We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like fish........”
Review of L'Ecailler

L'Ecailler
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in La Flotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“If you like fish........”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having read about this on Trip Advisor, we visited La Flotte during the day whilst viewing the island. It was extremely scenic and we decided to come back for our evening meal. The restaurant was extremely busy and we had no reservation so were shown to a small table between kitchen door and bar. Not ideal, but we were quickly moved as a table had become available in the main dining area. Menu all in French, and staff had limited English. However, we got by and had a very enjoyable meal. Bit pricy (majority of starters €15 or more and mains €25+). Must like fish as no meat dishes on menu. Service was good and staff very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StickandFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    129
    27
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Pierre le Vieux, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Sunny Saturday lunchtime. A spontaneous trip to the Ile de Re from our home in the Vendee. Chanced upon this restaurant from the plentiful choice around the harbour in La Flotte. Wonderful harbour-side table from which to watch the world go by. Attentive but not overbearing service. Charming, friendly but not falsely cheerful staff. Food to die for. Have rarely tasted such fresh-tasting fish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4from85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Gourmet cuisine in the heart of La Flotte”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

La Flotte has a fabulous little harbor area and this restaurant is the understated star of the show. Very understated with a French country style, this unassuming location works for a great casual experience or dress up a but for a special occasion. Indoor and outdoor seating, all comfortable. The menu is superb, with a significant tilt towards seafood. Breads are homemade and the wine list is solid at all price levels. A bit expensive compared to other local options, but you are getting reasonable value for Michelin-star food. Highly recommended. Our children (9 & 11 years) joined us for one of our meals and were treated very kindly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best sea food we had this summer”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Making a holiday to enjoy just sea food the best place was at L'ecailler. You could smell the flavour of the sea. excellent service, beautiful view, we couldn'find a better place. We had later on sea food in La Rochelle, but nothing compared to the freschness of l'ecailler.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benigna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
236 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Excellent local seafood, helpful staff”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I are foodies and have no problem finding something we enjoy on just about any menu. But our 5-year-old daughter...that's another story. So while we loved the all-seafood menu at L'Ecaillier, we found nothing that our daughter would eat. Enter the waitstaff. They offered to take a little of this (rice from one dish), a little of that (roasted potatoes from another), and a little more from another (Serrano ham) and voila: we had a dish for our daughter that she thoroughly enjoyed. In fact, before this, she never had roasted potatoes and fell in love with them here, giving them her thumbs up. We did the same with the impeccably fresh seafood. The way to go was the seafood platter, where you had the familiar (shrimp of all sizes, mussels, conch, clams and oysters) and some not-so-familiar: welks, periwinkles and the like. All were ridiculously fresh and delicious. Of course, fabulous French wine is everywhere, but these guys even had a glass of vodka on the rocks for me to enjoy...a welcome change of pace for me. There are other open air restaurants in the port of La Flotte. This one was the one that was recommended by our hotel, and was always full whenever it was open. That in itself says something.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvis355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ecailler also viewed

Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
La Couarde-sur-Mer, Ile de Re
 
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
 
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
Rivedoux-Plage, Ile de Re
 

Been to L'Ecailler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing