We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Premium Le Palais des Gouverneurs
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Took a late break and stayed in a studio. On a reduced price. Studio good value only thing I would have liked in a small private seating area . Good location and free parking . St Martin is the best place to stay on he island or restaurants bars and people watching


  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Leapings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 634 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

The residence itself is on a quiet street and is clean and tidy. The apartments are basic but well equipped. On site there are bicycle hiring facilities, table tennis and a swimming pool. The night time security at the front door is not very good. We were able to prise open the front sliding doors to gain entry because the key cards did not work. Reception team are very friendly and helpful. The residence is about a ten min walk from the harbour area in St Martin down hill, so it is a bit of a pull coming back. If you order from the bakery service you can not collect until after 9, so this could cause problems if you are an early riser or have planned a early get away for a day out. The one thing about the residence we liked was the peaceful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pleasant place, very clean, friendly staff. We were right next to the swimming pool brilliant for my 6 year old son. The apartment was well equipped. Not well signposted. We found it by following the one way system to the south west of the town as near as possible to the ramparts. Relaxed and quiet at nights (good for us)

Room Tip: Remember to take your own towels. (We were there for one week so bedding was included)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Really beautiful location with very friendly and helpful staff. Table tennis & swimming provide fun on site without being 'happy camping'. Ideal base in the walled town to explore the island by bike from.

Room Tip: The living area was a bit of a squash when the sofa beds were down to sleep three children but the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Sh0girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went through Booking.com who didn't advise that towel charges were an extra 6 euros per person and the rip off kitchen cleaning kit (tiny bottle of wash up liquid and sponge/scourer) was 8 euros.
Accommodation (apartment no9) was in a cul de sac with no views and poor natural light. No bedding on arrival. Nice location near the port and nice heritage architecture but interior - pool, reception, rooms and grounds a bit tired. We booked for 4 adults but was for two doubles.... fortunately only there for 3 nights but would have seriously thrown a wobbler if it had been my annual holiday. Staff - Julian - the manager? a bit too relaxed. Hotel inspector definitely needed here! My advice go elsewhere.
PS I have stayed at 3 P&V establishments previously and they were OK.

Room Tip: Try and insist on a balcony room in pool/fitness building but you may be disturbed by lots of kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinHPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in Palais des Governeurs three years ago and we fell in love with the Island, the accommodation was reasonable but not fantastic although we had a good outside area to relax in.

...This year we paid more for a larger appartment and it was literally 'a stinker' - every day we had to leave the windows open to get some fresh air into the apartment.

I still find it hard to be negative about the accommodation - things in its favour were scale and location with two children, it meant we could easily cycle to La Flotte or stroll into St Martin de Re but at the end of the day, we paid good money for what was really, mediocre accommodation which was a disappointment, especially as we paid a supplement for a 'refurbished' apartment. Thankfully we did though as we saw a neighbours room that was not 'refurbished' and it looked appalling.

If you are thinking about staying in France and location is not a challenge, go to P&V at Antibes - another run down swimming pool but you won't care as the location is magical.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wiley_Coyotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Terrible value for money. We paided over £1000 for a week and found the accommodation cramped and uncomfortable, I do not understand how this can be rated 4 star ! Also the pool was alot smaller and more dated than it appeared on the web site.The location and island were very pretty but I advise you to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Martin de Re
4.7 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
610 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#3 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Villa Clarisse
La Villa Clarisse
#6 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
153 reviews
5.2 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
809 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jerodel
Jerodel
#2 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Premium Le Palais des Gouverneurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Premium Le Palais des Gouverneurs

Address: Rue des Gouverneurs, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France (Formerly Pierre & Vacances Résidence Le Palais des Gouverneurs)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Saint Martin de Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Saint Martin de Re
Price Range: $59 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Premium Le Palais des Gouverneurs 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury residence with sauna and heated swimming pool.Located on the island of Ile de Re, offering stunning views. Wifi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Premium Le Palais des Gouverneurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence Premium Le Palais Des Gouverneurs Saint Martin De Re, Ile De Re, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing