We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, spotless, charming small hotel set in a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, spotless, charming small hotel set in a lovely location”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a lovely couple of days our room felt newly refurbished. Loved the fresh bread and croissants warm from the bakery in the morning. We found the staff welcoming and helpful. Long bus journey to the hotel but excellent value for money and worth the journey. Great beaches too with no one on them!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicky1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    38
    11
    13
    9
See reviews for
8
89
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A frog in the UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We thought it would be a good idea to stay in ile de re before our flight the next day. the hotel is right at the end of the island and the drive there makes you realise how beautiful the island is. it was easy to find thanks to maps provided and signs dotted on the road. Sandrine welcomed us and guided us to car park and let us in our room. Very nice room enormous bed, good shower and simple but yet very yummy and plentiful breakfast.
I only met Sandrine who was very helpful and friendly. hope to go again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank echine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nozay, France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Hotel des Portes in the beautiful village of Les Portes. The hotel is well appointed and the staff very helpful. Our room was spacious and well-equipped. We came home relaxed and rejuvenated!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apacheetmaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in September, nice location right in the centre, lovely modern decor ,very clean rooms. Parking spots a problem. functional ,not overly friendly though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

This hotel has pretensions of grandeur. And certainly it has some nice touches - the foyer garden is cute, the rooms are well appointed and the location in Les Portes en Re is second to none.

But the attitude of the front of house, the lack of any onsite services (bar, restaurant etc.), the sloppy room cleaning service (rumpled sheets, not replacing towels, sand remaining on wooden floors) really counts highly against this establishment, especially when you take into account the high premium prices that it commands as the only central hotel in Les Portes en Re which is a very charming and exclusive village which Paris migrates to every summer.

Would I go back to Hotel des Portes - no
Would I go back to Les Portes en Re - in a flash

Excellent beaches close by, excellent people watching in the small main square, good food (albeit with service which tipped its nose to customers on more than 1 occasion), beautiful village with small streets to wander around during the day and night, hiring bikes and cycling all around the island was really very relaxing, the nearby beach Conch des Baleines is one of my favourite beaches ever!

Word of warning - the 25km journey from the bridge onto the Island to Les Portes en Re is tortuously slow in high season - expect to be sitting in traffic for at least 75 minutes!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear Mister, dear Madam,
We thank you for having stayed at home, but we are sorry that your stay does not bring you whole contentment.
The village of Les Portes, is really a sought-after destination at the high season for their rural side.
Peace and gap of this place in comparison with a traditional seaside station (big town centre with boutiques and restaurants everywhere) do the charm of this village, and you could realize it.
Structures of reception are also not very numerous, we are the only hotel in the village, charming 3 star hotel, home, structure of which blends in with the decor, 9 rooms do not justify the presence of a restaurant and the place would not allow it at any rate, however 4 or 5 restaurants are divided in the village from which the majority are in 2 steps of the hotel, information were mentioned during reservation ; they know by definition for which type of establishment a reservation is made, also for its geographical situation for instance.
A service of bar is offered to the customers, drinks can be taken in one of 2 living rooms of the hotel, coffees, teas, beers, soda, and champagnes are proposed.
Housekeeping is present every day; sheets are changed every 3 days or at request: a present small cushion in the room is in registered on the bed if they want to see his changed sheets; as well as for the towels which are changed when they are put on the floor in the bathroom.
For any claim or specific request our personnel is open to our customers, when an inconvenience is signaled everything is implemented to put right it, the contentment of our inhabitants is our first mission.
We inform you that for a style and a comfort reminding of the Hotel Des Portes, we propose you from a reasonable distance of the bridge, the “Hotel & Restaurant & SPA Plaisir***” located in Wood-beach, bigger structure with hindsight where different services as: a gastronomic restaurant, bikes rental, a beauty institute, heated swimming; all those services answer your near needs of proximity with your accommodation.
We thank you for your comments which help us to go to the sense of improvement.
The owner,
Mario Hamelin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Arrived at this hotel on Bastille day - most other places were fully booked so stayed because nowhere else was available. The hotel is small and clean ( 9 rooms ). We were quoted a room price of Euros 131 but were then informed that breakfast was ''compulsory'' at Euros 12 each ( !! ). Total for one night - 157 Euros incl tax.
Breakfast was typically French - average and overpriced.

The hotel is in a tiny square where many people gathered to celebrate Bastille day- this caused serious noise problems until 5 am followed by by the setting-up of market stalls at 7 am for the following morning. In all, not much sleep.

There is no parking. You are expected to park in a public car park which is 500 metres away and always full.

If you are not a beach person, staying here is a waste of time.

It is overpriced and underwhelming. I have never before stayed in any hotel where meals are compulsory. NOT RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Portes-en-Re
11.6 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
576 reviews
11.6 mi away
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
#6 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
302 reviews
12.0 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
413 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#1 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
506 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re

Property: Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re
Address: 1 Place Victor Dron | Les Portes en Re, 17880 Les Portes-en-Re, Ile de Re, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Les Portes-en-Re
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Les Portes-en-Re
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small charming ghesthouse of 5 very nice rooms close to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hote Des Portes - Ile de Re reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hote Des Portes - Ile De Re Les Portes-En-Re

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing