendly, competent and helpful. Congratulations to the hotel manager ( and also to Dominic who did the impossible to get our raincoats in time for our boat trip to La Rochelle ). Splendid breakfasts in the little garden in the middle of te hotel. Airco in the room was a delight during our stay. Perfect car service. Thanks to all the staff for an unforgettable journey !

Room Tip: Room with view on the harbour is splendid if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABeernaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks with our 2 teenage daughters. We had 2 deluxe rooms overlooking the garden/courtyard and both were delightful and peaceful. The hotel is very charming, and is furnished in an opulent, characterful style which is very much in keeping with the building. The sister hotel Villa Clarisse is just as beautiful with its cool, calm contemporary decoration. We used the pool on several occasions which was a bonus in the unexpectedly high temperatures! We also had dinner in the La Table d'Olivia which was delicious and had fantastic service.

Having told our girls that there would be no free wifi, they were thrilled to discover that there was - always a bonus with teenagers!

The staff and their commitment to making our holiday the best it could be, was second to none. From hiring bicycles to restaurant recommendations and reservations, from giving simple road directions to printing maps and full route directions . Even directing us to the best cool, car park in La Rochelle on an extremely hot day - they were fantastic!

In addition to all of this, the staff were great with our daughters, and in particular, with our eldest. When they learnt that she is going to study French at University, they all took the extra time and effort to speak to her a little more slowly in French, to help her to improve her skills. Thank you to Luc in particular who "prompted" her when she lapsed back in to English. Yet another example of everyone going that extra mile.

Don't come here if you want huge, glossy or "flash". If you prefer small, intimate, chic with fantastic, friendly, service then this is the hotel for you. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking garden for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jual13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When planning this years self catering holiday in Beziers, we decided that we would spend 3 or 4 days driving back to the ferry at St Malo. Ile de Re had been recommended to us by some friends and appeared to be about mid way between Beziers and St Malo, so onto the web we went looking for a comfortable hotel, where we could be pampered for the last few days of our holiday. We chose the Hotel de Toiras and booked a Deluxe Suite, thinking that although the price seemed very high, hopefully it would be worth it.
A very nice touch was a telephone call from the hotel a few days before we were due to arrive to ask if there were any special requests, car parking, meals etc.
When we arrived in Saint Martin De Re, we were at first a little concerned that Sat Nav. was telling us to go down a street into the town which was controlled by barriers. A quick call to the hotel provided us with a code to lower the barrier and take us into a pedestrianised town centre. by the time we had lowered the barrier and made our way 100 metres to the beautiful dockside, where the hotel was situated, there were 3 staff waiting to take our luggage and whisk our car away to a safe parking spot. (we didn't use the car again for 3 days until we left as everything was either in walking or biking distance).
The room was spectacular - not huge, but more than adequate and overlooked the harbour. The windows were brilliantly soundproofed and air con was working really well, so very quiet, despite the central position of the hotel. Wifi was set up for us straight away and an extra plug adaptor was provided without us even having to ask.
We had a meal in the restaurant the first night we arrived. The quality was excellent, but my only criticism of the whole stay, was that we felt it was a little overpriced, especially as there are so many other eating establishments in the town.
The hotel doesn't have its own swimming pool, which we first thought might be a major problem, but we were directed to the sister hotel, no more than 2 or 3 minutes walk away, which had a lovely pool and garden and again very friendly and helpful staff.
All their recommendations from the reception staff for eating out were first class and the suggestion that we should hire bikes and explore the island was a master-stroke. The whole Island is very flat and totally given over to bikes, with great cycle ways to wherever you wish to visit, with 90% of them well away from any cars, so very safe especially for two old codgers like us who had not been on a bike for 20 years!!!
All in all a great, luxurious and extravagant few days in the Ile de Re. but completely worth every penny spent.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidll54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in a Junior Suite and single room (for our teenager son), and we really enjoyed our stay. A few things stood out:
- The rooms were of good size, very nicely decorated and functional. Wifi was on request (good signal but not much bandwidth), and air conditioning was very helpful on those hot days
- The location is really central, very practical for a walk in charming Saint-Martin
- Breakfast was good, dinners excellent. The Chef works in a small kitchen with little help, through a window you can see him in action, and he delivered an outstanding culinary experience
- But the real standout characteristic was the extreme friendliness of all staff. This was made easier by the boutique size of the Hotel, but it was very clear that everyone was "on a mission" to make our stay memorable (and they succeded!)

Weaknesses? This is not a large infrastructure-rich and airy resort. If you're looking for vast rooms with large windows, a large pool and gym, spa area etc. - look somewhere else. This used to be a fortress, so walls are thick and windows rather small (at least the ones of our rooms). But this is the charm of a luxury boutique Hotel which is playing well the "software" card (staff) rather than just impress with "hardware"

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lupoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have often seen this hotel and wondered what it would be like to stay in it so I booked it for our wedding anniversary. It did not disappoint. I booked a deluxe room but we were upgraded to a lovely suite on the front with a great view of the harbour. The room was very comfortable (despite the red decor) and the bathroom very luxurious with a huge tub and a walk-in shower big enough for 6 people. It was all red and black marble, a bit like being in Africa I thought. There was some noise in the morning from the port but not enough to disturb us. The hotel's position is fabulous and the staff were attentive. Great place to stay all in all.

Room Tip: front rooms have wonderful view but maybe have a bit more noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graceloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Having read the reviews on trip advisor we decided to book a 5 night stay at this hotel Upon arrival we were disappointed when they took us to our room which was allocated in what one presumes to be the attic up two flights of very steep stairs and sauna temperatures I made a comment on how difficult it was for me to climb the stairs as I suffer with my knees and back but I was ignored and shrugged off with a fake giggle!!
Not a great start!! The room was claustrophobic dingy and very dark The shower and taps were impossible to regulate either burning hot or freezing cold! The internet connection never worked and we had to ask for a booster in our room and even then the connection was poor The stairs were dirty for 3 days and the hoover was left in the hallway Absolutely zero amenities and having to go up stairs to my room does not qualify this hotel to be awarded 5 stars!
The staff were ok most of the time however as we were so disappointed with our stay we decided to check out 2 days earlier even though we had paid in full via expedia We were not asked why we were leaving instead they immediately cancelled our last 2 days and were eager to re book the room to someone else before we had left!! This is simply unacceptable they should do this when we have left not whilst we were still there!! Again 5 star??? I dont think so!!
We are well travelled and have stayed in many 5 star properties and I have never had to write a negative review on anywhere I have previously stayed however I was so disappointed I feel I had to write this review I dont understand how its rated so highly by others and why they were awarded 5 stars!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre G, Directeur général at Hotel de Toiras, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Madam,

As I was sure that I would read you on Tripadvisor, I was not surprised by your review which doesn’t reflect what really happened over your stay.

Even though, I do understand your disappointment for being charged for your entire stay, you may understand that over the high season, hotels need to secure their reservations with a cancellation policy.

Your room hasn’t been re booked to anyone; we proposed it to one of our guest upon arrival, as it was left vacant due to your unexpected departure.

You didn’t mention any difficulties regarding the stairs, but you wanted a bigger room, which we offered with a gesture on the rate. Unfortunately, you refused our offer. As you asked for the different walkable places as well as the pedestrian paths in the forests, we couldn’t imagine that you had knee or back issues.

You asked us to organize your trip to Paris (train and hotel booking) as you couldn’t find interesting shops on the Island. You explained that you used to travel on the French Riviera and that the lack of luxurious shops was actually the reason why you wanted to shortened your stay.

As this is your first and unique review on “trip advisor”, I understand that it is much more the result of your frustration regarding the fact of being charged for the 2 nights you canceled than the quality of the hotel or the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Martin de Re
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Saint-Martin Hotel & Spa
Le Clos Saint-Martin Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baronnie Hotel & Spa
La Baronnie Hotel & Spa
#3 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Richelieu
Hotel Le Richelieu
#1 of 7 in La Flotte
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Galion
Hotel Le Galion
#4 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
378 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Toiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Toiras

Address: 1 Quai Job Foran, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Saint Martin de Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Martin de Re
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Martin de Re
Price Range: $235 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Toiras 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the harbor of Saint-Martin-de-Ré, historical capital of Île de Ré registered on the UNESCO world heritage, the Hotel of Toiras is a luxury charming hotel, member of Relais & Châteaux, in a shipowner's magnificent house from the 17th. Villa Clarisse, the little sister of the Hotel de Toiras, with 9 rooms and suites inaugurated in June 2011, in a superb mansion from the 18th, is the “chic” Relais & Châteaux address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Toiras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Toiras Hotel
Hotel De Toiras Saint Martin De Re, Ile De Re, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing