We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Palais to remember”
Review of Palais Benedictine

Palais Benedictine
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.35*
and up
Palais Bénédictine Liqueur Distillery and Museum...
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Fecamp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Palais Benedictine, an architectural masterpiece of gothic and Renaissance inspirations, proposes guided tours all year long on Saturday, Sunday, holidays (except May 1st, December 25th and January 1st), and every day during school holidays at 3pm. Discover the museum, the one and only Benedictine distillery in the world and the cellars. Eventually, enjoy the contemporary art exhibition, before heading to the Winter Garden where is offered a tasting of one of the three Benedictine Expressions*. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for health. Consume with moderation
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful site, To actually tour this site, having enjoyed Benedictine for many years is one we will never forget. When we arrived, my wife and I walked the grounds staring, with our mouths wide open. The architecture is breathtaking. The photographic opportunities are endless. The history inside is just magnificent. Room after room of some truly amazing history. A fitting tribute to Alexandre Le Grand and his life’s work. The guide we had gets a gold star for her tour, and how she took us through step by step the process of making the Benedictine. Very thorough indeed. I apologize we didn’t get her name. Lastly, the tasting room is not to be missed. Yes you must get a bottle of the single cask that is only sold at the Abbey. Delicious. Can’t wait to share this with friends and family. Merci beaucoup to everyone at Palais Benedictine,

Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne Z, Responsable relations clients at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your visit and your nice comment. We are always delighted to read such comments of visitors who enjoyed their experience. And you are right, the Palais is a very photogenic place :) We hope to welcome you back, maybe with friends or family !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"benedictine palace"
in 16 reviews
"religious art"
in 8 reviews
"guided tour"
in 11 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 7 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 6 reviews
"palace rooms"
in 2 reviews
"great visit"
in 3 reviews
"interesting collection"
in 3 reviews
"amazing building"
in 5 reviews
"per adult"
in 2 reviews
"leisurely pace"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 7 reviews
"herbs and spices"
in 6 reviews
"small amount"
in 2 reviews
"for sale"
in 2 reviews
"small museum"
in 3 reviews
"french revolution"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed visiting this beautiful palace and learning more about the interesting history of the Bénédictine, its preparation process and its discoverer.

Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne Z, Responsable relations clients at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and your comment !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

We visited here while our Vantage river cruise ship was docked in Le Havre, France. This is a stunning palace located in Fecamp, France and houses the distillery of the famous Benedictine liqueur. The liqueur is made from an infusion of 27 herbs and spices (only 21 are apparently publicly known). We took a tour of the distillery with its hammered copper stills, visited the cellars full of oak casks, and had a chance to taste the liqueur. We could choose from three types of the Benedictine liqueur: Original Benedictine, B&B (Benedictine and Brandy), or Benedictine Single Cask. The original and B&B are 40% alcohol (80 proof) and the Single Cask, which comes in a unique black bottle is only available for sale at the Benedictine’s Palace store. We were only given a very small amount to taste of this bold liqueur due to its alcohol content. The tasting room actually had a breathalyzer machine hanging on the wall.

Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne Z, Responsable relations clients at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you very much for your visit and your comment, it is a pleasure reading it ! We are glad to see that you enjoyed your Experience at the Palais and that you learned :)
We hope to welcome you back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

This is a huge palace which doesn't really look like a distillery but it is. I must confess I didn't know that Benedictine was made in Fécamp - but this is a must visit - as well as being a spectacular building, there is a shop., tasting bar and small restaurant.

The building also houses an art collection.

1  Thank daddytommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thank you for your visit and your comment.
The Palais doesn't loook like a distillery for sure, but it remains the unique place of production of the Bénédictine liquor :)
We're glad you enjoyed your Experience at the Palais and we hope to welcome you back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2018

Benedictine company has grown in the middle of the city of Fécamp. Owner was an art lover so he built this incredible place hosting a museum, a cellar and a distillery.

Thank fbeaugrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thank you for your visit and your comment ! We're glad you enjoyed your experience at the Palais !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais Benedictine also viewed

Fecamp, Seine-Maritime
Fecamp, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Palais Benedictine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing