We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday if you want peace away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Porthcawl
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great holiday if you want peace away from it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We know the West coast of France well but have never stayed on one of the islands so when we had the opportunity for a medium break we chose the Isle de Re. We managed to get quite a good deal on the Hotel Atalante. We were attracted by the hotel's position - very close to the sea. The unlimited free use of the spa facilities were not such a pull in comparison with the beaches sea etc but did try the heated [32 degree] indoor pool - very pleasant. We have reasonable French so fact the hotel was very 'French' - didn't meet any other English and some staff with limited English not an issue but might be for some. All the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The hotel was very comfortable. Its low rise in keeping with the rest of the island. We had room 318 - not one of the more expensive - but had a balcony and a view of the sea so would recommend. Very nice restaurant but note breakfast 20 Euros and dinner 45-50 plus wine. Overall really liked the hotel. The island was great - not commercialised and carefully preserved -but the weather was fantastic so able to take advantage of superb beaches and clean sea. Lots of opportunities for surfing etc. very flat and lots of cycle trails and opportunities to rent bikes. Very pretty villages and harbours - restaurants etc though not cheap to eat out in France these days and we felt many of the restaurants were on the expensive side- La Flotte, St Martin de Re recommended. Good market at La Bois Plage which also provided a great and accessible beach. However if weather is poor there is less to do and although there is quick and easy communication with the mainland because of the toll [16 Euros] to enter island it would be an expensive base if you wanted to explore the West Coast as a whole. Overall if you are looking for a peaceful holiday where you are reasonably static and just want to immerse yourself in the charms of the island the Hotel Atalante is to be recommended.

Room Tip: Go for first floor - likely to have better views. Not all have balconies - ours did and we used it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterbroom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    261
    134
    49
    25
See reviews for
116
447
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stated here for one night when travelling through France. Be aware there is a €16 euro toll charge to get on to the island... But don't let that put you off; it is worth every penny!! Fantastic hotel located between the beach and a vineyard! Also ate in the hotel which I would recommend! We travelled from England to San Sebastián in Spain and this was the best meal of the trip! I recommend the set menu for value!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

5 nights on Ile de Re
We really enjoyed this island; calm, perfect for cycling and visits
We loved "La Flotte en Ré" with such nice harbor and white houses.
Good places to stay and lot of typical restaurants
For sure we will come back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived on the 29 dec. The welcome afternoon coffie and check in was a great start. The 4 times per day thalasso treatment get s you back in shape at light speed. The gulf stream made the long walk on the beaches great revigoring moments, with a sweet temperature.

I must mention the top quality aswell as inventiveness of the chef. A dayli moment of pleasure. With balance food in mind.

Sea food paradise we have enjoyed every noon, aswell as the visit of the many beautifull harbors on the island and the whales lighthouse resto.

Island of Re, a definite spor to put on your bucket list.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hotel Atalante is situated in an idyllic spot with breathtaking views of the sea. The food is excellent and the presonnel helpful but they have serious organisational problems. We had been promised a transfer from La Rochelle train station to the hotel (which is almost impossible to reach except by car) and it simply didn't show up! Then when wegot hoke we found a message waiting for us telling us we hadn't paied the full wmount due, which was not the case! So if you go, and I do recommend this place, be prepared for some frustrations....

Room Tip: There are sevral categories of room: go for 'standing' with a view of the sea and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here a few days in August 2012. The rooms are nicely decorated, but nothing special, perhaps a bit on the small side (although I have to admit it was a bit crowded for us as we stayed with our two children in one room). The hotel is right next to the beach, which is great, but a little bit away from the nearest village. What stood out for us is the service and the restaurant. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, always friendly and flexible in offering solutions, all essential elements for a pleasant stay. (Many so-called top hotels do frequently fall down by bad service.) Also, the restaurant is one of the best I've dined in. The food is top quality with excellent presentation, and here as well the service is very, very good. If you don't stay at the hotel, do at least eat at the restaurant once (if it falls within your budget), you will not regret it.
If you stay at the hotel you get free use of the swimming pool, which contains sea water. A lovely experience.
The Ile de Re, one of our favourite destinations, can be easily explored by renting bicycles. I highly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bram v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way back from camping in Ars en Re.

The majority of the standard bedrooms are a good 5 minute walk from reception but they have been refurbished to a high standard. Our room had both vineyard and sea views with a balcony.

We visited the spa which is lovely and the seawater heated pool was also a nice surprise.

We had breakfast included in the rate and I'm sure if you visit the restaurant between 7 and 9am you will experience the full offering, however as we had a lie in, we chose to go down at 9.30am where I am sorry to say there was very little left to choose from.

As I don't eat meat or fish we chose to eat out as the restaurant were unable to cater for a vegetarian.

Overall good value for money with free car parking and wifi.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Travellers2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Marie de Re
1.5 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#2 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Le Richelieu
Hotel Le Richelieu
#1 of 7 in La Flotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
#5 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atalante Relais Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atalante Relais Thalasso

Property: Atalante Relais Thalasso
Address: Port Notre-Dame, 17740 Sainte Marie de Re, Ile de Re, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Sainte Marie de Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sainte Marie de Re
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atalante Relais Thalasso 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atalante Relais Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atalante Relais Thalasso Hotel
Atalante Relais Thalasso Ile De Re/Sainte Marie De Re, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing