We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, very strong cocktail Maison.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Phare

Le Phare
Cuisines: Italian, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, very strong cocktail Maison.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've eaten a pizza picante in this restaurant. Average good food!
The wine was very expensive for what is was worth.
The cocktail maison is really too strong (too much rum, I asked about it).
But, the view is super next to the harbor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RenaatDelporte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    165
    83
    72
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Comically rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

It's not often I find a restaurant where the waiters are so rude it's laughable, but Le Phare really delivered. My two kids were sharing a margarita pizza and I asked if it could be served half without olives - not the fussiest request ever - and the waiter interrupted me mid sentence to refuse. When the pizza later arrived, there were only five olives on it anyway, making his response even more hilariously unreasonable.

We ordered the house wine for €14 and it tasted mainly of vinegar; retail price couldn't have been more than €2.

Our pizzas were ok but the chef wasn't sufficiently competent at making the dough, and used too much flour. They were also slightly undercooked.

At the end of the meal, they placed the bill on my table and never came to run it through. When I finally attracted the attention of one of the waiters from across the room, he merely pointed me to the central cashier. Well, thanks for wasting my time. Best of all, when I walked over there, they had a wireless credit card terminal anyway!

In summary, the kind of restaurant that deserves to burn to the ground.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get there early!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good food and efficient staff. Busy at lunchtimes with locals and "suits" so if you don't like the sun on your head you need to grab a seat under the awning earl!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CARIAD1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home again
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very efficient, and busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

It said pizza on the outside, so not being a massive seafood fan, this seemed a good idea. It has alot of charm and the interior is welcoming as were the waiters who move at high speed. I was tired and suddenly couldnt speak either french or english (!), but the waiter didnt make a big deal of it.
Tasty pizza.
Wide menu. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank emmachisett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
175 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Popular casual place in attractive harbour setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

An enjoyable evening - not the cheapest but good food and wine. If you order cote de boeuf, rare could be very rare, be prepared to send it back for more time under the grill, or go medium rare instead!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redfred1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Phare also viewed

Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
 
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
 
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
 

Been to Le Phare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing