We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view does it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Le Francais
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in La Flotte
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you want a mini-bar and a safe-box in the room this is not the place, but if you are looking for a pleasant stay with a marvellous view from the room's windows then this is a must !
Overlooking the old small fisherman harbour (now mainly used for small yachts) with changing tides is an experience.
The hotel is situated near to the medieval market place in La Flotte, and is a convenient starting point for visiting the Ré Island.
Make sure you want room 37, the largest one in the hotel and having 4 windows allowing a panoramic view.
Breakfast and restaurant are quite up to standard, and top class restaurants are in walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikebeatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Restaurant Le Francais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived at this place without any prior reservation or even a recommendation from anyone. It turned out to be the best of our 3 month tour. The hotel is unpretentious, but so are most of the places to stay in Ile de Re. However its all you could want, if your'e looking for peaceful relaxing place. It is located right in from of the dock. It has a great restaurant. Buffet downstairs for breakfast and dinner upstairs. The rooms are clean with bathroom inside. I don't think there is AC, but we were in May so there was no need for it. Breakfast is 10 euros and its nice. One of the waiters (Sebastian) who seemed to be working 24/7 spoke great English and helped us enormously. The best 3 days we spent in France.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBocaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel very close to the harbour. Room was of a good size with a nice shower room and all very clean. Breakfast was adequate with a good selection but did cost ten euros each (but of course this is on the Ile de Re). Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Request one with a sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel le Francais was clean, a nice white room (Room 36), clean and tidy bathroom,with excellent views across the harbour, double glazing kept the room quiet, staff very helpful and polite, overall, an excellent expereience.

Room Tip: Ask for Harbour view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were let down by poor service in this hotel and in the restaurant.
So, after just one night, we decided yo move to another hotel in the same village.
The place is really nice with a small harbour and walking streets. It's not with too many people and we really enjoyed the rest of our stay.
I saw but too late that many customers are disatisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeJ1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We recently visited on a couple of occasions and both times were let down by poor service. The first time we called in for drinks after eating elsewhere. It was clear we were an inconvenience to the staff and upon asking if we could see the dessert menu we were told "No time" even though it was only 8.20pm! We returned again a few days later and received very slow service. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BillyBear01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

I highly recommend this hotel. As soon as I walked in, I felt I had made the right choice. All the staff are very friendly, warm and welcoming. Fantastic location in the port of La Flotte. My room (number 34: 90 Euros) was perfect: large; white and blue; immaculately clean; very peaceful; overlooking a tree-lined road with a side view of the port. There is a private area (un 'local') where you can safely leave your bike free of charge. (You get 10% discount from a local bike-rental place if you say you're staying at the hotel). I stayed three nights and was very happy there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank teapot08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Flotte
2.8 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Galiote en Re
Hotel La Galiote en Re
#2 of 7 in La Flotte
357 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Richelieu
Hotel Le Richelieu
#1 of 7 in La Flotte
372 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel du Port
Hotel du Port
#10 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
124 reviews
9.8 mi away
Cote Thalasso Ile de Re
Cote Thalasso Ile de Re
#2 of 4 in Ars-en-Re
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Francais

Address: 1 cours Felix Faure, 17630 La Flotte, Ile de Re, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > La Flotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in La Flotte
Price Range: $90 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Francais 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Le Francais La Flotte, Ile De Re, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing