We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View from our Balcony”
Review of Hotel De La Plage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De La Plage
Certificate of Excellence
Kimbolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a View from our Balcony”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

You dont get a much better position than this from a Logis de France Hotel.
A lovely beach side hotel with a great dining room overlooking the sea. The views are wonderful and the walks along the beaches are a joy.
The rooms are a bit basic without a fridge and the housekeeping left a little to be desired. Plastic room/bathroom glasses not replaced or cleaned,beds badly made up and vacuuming in rooms and corridors very hit and miss.The food and service in the dining room was excellent however, with good breakfasts and coffee.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, sea view and balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomsBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IO17, Propriétaire at Hotel De La Plage, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour

Merci de faire enlever votre avis qui ne concerne pas notre Hôtel. Nous n'avons pas de restaurant, nous n'avons pas de balcon avec vue mer, nous n'avons pas de vue mer tout simplement et il n' y a pas de promenade bord de plage à la Cotinière, nous n'avons pas de verre en plastique dans les chambres. Je vous ai déjà envoyé un message personnel que vous ignorez, j'espère que cette réponse donnera quelque chose....
BONNE JOURNEE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    76
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
116
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We only had one night at the Hotel de la Plage but it was very pleasant in the sun. The room was clean and comfortable and the swimming pool was great. The hotel does not have a restaurant but there was a choice in the nearby harbour area some 10 minutes walk away. I would not have any problem returning to the Hotel de la Plage and Oleron is a lovely island especially when the weather is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a night's stay at this lovely little hotel. Extremely clean, good size room, good location near restaurants and also a stones throw from the beach. We took our dog and that was no problem. Very friendly welcome. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have been to this hotel three times over the last four years, ensuite rooms with balcony with an unrestricted view over the bay. The food and service at the hotel is very good although it's difficult getting exactly what you want if you're a vegetarian as my wife is. Parking is a short walk away with code acess and free. The local area is very quiet with only a few bars and eateries. There are two beaches and I've never seen them close to being full so plenty of room for families. The local area is within easy reach by car with many small ports enroute to Quiberon which is the busiest town locally. We will be returning again for another relaxing stress free break.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

on my job trip i had stayed in this hotel for 2Nights and it was a wonderful experience. It was early may month and with weather being very pleasant not hot or cold it was a great trip. the hotel is situated just next to the beach and one of the hotel restaurant have a beautiful beach view. the beach was pretty clean and not crowded at all. you can be restricted with food menu but if know french well and have some knowledge of food in france i guess definitely you can enjoy your meal. i tried different meals but the variety of pizzas were much i enjoyed. overall i would say good hotel within your budget and location.

Room Tip: Beach side rooms have excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaptaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Very nice owners, so helpful and friendly... had a great nights' sleep and all the rooms have a pretty little terrace area for relaxing outdoors. Plus a good breakfast in a room leading out to a beautiful garden. The parking was free and it is close to the town and the beach at La Cotiniere.

Hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val_back_in_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

An unpretentious little hotel, really friendly & helpful (staff & other guests). Everything really clean & comfortable & a lovely quiet garden setting, about 10 mins walk from shops, restaurants & harbour.( La Cotiniere is lovely, although it does get busy, which is why the suburban setting was so nice.)
The studios are hotel rooms with a tiny kitchenette - excellent for brunches & making picnics. The kitchen is incredibly well-equipped with pots & pans, cutlery & crockery, though the two hot-plates without a grill or oven is a bit limiting. (but the big fridge is good for storing picnics!) We shopped mainly in the big hypermarche at St Pierre - just up the road opposite the hotel - though we also found a boucherie which sold prepared meats in sauces/rice dishes etc., in La Cotiniere.
Flat-screen Tv with good range of (French only) channels, comfortable bed & balcony & a/c made this a real bargain. The mezzanine was safe for kids, but had a very low ceiling & almost vertical wooden stairs. The pool was clean, sunny & not at all overlooked. It was fenced against children -just as well, as there were no depth warnings & a steep slope to6ft. in the middle.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifytyplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
0.2 mi away
Hotel Face aux Flots
Hotel Face aux Flots
#1 of 6 in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel ile de Lumiere
Motel ile de Lumiere
#10 of 22 in Ile d'Oleron
135 reviews
9.4 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Troja...
#1 of 7 in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel l'Oceane
Hotel l'Oceane
#1 of 1 in La Cotiniere
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Les Jardins d'Oleron
Les Jardins d'Oleron
#2 of 6 in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
140 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le Square
Hotel Le Square
#4 of 6 in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Plage

Property: Hotel De La Plage
Address: 51 boulevard du Capitaine Leclerc | La Cotinière, 17310, Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile d'Oleron > Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
#2 Family Hotel in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel De La Plage 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel seaside, rooms and studios 1 - 4 persons. Hotel was renovated in 2009, entirely air-conditioned, swimming pool heats up, local in bikes, private parking. It is needed sont equipped natural balcony or terrace. Our studios have equipped kitchenettes.When are next to Port and village of harbour Cotinièrehôtel bord de mer, chambres et studios de 1 à 4 personnes. Hôtel rénové en 2009, entièrement climatisé, piscine chauffée, local à vélos, parking privé. Nos chambres sont équipées de balcon ou terrasse. Nos studios ont des kitchenettes équipées. Nous sommes à côté du Port et du village de la Cotinière ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Plage France/Poitou-Charentes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing