We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shock! Horror! Decent food at a reasonable price!”
Review of Ile d'O

Ile d'O
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 21, 2017

The island is generally, frankly, pretty naff. Endless tacky back-to-back breezeblock bungalows, muddy beaches, and second-rate restaurants selling overpriced seafood. Horrendous traffic (even off-season), and nothing much to do or see, make a visit quite disagreeable. Two exceptions were a) good, fresh, cheap oysters from a stall at Dolus market, and b) a meal at Ile d'O. It's not on the seafront with a view of endless mud & seaweed or the stench of rotting shellfish, but in a small street just off the centre of the village of St Trojan. Our meal was superb, and at € 24 a head with wine, probably the best value we'd found since leaving the Médoc. Small and probably packed in summer when the bungalow people arrive, there were plenty of locals there when we ate so booking is essential.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 199 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2016

Lovely little restaurant in quiet street in St Trojan, friendly staff, good wine and superb mussels, would happily return, Recommended

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsG6615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

We went there based on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. I took some mussels with fries. Mussels were tasty with a lot of sauce (not at all dry). It is also quite cheap.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Le_chenapan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

Friendly and fast service. Very good price quality menu's. Delicious moules and huitres. Kids friendly and pichet de l'eau was brought and replaced spontaniously. We like that!

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Nico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Excellent ! We were late, 9.30 pm and welcoming was as described.
Food was gorgeous ! And staf is great !

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joellepatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ile d'O also viewed

Saint-Trojan-les-Bains, Ile d'Oleron
Saint-Trojan-les-Bains, Ile d'Oleron
 
Saint-Trojan-les-Bains, Ile d'Oleron
Saint-Trojan-les-Bains, Ile d'Oleron
 
Saint-Trojan-les-Bains, Ile d'Oleron
Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
 

Been to Ile d'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing