We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
12
23
28
34
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
12
23
28
34
19
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 116 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2016

Hotel de la Mer is well located in the centre of the small town of La Tranche about 10 minutes walk from the attractive, sandy beach. Our room was of a good size, very clean with en-suite bathroom with both bath and an efficient shower. There was also a fridge and safe. Furnishings were adequate. Service was efficient if somewhat brusque (apart from the charming chamber maid)

We took dinner on the terrace (most of the restaurants in La Tranche seemed more pizza/burger/creperie) and the food was fine – well cooked if not exciting, we had moules frites but the setting on the terrace was very pleasant.

There is an enclosed pool and a nice garden. We didn’t try the spa. Parking in two places but turning in one of them is tight. Breakfast pretty average.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kemmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. A 10 minute walk to beach via promenade. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious with an excellent large balcony.
Breakfast was outstanding with quality coffee and a wide variety of choice including the essential , eggs how you like them.
There is a slightly odd layout to the building which means you cannot get a lift all the way up to your room.We were on the 7th floor, all 136 steps up but it didn't detract from a great stay.Well done to La Mer.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Karen45T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here whilst working in the area. The hotel was lovely and clean. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. Extras like a kettle with tea and coffee. A fridge. Hairdryer. Plus i was leant a dressing gown to go back and fourth to the heated swiming pool.
The restauant served delicious food with lots of nice little touches. However, over two weeks the menu only offered one differing meal of fish of the day. Otherwise all the evening meals were the same. We were offered an alternative choice on one night as we had stayed for two weeks.
That said, the food was really delicious and to a high standard.
The hotel staff were very helpful and we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jamber n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANDRINE B, Gérant at Hotel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016
Google Translation

Bonjour,
Nous sommes ravis de savoir que nous avons pu répondre à vos attentes, Merci pour votre message positif, que nous transmettrons à toute notre équipe. Au plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau
Cordialement,
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

If you want a room with modern decor and luxurious fittings don't go to this hotel. It is stuck in a time warp of formica and polystyrene ceiling tiles. But once you have got past this first impression you should really warm to this place. That's what happened to us. As we arrived my husband said, 'Oh dear, I feel disappointment coming on.' When we left three days later he said, 'I'm really sorry to be leaving.' The old_fashioned room was spotlessly clean, the staff were without exception friendly and helpful, and the food in the restaurant was good to excellent. It is a pleasant walk of five minutes to the splendid beach, miles of uncrowded clean sand, and apart from a trippery street at the town centre, La Tranche is a great example of the kind of seaside place that is devoted to simple family pleasures, buckets and spades, sandcastles, sailing boats, canoes, kites, swimming and paddling.
Just one hiccup, not the fault of the hotel, one night there was a noisy street disco. Apart from that it was quiet, even though we overlooked the street;

Room tip: Probably best to be away from the street.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank usuallyfedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Firstly, the location. As a beach resort La Tranche Sur Mer is to be recommended with a modernised centre and a good range of shops, bars and restaurants aimed at the holiday / tourist trade. The jewel in the crown is wonderful flat and wide beach with soft golden sand running all round the bay to La Griere.

The hotel is prominently located in La Griere Plage which is no more than a 5 minute drive from La Tranche centre and a gentle walk of perhaps 10 minutes onto the excellent beach. Local shops, including a small supermarket, are near to hand and able to supply most holiday requirements.

Hotel de la Mer is a substantial independent property and very much geared to the summer holiday season. There are a number of inviting terraced area's for dining or just relaxing and these are complimented by a covered pool (too small during peak season I suspect) a spa (which she who must be obeyed tells me was good) and a fitness facility which I cannot comment on. There are two car parks (one on each end of the property) and while I understood these to be secure I don't think I ever saw the gates closed. The staff were excellent, friendly and welcoming.

The accommodation I found rather disappointing. There appeared to be no unifying décor or style. While this can sometimes be excused as quaint I'm afraid I thought it something of a tired and dated hotch potch. Furnishings (cupboards, vanitory units and robes) seemed to be MDF flat pack units although, in fairness, they did provide for ample storage.

On registering we were offered to upgrade to a superior room which we did. The room was of reasonably generous size but filled with too much uncoordinated furniture. The en-suite was fitted with a double bowl vanity unit and full width mirror. A shower cubicle was fitted into a dark corner but with an excellent power shower. There was an hair dryer provided but curiously there was not a hook in the place! A separate w.c. was provides as were a small safe and a fridge. There was no in room tea or coffee. One needed the art of the locksmith to open the door to the room which usually delayed me for several minutes and almost defeated one of the cleaning staff. The bed was comfortable, the room clean but the linen a little grey.

I found there was nothing in the rather limited menu to set the juices flowing and I suspect this reflected a kitchen more used to serving high throughput during the season. I'm afraid to say that the breakfast, at 10 euro, was simply inadequate and a very poor affair compared with my usual experience in France. That said the coffee was excellent.

Our three night and two breakfast stay came to 322 euro (two spa treatments an extra 112 euro and dinners at cost) and for late September I do not regard this as good value at all. Perhaps things are better at the start of the season but I'm afraid it won't be me to find out.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogeradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews