We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steak meal cooked over open charcoal fire”

L'Etage Bar-grillades
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shropshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great steak meal cooked over open charcoal fire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

From the moment we walked in we were welcomed and looked after in a friendly genuine way. Good value sirloin or rump steak at 18€. Chips home made and tasty. Drinks and pudding for under 30€ a head for 4.
As we have just renovated a beach side villa here (which will be up for rent soon) we will definitely be back. A bit off the beaten track but worth finding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    40
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meribel, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in La Tranche sur Mer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Steaks to die for, all cooked in front of you and presented nicely for a reasonable price! The chips also deserve a mention because they are delicious. Cannot fault this restaurant and it is definitely a must if you're in la tranche sur mer. I would advise you reserve though because it can be popular! I have and will continue to recommend this restaurant to anyone. Don't visit la tranche without going to this restaurant!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angles, France
Level Contributor
107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best local restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Four of us ate here on Friday night. Three of us had tagines - two vegetable and one chicken. They have to be ordered in advance but don't let that put you off - they're fantastic! The fourth meal was salmon with a choice of jacket potato, salad, chips or vegetables. Everything we had, including the four desserts, was delicious. We also had a local wine from Mareuil which is one of our favourites. Highly recommended and we'll certainly be back again soon. I would advise booking in advance, even if you're not having a tagine, as a restaurant as good as this gets extremely busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Amazing food, friendly service, fantastic atmosphere and location, beautiful surroundings. The best food in la tranche I've had! Make sure you book in advance, it's a must have!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Wonderful service from Nico, and the meat is all cooked on the log fire in front of your very eyes. I am reluctant to share this because he will be too booked up for us to go if everyone knows what a gem it is.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Etage Bar-grillades also viewed

La Tranche sur Mer, Vendee
La Tranche sur Mer, Vendee
 
La Tranche sur Mer, Vendee
La Tranche sur Mer, Vendee
 

Been to L'Etage Bar-grillades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing