We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in quiet position”
Review of Mer et Foret Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mer et Foret Hotel
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We only stayed here one night and booked only a few days in advance in Mid May 2012. The room rate was 64 Euros which we thought was reasonable. It was of adequate size, very clean, overlooked the forest, with a fully opening window which had a roll down blind. Lots of nice touches like that. The hotel could do with a coat of paint and this leads you to think it might not be that good, but inside those fears are dispelled. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, there are newspapers in public areas, a nice pool (don't expect it to be warm in May!). It also has a good private car park, with bike racks too, which is locked from 9pm, although we didn't see any signs of theft or vandalism. If you arrive back late there is plenty of parking under the trees opposite. We didn't have time to stay more than the one night, and we didn't eat at the hotel so we can't comment on the quality of this. However we definitely would go back again, hopefully for a longer period next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2010

We booked this hotel for two nights, because we did not really have any other choice as we booked very last minute. The room was small and the bathroom extremely tiny (they warned us for that when booking). We had a room next to the elevator, that made a lot of noise. Luckily from midnight to 8am, no one could use the elevator, so we were able to sleep... until 8am. We also had "sea view", but this was disappointing, because we mainly had view on the restaurant's roof and saw the sea far away. I think it's misleading to say the room has seaview.
The water of the swimming pool was very cold, not pleasant.
The staff at the reception were ok, no comments on that.
The restaurant was also disappointing, it appeared to be one of the better restaurants in town, but we were not impressed at all. The food didn't have a lot of taste and we were not satisfied with the service in the restaurant. The waiters were mainly students, not friendly, clumsy and couldn't give any explanation on what was on the menu.
We paid €99 euro's a night, without breakfast. After eating at the hotel, we decided to have breakfast somewhere else. This hotel is not worth the €99. I’m sure there are better options elsewhere, just make sure you book ahead when going to Ile d’Oléron.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keppebolletje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je ne connais pas tous les étages car nous avions une petite chambre côté forêt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank boulayjuefen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Thierry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: ne pas choisir coté forêt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pascal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank dorotheeDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
1.7 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Troja...
#1 of 7 in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Cleunes Oleron
Hotel Les Cleunes Oleron
#3 of 7 in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Albatros
L'Albatros
#4 of 7 in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Large
Hotel Le Grand Large
#2 of 2 in Dolus-d'Oleron
218 reviews
8.7 mi away
Motel ile de Lumiere
Motel ile de Lumiere
#3 of 22 in Ile d'Oleron
179 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Face aux Flots
Hotel Face aux Flots
#1 of 6 in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mer et Foret Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mer et Foret Hotel

Address: 16 boulevard Pierre Whien, 17370 Saint-Trojan-les-Bains, Ile d'Oleron, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile d'Oleron > Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
Price Range: $57 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mer et Foret Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mer et Foret Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing