We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fish & Chip Lunch”
Review of Les Frits de Mer

Les Frits de Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 30, 2018

We were in the touristy part of the port and spotted this charming spot initially from the back which had a view over the port & Château. The waitress spoke excellent english and made us most welcome, we opted for the fish & chips and a pichet of local white wine. The bill came to €28.60 and the ambiance excellent.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Located in the ‘Arty’ part of town, this popular trendy shack provides fish and chips in a basket at a reasonable price. For those of you that don’t like fish then chicken and burgers are other menu options. A choice of different types of week batter and sauces are offered to compliment your fish. To be honest the concept just didn’t do it for me, my choice of batter was hard and appeared to have some sort of corn flakes mixed into it. The accompanying frites on the other hand were tasty, rustic style with the potato skin still attached to them. All in all an okay place but nothing to write home about.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Elusive-Camel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

Good value meal . Excellent frites and lovely hake .Choice of batter and sauces . Very easy house white at a fair price .
Nice ambience and friendly service .

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank lorenzo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We had our lunch here. You could choose your fish cooked in different batters with different sauces to accompany it. Served on paper in a basket, the fish was beautifully cooked, fresh and tasty. The chips were perfect. A lovely terrace outside with a view of the port. If it hadn't started to rain at the end of the meal we would have stayed longer with a coffee and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and the interesting view. We would thoroughly recommend this quirky little restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SusieQBury_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

We chose this restaurant because of the good reviews. We were very disappointed.

Overview:
Server didn't say 'Bonsoir'.

We ordered chicken burgers. The burger buns were cold.

The cheese wasnt melted.

Too much breadcrumbs on the chicken resulting in it being hard to bite.

The chips were too crunchy. I only eat cooked chips and these were like...fried 4 times over.

The chips aren't chips... But tiny fries...

My stomach bloated just after eating half of this meal (and I can eat a lot!)

I'd recommend avoiding this stodge.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Carmen_Esmeralda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Frits de Mer also viewed

Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
Boyardville, Saint-Georges-d'Oleron
 
Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
Dolus-d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
 
Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
 

Been to Les Frits de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing