We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
66
36
14
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
66
36
14
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spent one night few minutes walk lovely town boutique hotel st martin garden island charm france harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 119 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

Both my partner and I are in the the hospitality business and we adored this little gem close to the harbour.

The decor was just up my street, the staff were lovely and helpful, the breakfast was varied and we sat out on the charming terrace.

All in all, if you don’t want to spend top dollar this is a great find. It’s has 3 stars but felt like 4.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank catherinedM7576WU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMaisonDouce17410, Directeur général at La Maison Douce, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2018

Dear Ms & Mr ,

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience at La Maison Douce.

I am delighted that you appreciate the location and charm of this old house as well as our beautiful Ile de Ré.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards.

Lopez Nicolas. manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

I went to see a film called "The Time of their Lives" last year and a large part of the film was shot at St Martin Ile De Re.The film's scences at St Martin Ile De Re were so beautiful that I convinced my husband to visit it for our 20th wedding anniversary to see if it was as beautiful as it was on film. The reality was it was more beautiful than on film and we stayed at La Maison Douce which is a timeless exquistely Beautiful Hotel. The rooms are decorated to a very high standard and if you like interior design your visit will leave you with lots of ideas to take home and try on your own home. There is an amazing garden with lots of nooks and crannies were you can sit and read or enjoy a lovely pre dinner cocktail. Breakfast was incredible a truely relaxing experience in an amazing setting. I would throughly recommend this hotel and it is just circa 5 minutes from the lovely harbour of St Martin and its wide variety of brillant restaurants . If you have any questions the staff are so helpful and very discreet.
My only regret is that I didnot find it sooner.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMaisonDouce17410, Directeur général at La Maison Douce, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018


Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your impressions as a result of your stay at La Maison Douce.
The entire hotel team is flattered by your excellent comments which reward the constant involvement of all.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards.

Nicolas.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

Peace, love and tranquility.
La Maison Douce has it all in spades . We chilled out for 5 days .... ate , drank and were very merry.
La Maison Douce is an oasis in paradise ...lovely , helpful staff that know how to make a great gin and tonic and also know how to make the perfect boiled egg at breakfast , which incidentally was wonderful.
I have been at other more expensive “ hotels” in St Martin de Re but La Maison Douce is up there in hospitality and conviviality...a certain warmth that makes you want to go back ....Which we definitely will.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMaisonDouce17410, Directeur général at La Maison Douce, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to tell us about your impressions after your stay at La Maison Douce.
The whole team of the hotel is also concerned about the well-being of the client during his stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to La Maison Douce.

Best regards.

Nixolas.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

We spent a whole week at La Manson Douce in August and we both agreed that it was one of the loveliest hotels that we’ve ever stayed in - charming, friendly quiet and quirky. We loved the French chic in the room (which would t be everyone’s taste)
The staff were so friendly and helpful - it was a great base to cycle round the island and very central in the town( 3 mins walk to the centre) but just far enough away from the crowds. We often took a picnic back to the garden at lunchtime just to escape for an hour !!! The hotel combined with the island gave us such a memorable holiday and we’d have no hesitation in going back !!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RRGWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMaisonDouce17410, Directeur général at La Maison Douce, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018


Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We thank you for your excellent comments. As you have seen, the whole team of La Maison Douce is very involved and professional, always eager to give the best for the well-being and the pleasure of the customers.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Best rgards.

Nicolas.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

After a number of previous visits to the Ile de Re we were really delighted to discover this wonderful hotel in St Martin. Great location just a few minutes walk from the shops restaurants and lively harbourside. Boutique style hotel decorated Ile de Re style, with lovely public areas and a restful garden area. Friendly and helpful staff offer nice extra service touches e.g.aftternoon tea and biscuits and pre dinner cocktails and drinks. One of the best buffet breakfasts in France, a great start to the day. The only downside is the very narrow one way street with no pull in for unloading luggage, but the locals will wait patiently ! Do reserve space in the secure garage, but only an 8 minute walk. Overall a great stay, we will return.

Room tip: Garden view, Prestige for a bit extra
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMaisonDouce17410, Directeur général at La Maison Douce, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at La Maison Douce.

I am delighted that you appreciate the location and charm of this old house as well as our beautiful Ile de Ré.

This year our buffet has been fully upgraded with many local products and we also offer a drink menu and local snacks to enjoy in our garden.

All the staff from La Maison Douce join me in thanking you warmly.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon .

Best regards.

Lopez Nicolas.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews