We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place to stay”
Review of Le Coq D'or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Coq D'or
Ranked #1 of 2 Jonzac B&B and Inns
chepstow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“amazing place to stay”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

beautiful hotel in a lovely quiet location, opposite a stunning castle, very personal hotel with only 5 rooms , all rooms are very generous in size and decorated to a very high standard . staff are really friendly and nothing is ti much , had a lovely stay on many occasions , a must if you are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
30
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

If only the boss and his staff could improve their manner. The setting is lovely, right on the square opposite a very pretty chateau. The main man himself is unfriendly and doesn't deserve to do well unless he changes his attitude.
We live locally and still go occasionally but nearly all our friends are boycotting it because of the staff and the prices and their inability to be flexible. We had a salad last time we were there and it cost about 12 euros but the content was poor - the presentation ok but they are banking on food looking pretty rather than provide good value and pleasant service so folk want to return again.... and again.... and maybe again .... !! Read and Learn
We have no need to stay there but friends families have and apparently the service is MUCH better if you are booked in. Please carry this on to al your customers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Seven of us dined here and it was a treat. We sat outside and each of us much enjoyed our evening. The service and ambience was excellent and the food far exceeded my expectations especially as several of our party had eaten there many times before and had extolled it virtues. The menu was varied but not overly extensive and the house wine very good. Not a cheap experience but definately worth it. I recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We loved this boutique hotel and thought the attention to detail was lovely. The beds were superb and we found the staff and owner very friendly and welcoming. The position of the hotel is charming overlooking the square and the chatteau. It was quite expensive but you would have to pay alot more in the uk for a room of that standard. We loved it so much, we left our holiday a day early, so we could have another night there. The restaurant is excellent and we managed to sit outside for a lovely lunch on our first visit and then in the inside dining room in the evening on our return which was great. Breakfast is extra but was so well presented and generous.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

For want of something better to stay during winter in the area, the Coq d'Or is a good place, although a bit overpriced.
The guesthouse has only 9 rooms, spacious and nicely decorated, but with basic furnishings. Breakfast (not included in the room rate) was good and is served in the restaurant below, as well as the dinner. The cuisine is of a good value for money.
There is not a real reception, since all operations are made at the restaurant's cash desk.
Being welcomed by a closed door and calling for the owner on the phone seems to be a trademark (read comments of other guests), but for t he rest was a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We arrived at 3.30pm on Sunday to be told the bar was closing in 30 minutes and the restaurant was shut on Sunday and Monday evenings. The owner advised that there was a small restaurant nearby which was open on a Sunday night, this turned out not to be the case. As the bar was about to close and we had been travelling for a few hours, we quickly ordered a beer, be warned, the beers cost 6 euros each.
The only other bar in the village shut at 8pm and it´s restaurant didn´t do food on a Sunday. The only place we could find to eat was a sandwich shop. My wife does not recommend the kebab frites sandwich. In the morning there was no hot water for the shower, we told the owner and he came and told us he had fixed it (when we were sitting in our car with the engine running). We had been led to expect this place would be ´superb´, it was deeply disappointing to say the very least. The photos on the website were clearly taken during a village festival and do not reflect the reality. The village has a nice square but it really is a ghost town on a Sunday.
The room would have been very nice if there had been any hot water but the carpet in the hall outside our room was utterly filthy. Not a good experience. There was no offer of any refund from the owner.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whiskydram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2010

although we werent staying at this hotel (the rooms look fabulous and the hotel is in a perfect location overlooking town square and castle)we have eaten here a number of times. The food is delicious, the owners charming, the decor and ambiance stylish and welcoming.The waiters are delightful and the kitchen knows what it is doing. we have been coming here for the past three years and it just seems to get better and better. recommend you try it.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonSmith2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jonzac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Vieux Logis
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecu
Hotel de l'Ecu
#1 of 4 in Jonzac
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Thermes
Hotel Les Thermes
#3 of 4 in Jonzac
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel le Relais
Hotel le Relais
#1 of 1 in Jarnac Champagne
10 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne
8.1 mi away
Chateau de Mirambeau
Chateau de Mirambeau
#1 of 1 in Mirambeau
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Coq D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Coq D'or

Property: Le Coq D'or
Address: 18 Place du Chateau, 17500 Jonzac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Jonzac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jonzac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Coq D'or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Coq D'Or France/Jonzac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing