We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A joyful lunch on a summer day”
Review of L'Albatros

L'Albatros
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 5/24
8:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $56
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gourmet Table along the beach, a priviledged location between earth and ocean, at the very south of Oleron island. At any time whatever the season, the view is amazing from the nice dining room overlooking the sea, or from the heated terrace ; at upper tide, on the outside summer terraces , the waves are coming very close... Our Chef and his team cook local products on the spot, fish from local fishing and auctions, oysters from various producers, beautiful meats. Menus, formulas, glasses of good wines, vegetarian or dietetic meals, and everyday "coming back from the mart", the suggestion of the day !
Reviewed June 22, 2018

We had never been to Oleron before and having arived we got a little lost and ended up alongside the Albatros Hotel around lunchtime without a reservation. A delightful location right on the beach wih a really interesting menu. My wife requires gluten-free food which was absolutely no problem, the waiter understood perfectly and so did the kitchen who immediately produced a g-f version of the set menu of grilled fish. It was a perfect lunch in a wonderful setting. The staff were kind and very helpful and if we are lucky enough to visit Oleron again, we will certainly make a booking and maybe even stay a night or two

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank haytonmrspatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 425 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2017

We managed to get a table at lunchtime without a reservation and were looking forward to some fine dining. However we were disappointed, the service let this place down. They had different waiters coming to the table, when you asked for something you had to ask again two or three times a real shame. Although the food was very good, we would sadly think twice before going again. They had enough staff but no system to the way they looked after their tables.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine c, Propriétaire at L'Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

What a shame that upon departure you did not tell me anything about this "terrible" service and above all you let us know that your meal was a nice moment... ! Better to hide behind your screen ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely diner. The food is great and the view is like one can say; a million dollar view. One thing; the service wasn't that great, but mostly because They were understaffed. Only 3 waiters to serve everyone. I had the cheese platter as dessert and that was amazing. You can choose 4 cheeses out of 10, all beautiful.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 948ericab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017

I'd planned this restaurant into our tour of the region for its food and its beach location - unfortunately it wasn't good weather on the day, so we ate inside. On a weekday, their 'En Attendant Printemps' menu was 33 euros for 3 courses, or 26 euros for 2 courses. So my friend ordered an entree and plat, and I ordered a plat and dessert. So we shared the 6 oysters for starters; each enjoyed our choice of main course; and then we shared the fromage as dessert. Four cheeses should have been the 'menu' but as we tried to choose which two we each wanted, he said "oh, go on then, have 3 cheeses each".Very friendly, would have been divine on the terrace over the beach on a sunnier day.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank helenpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Excellent service, very friendly to family and dog. Lovely location and food was superb. 100% recommend!

Lovely sea view (when tide not too far out).

Staff extremely friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine c, Propriétaire at L'Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Thank you so much for your message ! Hope to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Albatros also viewed

Saint-Trojan-les-Bains, Ile d'Oleron
Saint-Trojan-les-Bains, Ile d'Oleron
 
Saint-Trojan-les-Bains, Ile d'Oleron
Saint-Trojan-les-Bains, Ile d'Oleron
 
Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
 

Been to L'Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing