We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and average!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Grand Pavois
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Fecamp
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Overpriced and average!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed for one night in August in room #400. For 320 Euro, excluding breakfast, we got a "suite panoramique", which was a huge room overlooking the port. The room was cold, sterile and extremely weird with regard to the furniture. It looked as if borrowed from some conference room. Despite the availability of space the room was equipped with two single beds. The bathroom was also huge, but similarly uncomfortable.
The lady at the reception was nice, but her recommendations on the restaurant for dinner were misleading. Later on we found a much better place and moreover closer to the hotel. There is a small garage on the ground floor, which costs 9 Euro per night.
To sum it up, it was definitely not my worst hotel experience, because the premises were clean, modern and well-maintained. The view was also very nice. However, the room and the hotel were not worth the money paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGdPavois, Responsable réception at Hotel le Grand Pavois, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hello,

I am sorry you didn't fully enjoyed your stay in our hotel, as we really do everything we can to satisfy our customers.

Regarding the restaurant, we always try to narrow our recommandations according to the customer's wishes. But it is quite hard to recommend a restaurant, everyone being different and having different tastes and opinions on food. And it is also always disappointing when we sometimes fail.

About the room itself, I believe the booking was done on Internet well in advance. You had therefore access to all the information needed. This includes an extensive photo gallery, which is quite representative, Therefore no surprise there, all our rooms being decorated the same way. But it goes for decoration as it goes for food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    187
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
81
445
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night with our 16 month old daughter at the end of August 2013. We had a standard double room at the rear of the hotel. The room was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Several of the reviews on here mention the lack of shower curtain and the strange bathroom door. The former has been rectified and the latter, well, it is an odd choice of door for a bathroom. It didn't bother us but I can see why some people wouldn't like it. It is worth noting that the toilet is separate from the bathroom. There were plenty of towels and the toiletries were nice. The aircon, minibar and safe are nice extras, but needing to put your keycard in a slot in order for the electricity to work is a bit cheap. The bed was very comfortable and the shutter at the window meant we slept well. We took our own travel cot as I objected to paying another £15 or so for the hotel to provide one (and we needed ours for the following week anyway). Breakfast is not included so I can't comment on ay other facilities. The gentleman on reception both on arrival and departure was very polite and pleasant and provided us with restaurant recommendations for the evening and offered us private parking to the rear of the hotel. We didn't take him up on this as parking opposite the hotel is free and there were several spaces available. The view from the front rooms is nice. The hotel is within easy walking distance of a multitude of restaurants and is only a couple of minutes' walk from the esplanade where there are a number of restaurants with outside terraces giving a view of the sunset over the sea. Although a little pricey for what it is, I would still recommend this hotel to friends if they happened to be passing through Fécamp.

Room Tip: The view from the front is pleasant, but we didn't spend much time in the room in daylight hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugar2sugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Well located with nice views of the harbour and the parking at the rear of the hotel is free.Only there one night but would be fine for a longer stay and Fecamp itself interesting, especilly the Benedictine Palace/Gallery/Distillery. Breakfast was also fine

Room Tip: Worth choosing the sea view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geewiz1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night and the hotel was perfect. We had a lovely sea view room which was very well appointed. There is parking in the hotel for a small cost. Breakfast was perfectly adequate. We would certainly come back

Room Tip: Spend the money on a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We generally choose someplace cheaper but at 130 (rear facing) it gives value. Its a Relais de Silence hotel and certainly was for us because we overslept until 10 a.m. It really gives that sumptuous spoiled effect. it had a strange gate like door to the bathroom reminiscent of bull pens in rodeos.I thought the breakfast was completely overpriced so we used the restaurant nearby (Big Ben) for 5.80 and that was fine.

Room Tip: don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I booked this obsure hotel mainly because of TA reviews.Fecamp not being a place that many friends know of let alone visit. We chose not to upgrade to a water view as we were arriving late and leaving the next day. We arrived late afternoon in that pretty little town and knew right away we should have 'sprung' for the upgrade. We were greeted warmly at the desk at check-in and were upgraded to a harbour view unit. What a delight! My what a smart,clean hi-tech hotel this is.Admittedly I had high expectations from previous reviews but was still surprised at this find. We LOVED our spacious,spotless well appointed room.We splurged on room service for breakfast the following morning and enjoyed the busy harbour scene eating at our table and chairs......and moaning at the fact we couldn't stay longer.Lovely staff....brilliant hotel

Room Tip: It is definitely worth the upgrade to a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellasusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my husband and some other family whilst visiting the area. The hotel is beautiful and overlooking the harbour makes it feels very tranquil. The room we had did not overlook the harbour as it would have been an extra £80 which for one night did not seem worth it, plus we thought it on the expensive side.
The room was really big with a very comfortable king size bed with lovely clean white linen. The bathroom was huge with a double sink, power shower and large bath, plenty of room to get ready and do your hair. The hotel has parking which is a bonus, and a bar area for drinks.
Within a two minute walk there are a selection of lovely restaurants serving fresh fish and seafood and the beach is the same distance.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fecamp
8.3 mi away
Hotel Dormy House
Hotel Dormy House
#1 of 14 in Etretat
1,234 reviews
7.8 mi away
Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon
8.0 mi away
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ambassadeur Hotel
#6 of 14 in Etretat
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#5 of 10 in Fecamp
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#3 of 10 in Fecamp
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Fecamp
Ibis Budget Fecamp
#2 of 10 in Fecamp
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Grand Pavois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Grand Pavois

Property: Hotel le Grand Pavois
Address: 15 Quai de la Vicomte, 76400 Fecamp, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Fecamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Fecamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Grand Pavois 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel le Grand Pavois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Pavois Fecamp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing