We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and not as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Peu Breton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2010

I had heard a lot about the ile de re and after having read some reviews the peu breton seemed to be a safe bet. But I was just so dissappointed when I got there, it was just so basic. Their website gave the impression of something a lot more glamorous. The rooms are clean enough but they are also basic and quite frankly a bit dated. There's not a whole lot to do in the village and the hotel breakfast is definently overpriced for what it is. Overall, I did enjoy my time on the ile de re but this hotel was not what I thought it would be.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank gowiththeflow36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TITEP17, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Peu Breton, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2010
Google Translation

Nous sommes toujours très frustrés de ne pouvoir mettre un nom sur une critique, aussi justifiée soit-elle, alors que nous, nous sommes mentionnés en toutes lettres. Il est dommage que ces personnes ne se plaignent pas lorsqu’elles sont sur place, car nous sommes toujours à l’écoute, et qu’elles attendent leur retour pour en parler de manière anonyme.
Nous ne pouvons que répondre que nos chambres sont visibles sur notre site web et que nous certifions qu’elles correspondent parfaitement à la réalité. Ajoutons que le choix de la chambre appartient toujours au client, en fonction des disponibilités, bien évidemment.

We’re always very frustated not to put a name on a review, good or bad for us, whereas us, we are mentioned. It’s a pity that these persons do not complain when there are in the hotel, because we are good listeners, and that they wait to be at home to talk in a anonymous way.
We can only answer that our rooms are on our website and we certify they correspond to the reality. We can add that the client can chose her or his room, of course according to availabilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 277 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

Having read the reviews (be booked before we saw some of the more recent bad ones) we thought we had found a bargain. Oh dear, there is a reason this hotel is cheaper than others on the Island. It is away from the main attractions and offers very little in the way of comfort. Breakfast was okay the room was okay and the staff, for the most part , okay. I don't know about you but I want a little more than okay from my holiday. There is very little English spoken here and little effort is made in this regard. You would think if they are attracting guests from the UK they would make more of an effort. We had wanted to leave early as we saw a few very lovely hotels in St Martin which is lovely and right in the action (but still quaint and quiet if you want it) but we had paid upfront.

They have a much better choice of restaurants in St Martin and it has a lovely atmosphere. If you want a special stay on this lovely Island then pay a bit more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank stkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TITEP17, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Peu Breton, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2010
Google Translation

Nous remercions ce client de reconnaître que nous sommes l’hôtel le moins cher.
L’explication est que notre hôtel était un établissement possédant 2* et qu’une troisième est arrivée en pleine saison sans que nous n’augmentions les prix. En effet, un grand nombre de réservations étant déjà faites, nous n’avons pas cru bon, par simple égard envers notre clientèle, de les augmenter.
Nous avons une importante clientèle anglo-saxonne et c’est la première fois que l’on nous oppose que l’anglais n’est pas parlé sur place. En effet, 2 réceptionnistes sont engagés en pleine saison et l’anglais pratiqué permet de répondre de manière satisfaisante à chaque demande. C’est, du moins, ce qui nous est répondu.
Quant à la situation du village de Sainte Marie de Ré, toutes les brochures traitant du tourisme sur l’île la présente comme une citée familiale, calme et proche de la nature. Nous ne doutons pas un seul instant que cette personne, exigeante à juste titre, a préparé son séjour en connaissance de cause.
Pour ce qui est de l’hôtel, nous sommes fiers de présenter sur notre site web toutes les chambres, de manière à ce que chaque client arrivant sur site ne soit pas déçu de son choix. Les hôtels se pliant à cette exigence ne sont pas si nombreux.

We thank this guest to authenticate that Le Peu Breton is the cheapest hotel of Ile de Ré.
We explain that because it was a 2 star hotel until June. We didn’t want to put up the rooms prices in July or August even if we could have done it, because it was unfair for those who hadn’t reserved before June.
A lot of English speaking client come in the hotel and it’s the first time somebody has told us that English is not spoken. In fact, 2 receptionists work with us during the high season and we can answer to each question in a satisfying way. It’s at least what clients tell us.
As for the location of Sainte Marie de Ré, all tourist brochures about the island describe it as a calm, ideal for family and in touch with nature village.
And about the hotel, we are proud to show all rooms on our website, not many hotels can propose that on their website . It’s a way for guests not to be disappointed when checking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Excellent stay very clean very good breakfast lovely home made preserves.
Only downside resturants in area not very good

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelier13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Charming terrace next to a beautiful swimming pool. Staff is very friendly and the rooms very clean. Quality/price is good!
I would come here again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maaike300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Spent 2 nights in this hotel on our return from Biarritz to Cerbourg to catch the ferry home after 2 weeks in the south of France. It was ideal for a short stay, or longer if you are looking for a very quiet location. The Hotel is very good value, nice rooms a lovely heated pool and superb breakfast. the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingston09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This was our second time at Le Peu Breton and I highly recommend the hotel as well as the village of Ste Marie. The hotel serves a brilliant breakfast, the pool is great and the owners are wonderful. The village is quiet even at the height of the tourist season, when the island can be crowded. Cycling is the preferred form of transport on the island and it is a favourite day ride to go from Ste Marie to the lighthouse stopping at the many villages on route - 50km for the full loop!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourist8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

It is true this hotel has a bad attitude. Terms and conditions are such that if you need to cancel for any reason whatsoever, if you have not sent a legally traceable letter in French more than two weeks in advance the hotel is looking for 2/3rds of the entire stay regardless. It took me several readings of the English translation of this to finally understand this (I have a PhD). Needless to say if I had understood this I would not have bothered in the first place. But as I have been here is my thruppence worth (or should I say my two third of a thruppence worth):

Ile de re is nice but there is far better places to stay than this - keep on clicking!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank fivetripsayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TITEP17, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Peu Breton, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2010
Google Translation

OK, nous prenons en compte les remarques de ce client.
Juste une interrogation, pourquoi approuver des conditions générales pour les refuser par la suite ?
Nous n’avons jamais obligé une quelconque signature sur un contrat sans que celui-ci soit approuvé…

Ok, we take into account this client’s remarks.
Just a question, why approve general conditions to refuse them afterwards?
We never forced somebody to sign a contract without having read and approved these conditions …

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Marie de Re
3.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
427 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
816 reviews
1.3 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#2 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
546 reviews
4 mi away
Le Clos Saint-Martin Hotel & Spa
Le Clos Saint-Martin Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
617 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Peu Breton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Peu Breton

Address: 31 rue de la Cailletiere | La Noue, 17740 Sainte Marie de Re, Ile de Re, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Sainte Marie de Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sainte Marie de Re
Price Range: $112 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Peu Breton 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holder of the European Ecolabel, le Peu Breton is the right compromise between the conviviality of a guesthouse and the cozy comfort of a charming hotel, 2 steps from the ocean. Didier & Jean and their team welcome you warmly and will share real moments of happiness during your stopover on the isle. Couples or family (2 to 5 persons), each of the rooms, suites or studio has its own decoration and you will be comfortably installed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Le Peu Breton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Peu Breton Ile De Re/Sainte Marie De Re, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing