We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Abbeville
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
215 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Nice stay again”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have just got back from the Hotel de France having stayed 3 nights, Friday to Sunday. We arrived on a Friday night and had a pre-ordered salad in the bar as we were late for the restaurant. We stayed in the large suite with the balneo and walk in shower and it was very clean. Additions to the room included a small fridge with complementary water and fruit juice, a Nespresso coffee machine that did excellent expresso, once I worked out how the machine worked! Lighting is a little subdued in the room - I would imagine a bit dim for a business traveller who needed a decent desk light. Plenty of towels but they were a bit threadbare. Bathrobes were nice. Reception and staff very friendly and helpful as usual. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety. Dinner was ok but nothing special. The entree trilogy - turned into a duo due to lack of one ingredient, was good. There was a lack of bottles of red wine available, plenty by the glass or half bottle but 2 out of our 3 selections were missing. The waitress was very apologetic.

One problem in that, on returning from a very good meal at L'Etoile de Jour on a Saturday night, the bar was dark at 10pm… This is a 4-star hotel?! Upon asking for some drinks to take up to the room we were asked if we were checking out the next day. We weren't, so got the drinks! It was as if we were not trusted…. We have stayed in this hotel over 10 times so this did not give us a good impression.

Checkout was fine, we had been charged for full breakfasts we did NOT have on the middle day but this was quickly rectified with a smile from Beverley, not her mistake and she was quick to sort this out. We would happily stay here again but hope the restaurant can improve a bit as there is not a lot of choice in Abbeville.

Room Tip: Beware of some noise and drunken singing from the Jupiler bar on a Friday and Saturday night. If thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St-Lucia_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascalshfa, Responsable réception at Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We thank you for your feedback on your stay. We are going to stain to improve our restaurant service, and hope to receive you again very soon.
best regards
Emilie DELAITRE
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    251
    113
    23
    11
See reviews for
107
279
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed over night on a trip to the UK, very clean hotel with a bar...service slow but friendly...a restaurant, food quite good but service slow.

Room are pleasant enough and the Hotel is well situated in the town so you can have a walk after diner in the evening.

Staff friendly presume they speak English as we talked in french.
Not enough staff when they have a function, we were there when they had one and the staff were running around...waited 45 minutes for our starter but they tried their best.

Manager very pleasant.

Very large parking area near hotel on a large square 2 minutes walk from Hotel.

Room Tip: Dont think this hotel would be good with children, not enough space for them so would have complaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascalshfa, Responsable réception at Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello, and thank you for your nice comment on our teams.
Indeed we have the advantage to be situated in the heart of the city. See you again soon
best regards
Emilie DELAITRE
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

There's nothing overly memorable going on here...

The rooms are small and simple, but clean and functional.. The staff are perfectly pleasant, and everything is reasonably priced.

Went down for dinner in the restaurant, there was NOTHING for vegetarians, and there's nothing going on in Abbeville, so that was pretty bleak..

Breakfast was fine, much better than their excuse for dinner..

I'm struggling to get 200 characters here....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjpkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascalshfa, Responsable réception at Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear customers, thank you for your comment. We hope we can welcome you during more festive period, because Abbeville is an attractive city, and there is numerous activities has to make in th" Baie de Somme"
best regards
Emilie DELAITRE
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stopped on quiet, wet Sunday night after long drive heading back to the UK. Check in, room and restaurant all fine without being outstanding or memorable. Food was decent. Got what we paid for. Abbeville has improved in recent years so enjoyed a walk round town the following day. The short (50 yard) walk to free parking in the nearby square was not a problem, even if there are few hotel-dedicated spaces out front.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascalshfa, Responsable réception at Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your opinion. Indeed we have the advantage to be just next to a big public car park, and to have some places privileged in front of our hotel. We hope to see again you soon
best regards
Emilie DELAITRE
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked this as a 'luxury' overnight stay on our return to UK after visiting South of France, with my teenage son and our two dogs. Booked a suite which was nice but have stayed in better for the same price - nothing wrong with it, just thought it was a large room with a large bathroom - nice, but stayed in better suites before. The restaurant was ok for breakfast and staff were helpful for check-in/check-out. Ordered room service for supper which was lovely - but then most of the food in France is of a better quality. The main problem with this hotel is parking - there are 3 spaces in the front which if you are there late, will have already gone so you have to wait for a parking space just around the corner. Nice hotel in the centre of town and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scruffy'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Abbeville, Responsable réception at Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in our Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Emilie ROULLIN-DELAITRE
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this Hotel many times on our way to and from our holiday home in the Dordogne and have always found the staff, rooms and meals satisfactory(although the beds could be a little softer). We would like to say a special thank you to Beverley and Phillipe who went out of their way to assist us when, upon checking out, we found we had a flat tyre. At that time in the morning no garages was open, so Phillipe helped us change the spare tyre ( in the rain I might add). Thank you once again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Abbeville, Responsable réception at Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in our Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Emilie ROULLIN-DELAITRE
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

went to hotel for a meal with 5 others. There were several empty tables that could acommodate us and it was around 9.30pm. When we asked for a table we were told that there were no tables available as guests at the hotel that had not arrived may want a table. Lady that told us this (english) needs to be trained in customer service. Rude, loud and then tried to retrieve situation by offering compromise. Too late for that. We walked away. As a regular visitor to France (up to eight times a year) Mercure hotels are now a no go area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisIRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Abbeville, Responsable réception at Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear our Guest

Thank you to have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,
Emilie ROULLIN DELAITRE
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbeville
1.3 mi away
Ibis Abbeville
Ibis Abbeville
#4 of 7 in Abbeville
521 reviews
5.5 mi away
Camping Le Val de Trie
Camping Le Val de Trie
#29 of 84 in Somme
102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Abbeville
Ibis Budget Abbeville
#1 of 1 in Vauchelles-les-Quesnoy
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Relais Vauban
Relais Vauban
#5 of 7 in Abbeville
78 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chateau de Behen
Chateau de Behen
#1 of 1 in Behen
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France

Property: Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France
Address: 19 Place du Pilori, 80100, Abbeville, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Abbeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Abbeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance to the Bay of the Somme, one of the most beautiful bays in the world, this red brick hotel, right in the heart of town is a classic example of Ponthieu architecture. The airconditioned hotel offers 72 rooms (including 3 for guestswith limited mobility) as well as a restaurant, bar, meeting rooms and private pay car park. This hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Abbeville with your partner or family. Upper levels fully refurbished in early 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing