We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely if you get the right room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Good things: Spotless, very friendly, helpful staff, well equipped rooms, comfortable beds, convenient location, excellent breakfast.

Questionable things: The rooms downstairs are at street level so people passing by can look in. The first room we were shown had two windows and the bathroom (beautifully appointed) also had a window. The shutters were difficult to close so there would be no privacy at all using the bathroom at night with the light on. Expensive for the facilities provided.

Expect that a quieter room on a higher floor would be best.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor if you want privacy
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 118 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

The location is ideal as it is in the middle of the town and around the corner from all the shops and the restaurants.The rooms are expensive and less than one would expect to receive for the price, but larger than a Parisian equivalent. The bathroom was elegantly appointed, but so small as two of us could hardly use the two sinks at one time. Our confirmation said we were directly connected to the sauna, but in fact we were no where near it. Our room was on the first floor - noisy in the early morning and later in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great location in Porte en Re right in the village, amazing place early morning when the Marche starts, also at night, only a few minutes from the night spots. Avoid the rooms downstairs since facing the street right at the level of the people passing by, also quite a smell in the bathroom. Breakfasts are compulsory as noted by previous trip advisors reviews and costly. But worth the stay, rooms are beautiful and well set, great view from first floor.overall great stay

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a lovely couple of days our room felt newly refurbished. Loved the fresh bread and croissants warm from the bakery in the morning. We found the staff welcoming and helpful. Long bus journey to the hotel but excellent value for money and worth the journey. Great beaches too with no one on them!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We thought it would be a good idea to stay in ile de re before our flight the next day. the hotel is right at the end of the island and the drive there makes you realise how beautiful the island is. it was easy to find thanks to maps provided and signs dotted on the road. Sandrine welcomed us and guided us to car park and let us in our room. Very nice room enormous bed, good shower and simple but yet very yummy and plentiful breakfast.
I only met Sandrine who was very helpful and friendly. hope to go again

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank echine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Hotel des Portes in the beautiful village of Les Portes. The hotel is well appointed and the staff very helpful. Our room was spacious and well-equipped. We came home relaxed and rejuvenated!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apacheetmaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in September, nice location right in the centre, lovely modern decor ,very clean rooms. Parking spots a problem. functional ,not overly friendly though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Portes-en-Re
11.6 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
585 reviews
11.6 mi away
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
#6 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
311 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
773 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#1 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
519 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re

Address: 1 Place Victor Dron | Les Portes en Re, 17880 Les Portes-en-Re, Ile de Re, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Les Portes-en-Re
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Les Portes-en-Re
Price Range: $225 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small charming ghesthouse of 5 very nice rooms close to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hote Des Portes - Ile De Re Les Portes-En-Re

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing