We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as relaxing as ever”
Review of Hotel Le Senechal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Senechal
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ars-en-Re
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at Le Senechal for two nights on my way driving down through France to meet a friend. I could not resist coming back here having stayed here a few years ago and loved it. The hotel is as calm and tasteful as ever. The management are very helpful and the room was very clean. Ars en Re is a fantastic town with great cafes and beautiful streets to wander through. I highly recommend a visit to Le Senechal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottie758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Senechal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 204 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stylish eclectic design. The pool and courtyards were very nicely maintained. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is situated close to are en re square. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Charming, tasteful hotel. Very beautiful courtyards with lots of flowers in a beautiful area of France. We have now visited this hotel five times, twice having stayed in one of the little houses and always had a great time. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel, very simple and very sympathetic with it surroundings. I think its quite smart -shabby chic! The service was brilliant, young people very keen to help give an energetic vibe. The small courtyard garden overflows with flowers you can ea your breakfast there on a sunny day. Unlike St Martin there is no noise in the morning.
We found the bed a little hard and unforgiving, which is unusual as normally prefer hard beds but maybe we had eaten too well
i would go back,- Ile de Re, our favourite hotel, and we have been going there for 20 odd year.

Room Tip: 16. a lovely room with a balcony and very quiet
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brillandhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Totally agree with previous review ' A Charming Weekend'. This hotel was part of a road trip where we stayed for three nights. We unfortunately had a room facing the inner courtyard, it is a bit noisy when people come back to the hotel in the evening. The little courtyard itself is brimming with colouful flowers which we looked down on from our balcony. I recommend hiring bikes as exploring the salt marches and nearby villages is relaxing and fun. All flat so no strain. There is a fabulous Michelin recommend restaurant round the corner from the hotel ' La Gourmandi Se ' We also had a delicious meal at 'Le Grenier a Sel ' service and ambiance were very good.
I don't recommend the restaurant L'oceane in the square.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper don't choose room 16, other than that the room and balcony are charm...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenaKayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We arrived at the Senechal, on the western end of the Ile de Re, mid Saturday afternoon. From identifying the building, we found everything to be charming, relaxed, shabby but tasteful. We checked in efficiently and went to explore our room which we 'dressed' quickly with our things ready to greet our travelling companions. Comparing rooms we discovered that they are all different, fitting into the old buildings. Our friends had a bath, we a shower (the cubicle of which could only be entered by standing sideways), the freebie toiletries were different in both rooms. Although cosy, there was adequate storage for our things. We all met up again in the lobby. Log fire, magazines, books, comfy sofa 'n' chairs and, later in the evening, a working Nespresso machine. Free wifi available here. The receptionist guided us to free parking a few minutes walk away. We enjoyed walking the narrow streets of the town choosing a bar and restaurant to visit later.
Breakfast was served in the lobby. Causal, unhurried French breakfast. 'Posh' breads, jam, pastries, fresh juice, cafe. The butter was dressed with salt crystals.
Le Senechal has opened a deli next door and, following a visit to nearby St Martin-de-Re, we enjoyed plates of charcuterie and cheeses washed down by local wine.
Overall a charming seaside experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chasselas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Senechal has great style and makes the most of its space. We used the patio which was freshly put together and felt very relaxing with its one courtyard. The beds are comfortable, kitchen has most things you need and the overall vibe is very good. Given the price, it would be nice to have more than one mini bottle of shampoo and perhaps some non French tv. Overall, however, a good place in a good location.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ars-en-Re
0.6 mi away
Cote Thalasso Ile de Re
Cote Thalasso Ile de Re
#2 of 4 in Ars-en-Re
442 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#1 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Clocher
Hotel Le Clocher
#4 of 4 in Ars-en-Re
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
587 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Martray
Le Martray
#3 of 4 in Ars-en-Re
86 reviews
11.4 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Senechal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Senechal

Address: 6 Rue Gambetta, 17590 Ars-en-Re, Ile de Re, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Ars-en-Re
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ars-en-Re
Price Range: $93 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Senechal 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel in the middle of the village, rooms are all different, patios full of flowers, a little heated swimming pool, a fire place, a hearty staff, an ideal place to spend a wonderful stay in ile de Re. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Senechal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Senechal Hotel
Hotel Le Senechal Ile De Re/Ars-En-Re, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing