We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gites in Angles
Nearby Hotels
Hotel de L'Atlantique(La Tranche sur Mer)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Les Dunes(La Tranche sur Mer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Jard Camping Caravaning(La Tranche sur Mer)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Camping Les Blancs Chenes(La Tranche sur Mer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Residence Belle Plage(La Tranche sur Mer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel les Cols Verts(La Tranche sur Mer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camping Le Bellevue(La Tranche sur Mer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Au Petit Bonheur(La Tranche sur Mer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
29
8
0
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
8
0
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle palmierattention to detailfamily holidayvillahousemarket
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 44 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Having never stayed in self catering before I was slightly nervous about booking this villa but any fears I had disappeared as soon as we arrived at La Palmier - it was exactly as the lady on the phone had described, if not better! La Palmier is spacious, well furnished & in a fantastic village location. Everything is supplied so you don't need to worry about taking things with you (stupidly we had packed games etc for the younger members of the group but these were not needed as there were numerous games, toys, dvds etc already there). The swimming pool is great & the beaches are closeby. All in all the trip was a great success.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gitesinangles, Manager at Gites in Angles, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are delighted to read that you all had a wonderful holiday and sucessful trip to Le Palmier.

We always welcome clients comments and hope we have now converted you to always go 'self catering'.

The ipod, you left behind, is in the post and should be with you shortly :-) thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have never written a review on Trip Advisor before but as the holiday season is approaching again I feel the need to add my views to prevent another family from being as disappointed as we were with this property.

We stayed at Le Palmier for 2 weeks at the end of last summer. The booking process etc was fine and the lady I spoke to assured me that the property was suitable for young children.

When we arrived at the property we were so disappointed. Do not be deceived as we were, by the photographs on their website, the property and it's contents are very tired and some parts were dirty.

There are lots of things I could mention but the main problems were as follows:

The kitchen equipment was dirty, I had to wash all the plates, pans, cutlery etc by hand in the sink before we could use them.
The dishwasher was broken - probably why the kitchen equipment was dirty!
The outside eating area was dirty. We had to clean up the crumbs left by the previous tenants.
The shower rooms are old, cramped and grubby with horrible mildew. The non slip mat for the bath was also black with mildew.
The property was not suitable for young toddlers. The steps down to the kitchen, although shallow, had an open drop on each side and had sharp metal edges.
There were slugs on the floor outside the children's bedroom.
The bedrooms to the rear of the property had a damp unpleasant smell with damp showing on some of the brickwork.
The sink area in the kitchen was filthy, the drain was rotten with old food and the walls were covered in dirty splash marks.
The pool had a ring of green algae above the water line.
We hired bicycles from them - when they eventually turned up the bikes themselves were in good order but they were totally basic and had no gears - not what I expected for the price. The additional childrens carriage that attached to the bikes was filthy and still contained bits of the previous child's lunch.

We did raise the issues of the slugs, dishwasher, blocked sink and they were attended to while we were there. At check out I completed their comments form including the above list and more but I have not had any response from the owners.

If this property was half the price (and clean) I would say it was value for money. If you are expecting 4 or 5 star accommodation this is not for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCSParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gitesinangles, Manager at Gites in Angles, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We have no evidence that these people stayed in our property, we have asked trip advisor to investigate. Ater this review was posted we received notification from other gite owners expressing concerns that we too may be subject to financial extortion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed in Pergola with my partner from November 2012 to March 2013 and had a wonderful time.

Although the gite was designed for families it was perfect for our extended winter stay - in fact we have recommended it to our friends who do have children.

The village of Angles is a step away for daily bread, veg and the butcher has a superb selection of fine meats!

An evening beer in the bar and a quality pizza at the Trattoria is a five minute walk away.

Understandably the village was quiet over winter which was what we wanted. The huge expanse of beach at nearby La Conche and La Tranche were fantastic to blow away the winter cobwebs :)

With the large pool and the decking area behind the house I can see how attractive it could be for families in the summer.

All in all we had a great few months - everyone from the villagers to the lady in the office were helpful and friendly from start to finish.

Will surely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiltshirewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gitesinangles, Manager at Gites in Angles, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

It was an absolute pleasure having you both to stay over winter. The New Year celebrations will never be quite the same without you.

We wish you both much sucess and thank you for being just lovely guests - you are always welcome to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Making the most of some glorious weather in France we stayed in Le Pergola in mid April, we wanted a quiet break that was more than just comfortable, walking distance to local amenities, close to the beach and activities for the kids and we were not disappointed.
Le Pergola is a beautiful gite, set in a converted barn building it has been renovated to an excellent standard, everything smacks of good quality (definitely no granny’s old sofas here). We were welcomed in to an immaculately clean holiday home, a welcome pack to ensure that we could get a brew going as soon as we arrived and masses of information about what we could do during our stay.
Huge TV to keep hubby happy with the Grandprix, enjoying his favourite Nesspresso coffee. Jaccuzzi bath, delicious smellies and large fluffy towels for me, followed by a glass of wine in the secluded garden with a good book borrowed from the well-stocked shelves. The girls had hours of fun playing swing ball having spent an afternoon taking a trip down memory lane looking through the huge collection of toys on offer and desperate to fit into the dressing up clothes (complete with clippy cloppy shoes) and become a Disney Princess again. If your kids are under 10 they will have no shortage of things to keep them entertained, there is even the kit to do some cooking with the children and a planting set to do some gardening. I only wish I had found this holiday whilst my kids were still small, we would have then had room in the car for our stuff and not have it filled with all the kit for the small people.
The shared pool is a good size and the deck and surrounding garden well maintained although we were too early in the season to use the pool, it did look very inviting.
The very pretty sleepy village is genuinely just a 5 minute gentle stroll from Le Pergola, close enough and safe enough for the girls to wander down and buy fresh croissants for breakfast. We had an excellent meal in one of the local restaurants.
There is so much to do right on your door step that entertaining two teenage girls was a doddle everything from miles and miles of beautiful sandy beaches just a 10 minute drive away ( yes even in April we managed some time in shorts and t shirts paddling in the sea), some retail therapy in the little seaside shops, rope climbing in the trees through to the wonderful Aquarium at La Rochelle.
All in all a great success and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pen16260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gitesinangles, Manager at Gites in Angles, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your great review on La Pergola - we are thrilled you had a wonderful holiday with us and loved our house.

Thanks also for ordering our new 'glossy book' (which was left in the accommodation, highlighting all the best bits of this area i.e. beaches, attractions, restaurants and markets etc.) Like you, many clients have found this information invaluable when on holiday and have ordered their own copy to take home to share with friends and family - your copy should be with you shortly.

Thanks again and we very much look forward to weloming you back to La Pergola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in le palmier in September 2012 and had a wonderful holiday. Our party comprised grandparents and two couples with 3 small children between us. It was great having all the toys and DVDs available to entertain the little ones and not having to ferry lots of baby gear with us (they even supply a buggy!)

The villa was clean and I don't think the photos did the property justice. The location is great as you can stroll into the village and it's just a short drive to the lovely beaches. We'll definitely be returning.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gitesinangles, Owner at Gites in Angles, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Great comments re our reputed holiday home called Le Palmier - so thank you so much. We are just so sorry that your dates are not available this year, but we very much look forward to welcoming you all back in 2014!

Wait till you see all the upgrades we have done ready for the 2013 seasons, we are sure you will be even more impressed! Thanks again for taking the time to write your review - clients comments are always welcomed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews