We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coool place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Baronnie Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Ile-de-Ré is a very good place to spend a couple of days of vacation. La Baronnie proved to be a particualrily pretty and charming hotel and spa with an extremely friendly and service minded staff. SPA treatments really good too! You wind down quickly and sleep like a baby...
It is a real treat!

Room Tip: All rooms different - check them out on the website should you have special preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 384 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

My family and I stayed at La Baronnie at the end of May. We took 3 rooms in the hotel, all of which were delightful and very comfortable. The staff were utterly charming and went to every effort to ensure that our stay was a huge success. This was our third visit and will not be our last.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

For the price and the pretensions one might expect better.
The "Luxe" room turned out to be a chalet (La Princesse) in the garden; quite pretty but outfitted on the cheap except for the magnificent bed. Mid-June was cold (?16C at night) and we could not get the heating to work.
The saloon and breakfast rooms were plain shabby, NOT "shabby-chic", and also cold.
The breakfast would not have been acceptable in a ** hotel, and room service was not available.
Reception was adequate but scarcely warm.
They did state on the acknowledgement that "We just want to remind you that our Hotel is a NON SMOKING establishment." but this extended to the whole area, even the car park by the gate. This confirmed an impression that guests were accepted to help the upkeep of the place, not because the staff (& ? owners) wanted to be in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertopw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent a week at La Baronnie in July 2012. Excellent location 100m from the port in St Martin. The room, 'Mignons', was very pleasant, tastefully decorated with a separate bedroom for our son. Tiny shower room/bathroom. Free wi-fi was good.

The description of La Baronnie as a hotel may be somewhat misleading. No doubt it fulfils the criterion required but a hotel is somewhat stretching it! There is a 'bar' which is unattended and without customers but other that that there are no public areas. The gardens are nice, very calm but a bit unkempt in the rural French style.

Breakfast is extra and at €16 per person we gave it a miss and ate at the 'boulangerie' on the Quayside which has great fresh orange juice, coffee, breads and patisserie. The 'no eating in the rooms' rule mentioned by other reviewers is somewhat pathetic ...

Parking is handy at La Baronnie but expensive at €15 per night. Cheaper alternative is the public car park nearby.

Lots of restaurants within 2-3 minute walk but overall the food wasn't great and service often hit or miss. Best avoid the tourist traps and look for some of the better restaurants off the beaten track nearby.

All in all, La Baronnie is nice for a short break, as a couple, but overall I'm not convinced it is worth the money in high season.

Room Tip: Noise is not a problem at La Baronnie. Check the website for good descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandDonall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I love Ile de Re - it is a beautiful place with wonderful old ports and so much to do.

On arrival we were met and taken to our room by Dominic, a charming and friendly man. Our room was one of the garden chalets which on paper should have been idyllic. The room was very comfortable, nicely decorateed in seaside shades - overall it was lovely. It also had one of the largest bathrooms I have ever seen!

For those suffering from back problems I would recommend that you request a firm bed as the bed we had was extremely soft. We had to request that something be done about it and to the hotel's credit, they placed some wooden boards under the mattress and that did seem to help a little (although it remained far from comfortable).

The location of the hotel is perfect for St Martin de Re - literally about 30 seconds walk away from the old port.

Breakfast was of a very high quality with excellent pastries, croissants, breads and jams, cold meats, cheeses, cereals etc.

If it were not for one thing I would rate the hotel much more highly but the one thing was unacceptable.

During our stay there was some kind of party at the property (house) next door to La Baronnie. Now, we are typical British visitors, tolerant and not wanting to make a fuss - so we tolerated the incredible noise coming from next door for a couple of hourse without complaint. However, when midnight passed without any reduction in the noise level, we were starting to feel much less "British". The noise was coming from the garden at the back of the house, so we shouted over the very tall wall for some consideration. The music level dropped a little (just about discernible) but this was offset by a marked increase in the shouting that was coming from the garden. After another hour or so of this I decided to climb up the garden wall and make it clear to our noisy neighbours how bad their behavoir was. All in all the noise reached tolerable (relatively) levels at around 3.30am.

Now this isn't the hotel's fault of course, so quite politely over breakfast (a little later than usual) I mentioned the noise to the owner. She lives on site and agreed that it was very disturbing. I thought this was a little strange - if she was disturbed by the noise and she was further away from it than her quests then did it not occur to her to do something about it? Aparantly not!

I asked what I should do if the same problem arose the following night - was there a number I could reach her on, should I call the police...? The response was almost unbelievable - no, no of course I shouldn't call the police, she didn't want to have issues with her neighbours... any way they will probably be too tired to party the following night. She was dismissive in the extreme of what was a very serious issue for us (and I gather for other quests). She seemed more concerned about creating an issue with the neighbours than looking after the interests of her guests.

I have never experienced an attitude like it and on the strength of it we will not return to La Baronnie.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wunderlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baronnie, Propriétaire at La Baronnie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your comment which is really important to us.
We are really sorry to read this over 6 months after your stay with us.
We completely understand your discontent and we apologize for that.
The hotel is usually really calm and peaceful with its huge gardens despite the fact that it is located in the center of the village.
It was the first time we had this type of problem, this is the reason why we did not want to call the police. We would rather resolve this directly with our neighbors which what we did.
Then we never had any other problem.
After that night, we sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.
Regarding the bed problem you had, this is probably because of the mattress cover which make it softer.
Lots of our guests love it, but it depends on people.
We are sorry about that.
We are doing our best everyday for our guests to feel the most comfortable, and to spend a wonderful stay with us!
I am glad to read as well that you liked our place, our breakfast, our location…and I really hope to welcome you one more time for you to have a new experience at the Hotel & Spa La Baronnie, and to change your opinion.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A warm welcome from all the staff, and a delightful room and proper 6' bed kicked us off nicely. With a 50m walk into town you can't go wrong. The guy who runs their small partner cycle shop is friendly and helpful - though i wondered if ther might be better bikes in town. But they were good enough. Storming French breakfast with fresh orange juice, though no offers of anything cooked. Lovely rooms and gardens to relax in. Others have mentioned the odd food-in-room rule, best ignored in my view, and the minibar content is not up to the job, nor the lack of choice of tea or uht milk in the bedroom. I'd be wary of rooms facing onto the front street in summer - i can imagine they would be noisy with late night revellers. But for all these slight points, this is a cracking little hotel and well worth a stay.

Room Tip: From mid-july to late august it might be worth avoiding a front room to escape late night revellers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redfred1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We discovered La Baronnie over 10 years ago and so loved our stay that we have come back time and time again. It has grown since our first visit and the lovely owners, Florence and Pierre Pallardy, took over the house next door. They have a created a wonderful retreat with the two houses that after a stressful flight with Ryanair you find instant peace and comfort. The rooms are large and decorated with great style and French Antiques but simply done. The new house has more up to date rooms with white flooring but still the Antique feel. Lovely white cotton bedding and very comfortable beds.
Breakfast is a real treat in a lovely breakfast room and a more or less help yourself style of breakfast. Fresh squeezed orange is brought to you by Martine who has been at La Baronnie as long as we've been visiting. The breads and croissants are the best and a choice of jams. There is also cheese and ham and eggs at extra cost if you want them. Good coffee and a Nespresso machine for Espresso shots are all on hand. It's all very civilised!

There is a very pretty long garden with chairs for lying out and they have just built a little spa with tiny pool and a range of treatments. Pierre Pallardy is a respected Nutritionist who has written many books in French and one translated into English.

La Baronnie has no bar or restaurant but all the bars and restaurants in St Martin are a hop and a skip away. I love it for its peaceful tranquil atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff. We will be back there next year all being well!

Room Tip: Garden Rooms are easier if you don't like stairs. They are all peaceful and mostly on the large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gertrudeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Martin de Re
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#2 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Saint-Martin Hotel & Spa
Le Clos Saint-Martin Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
602 reviews
5.3 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Villa Clarisse
La Villa Clarisse
#6 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
153 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
418 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baronnie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baronnie Hotel & Spa

Address: 17 rue Baron de Chantal, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Saint Martin de Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Martin de Re
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Martin de Re
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Martin de Re
Price Range: $177 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Baronnie Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Baronnie Hotel & Spa*** offers 22 rooms in a green and quiet setting, and a spa with personalized treatments of a beautician and an ostheopath. Relax and have a drink in the bar between the courtyard and the garden. Only two steps away from the harbor, this charming boutique hotel is a peaceful cosy and confort haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your La Baronnie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa La Baronnie - Domaine Du Bien-Etre
La Baronnie Hotel & Spa Saint Martin De Re, Ile De Re, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing