We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect property on beautiful island”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private garden foot path with slate steps to Flocon de Sel. Landscaped gardens surround the pool area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Private garden foot path with slate steps to Flocon de Sel.
Landscaped gardens surround the pool area.
Pool side terrace south facing, ideal for an aperitif!
The blue shower room.
Montamer beach only a 10 minute walk from Flocon de Sel.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sainte Marie de Re, Ile de Re, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angela E
Holne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect property on beautiful island”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2016

We loved Flocon de Sel. The property was spacious, tastefully decorated, beautifully maintained, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. It made a great home from home for us. The swimming pool was large, clean and heated to 28 degrees. The outside space was just lovely – with beautifully maintained gardens and terraces with plenty of sun-loungers. There is a large gas BBQ and family dining table.

The property was in a perfect location for us to be able to enjoy a week without driving our car as everywhere on this lovely island is accessible by bike and there are miles upon miles of cycle paths. Everything we could possibly need was only a short walk or cycle away.

Sainte-Marie-de-Ré is a small village, on the southern coast of the Île de Ré. The is a daily food market, cheese shop, a great bakery and a handful of restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the property.

We will certainly return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igolo
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, gorgeous gardens and pool, wonderful owners!”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed 1 week in this wonderful house. From the reservation until we left the house, everything worked smoothly and without any trouble.

The house is as beautiful as you can see in the pictures, very cozy and nicely decorated, and equipped with everything you will need to expend a marvelous holiday. The gardens are gorgeous, as is the pool, and the fact that is always heated to 28º degrees is a great plus. There are different fruit trees in the garden, with cherries, plums and figs. It was cherries time so we were lucky enough to enjoy them directly from the tree every day.

For us the best part of the whole experience was meeting the owners, Ian and Isabelle, who were as kind as you can imagine and did everything to accommodate us, making sure that our holiday was perfect. Due to a problem, we didn’t have a car to move around, but this wasn’t a problem at all as Ian and Isabelle made sure that we visited every nice place on the island, taking us, making a reservation in wonderful restaurants and picking us up to take us back to their house. They did it every day, without charging any extra cost for it. They even took us to La Rochelle, and helped us with our shopping in Carrefour!

Ian, Isabelle, thank you very much for making sure that our holiday was as perfect as we had planned!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flocon de Sel, a perfect base in which to explore this island”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Flocon de Sel:
My wife and I stayed in the Villa, with our 2 children (7), (5), with another couple and their daughter (4). When we first arrived we were warmly greeted by Isabelle and Ian, who had previously arranged a taxi for us from the nearby airport just a short 15 minutes away. Isabelle showed us around the very clean and well-equipped house. We first went into the open plan kitchen, dining and living space. The villa also has 2 double bedrooms 1 twin room, and 1 single bedroom. It also has 2 bathrooms, so it was just perfect for our 2 families.

The outside space has plenty of places to sit and relax in the wonderful sunshine. It also has a gas BBQ, and family dining table. We also had a small well-presented garden. Beyond this is the large heated (28 degrees) pool. Our children loved swimming and playing in the pool almost every day. Next to the pool we had another terrace equipped with chairs and sun loungers.

Sainte-Marie-de-Ré is a small village, on the southern coast of the Île de Ré. Although smaller than its neighbours it does have has many nice local restaurants, bars and shops. All within walking distance of the Villa. It also has a fine bakery just a short walk away supplying fresh warm bread all day. Each day there is a local market on the main square selling fresh produce. During the summer months the carousel on the square will entertain the little ones. There is also a local beach nearby, a 10 minute bike ride away great for rock pooling and with a lovely play area for the children.

We hired our bikes locally, essential for trips further afield. La Flotte is well worth a visit as is Saint-Martin-de-Ré. Both these attractive towns are just a relative small bike ride away. A drink, meal or ice-cream close to the harbour is well recommended. We also visited the stunning beach at Le Bois-Plage-en-Ré. Our children loved the large beach and swam in the warm clean water. For the more adventurous cyclist I would recommend a trip to Ars-en-Ré. My friend and I had a stunning ride to this little town over some amazing cycle paths. On one day during the stay we took the bus to La Rochelle (5 € return). This is easy to do, as the bus stop is very close by (near the bakery). We visited the highly recommend aquarium and we were not disappointed.

Overall a holiday on the Île de Ré with its stunning towns and, beaches connected with miles of cycle paths is well recommended. But we found the villa of Flocon de Sel, a perfect comfortable base in which to explore this wonderful island. Isabelle and Ian couldn’t do enough to make our stay an enjoyable one, and I would highly recommend it.
We were very grateful to Ian and Isabelle, as we did not have a car they helped us with shopping for larger items. Such a lovely couple, they also offered babysitting services for our children! We stayed for 2 weeks and had such a lovely time in such a beautiful place. Anyone staying here will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the pool
Liked least: wifi was a little up & down
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilesandk...
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic house and fantastic week”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Flocon de Sel with our 3, 2 and 1 year old for a week and had the most amazing time. The house is clean, cozy and very well equiped. The pool is large and was heated to an incredible 28 degrees which was perfect for our little ones. There is a lovely bakery just down the road to walk to in the morning ang Isabelle and Ian the hosts could not have been more helpful and friendly. The sun shone every day and the beaches were amazing - a sensational week and I would highly reccomend it to anyone...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Reviewed July 4, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was just as nice as advertised.
Liked least: our holliday ended too soon - one week is not enough!!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moss, Norway
Reviewed July 4, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Nothing we didn`t like
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
McCann_K
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family-friendly villa with lovely pool”
Reviewed June 27, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a very enjoyable week at Flocon de Sel. The accommodation was clean and spacious, even with 6 adults and 2 young children! Isabelle, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful, providing extra cot bedding and directing us to the supermarket in car convoy on arrival! The kitchen is well stocked with store cupboard basics like oil, condiments, coffee filters etc but there was no "welcome hamper" as such. This is something we have enjoyed at previous, more remote rental accommodations, but in fact the supermarket is a 5 min drive away so it wasn't really a problem.
There are lots of books for young children and adults alike, and even a bucket and spade and pool inflatables! There are some plastic cups and children's cutlery but no plastic/unbreakable plates for toddlers. The property is all on one level, so there were no issues with stair gates. The pool has a cover and is separated from the house by a large hedge so felt relatively safe with 2 little ones.
It is a short walk into the little town of La Noue, which has a lovely market most days, great boulangerie and couple of bars and cafes. The beach is about a 10-15 min leisurely walk away and pretty deserted.
There is a good bus service into La Rochelle and to the rest of the island.
Overall, a great trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open-plan living dining area, and the outside dining table and pool.
Liked least: You have to walk through one of the bedrooms to reach the bathroom
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing