We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beutiful every time!”
Review of La Courtine

La Courtine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed December 8, 2016

We live near by and have visited a few times now, alway good, great food, friendly staff, good view over the new little marina, it certainly has it all. Don't forget to book though, it gets very busy!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 759 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2016

One of the best meals I've eaten for quite sometime, the Mouclade was excellent (mussels in a creamy curry sauce) as were the Panache of oysters. You are really spoilt for choice when it come to seafood. It is a very busy restaurant but the service was friendly and efficient and the food arrived hot. It was so good we returned for our last meal and had the recommendations of the day which were monkfish and seabass both outstanding dishes. Can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank soniahfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Visited this place on the advice of the receptionist at our campsite. Got there at midday on the dot and glad we did. We were the first seated but it wasn't long before the place was filled. We choose the menu du jour as we enjoy the experience of the set menu. Drinks where served with a lovely plate of olives, the bread was very fresh and the service was excellent. Our waitress was very attentive and didn't stop smiling. We both opted for the prawns to start. 10 good size prawns served with home made mayo were just to die for. Just seeing them arrive at the table got me excited. For mains I went for the moules frites and my other half opted for the fish of the day which was hake. Both dishes were cooked to perfection and great size portions. For desert we were presented with a very generous size portion of apricot and polenta gateaux, which was light and fluffy and made a nice change to the traditional sponge based cake. Followed up but a couple of beers, I was pleasantly surprised when I was handed the bill for 34euros. Still don't understand how it could be so cheap considering the portion size and more importantly the quality of the food. Well I sure am not going to complain and I definitely will be returning!!!! Thank you La Courtine

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Kara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016

Our return after one year , and we were not disappointed .
An excellent three courses with a good bottle of wine for under 60 euros.
Fish pate +toast to start with , a skate wing with excellent al dente veg and a tomato and chorizo sauce . Both good size portions .
We just managed an ice cream afterwards !
We will be back !

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016

We visited this restaurant whilst on holiday, having seen the excellent reviews. We got there just after noon and asked if we could sit on the terrace but were told we had to sit inside. We were put on a table right by the kitchen door and given a menu. 25 minutes later, we still had not been asked if we even wanted a drink. When my husband complained, they took our order for a drink which eventually arrived, along with a dish of olives. We sat there for another 35 minutes and eventually our order was taken. We noticed that people arriving after us were being served before us. After my husband complained a second time, we got another dish of olives and eventually our food arrived! Overall, we waited 55 minutes for our meal and they still kept seating people who came into the restaurant. It was obvious, with only 4 waiting staff, that there were not enough staff to deal with the amount of people who were in the restaurant. That said, three of the waiting staff, were tearing around trying to catch up with the kitchen staff. When our food eventually arrived, it was good but really not worth waiting 55 minutes for. We very nearly got up and left. Having lived in France for nearly 9 years, we are very used to how people are treated in restaurants and this was the worst experience we have ever had in France. It will go down in history for us! Would never go there again. They need to recruit some more waiting staff and not just shrug their shoulders when someone is unhappy about poor customer service.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Moglet6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Courtine also viewed

Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
 
Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
 
Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
 

Been to La Courtine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing