We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 2:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Palais Benedictine
Reviews (1,434)
Filter reviews
1,434 results
Traveler rating
734
573
102
22
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
734
573
102
22
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews benedictine palace religious art guided tour entrance fee interesting visit palace rooms amazing building old palace interesting collection well worth a visit tasting room nice museum leisurely pace per adult herbs and spices small amount for sale
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,434 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2018

We visited here while our Vantage river cruise ship was docked in Le Havre, France. This is a stunning palace located in Fecamp, France and houses the distillery of the famous Benedictine liqueur. The liqueur is made from an infusion of 27 herbs and spices (only 21 are apparently publicly known). We took a tour of the distillery with its hammered copper stills, visited the cellars full of oak casks, and had a chance to taste the liqueur. We could choose from three types of the Benedictine liqueur: Original Benedictine, B&B (Benedictine and Brandy), or Benedictine Single Cask. The original and B&B are 40% alcohol (80 proof) and the Single Cask, which comes in a unique black bottle is only available for sale at the Benedictine’s Palace store. We were only given a very small amount to taste of this bold liqueur due to its alcohol content. The tasting room actually had a breathalyzer machine hanging on the wall.

Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne Z, Responsable relations clients at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you very much for your visit and your comment, it is a pleasure reading it ! We are glad to see that you enjoyed your Experience at the Palais and that you learned :)
We hope to welcome you back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

This is a huge palace which doesn't really look like a distillery but it is. I must confess I didn't know that Benedictine was made in Fécamp - but this is a must visit - as well as being a spectacular building, there is a shop., tasting bar and small restaurant.

The building also houses an art collection.

1  Thank daddytommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thank you for your visit and your comment.
The Palais doesn't loook like a distillery for sure, but it remains the unique place of production of the Bénédictine liquor :)
We're glad you enjoyed your Experience at the Palais and we hope to welcome you back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

Benedictine company has grown in the middle of the city of Fécamp. Owner was an art lover so he built this incredible place hosting a museum, a cellar and a distillery.

Thank Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thank you for your visit and your comment ! We're glad you enjoyed your experience at the Palais !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

We visited as part of a cruise ship tour. This Gothic revival palais, built by wealthy industrialist Alexandre Legrand is part museum, part distillery.

Our tour started with a visit to the museum, with several ornately decorated rooms containing an eclectic mix of religious artefacts, including ivory carvings and manuscripts. The labels were in French and English. There is also a small art gallery.

After that we descended into the Cave/cellar (several steps, but no lift). There was a short film (about 4 minutes) about the Benedictine distillery, and then we walked past a display of some of the 27 herbs & spices that are used to make the drink, sniffing the samples as we passed them.

Our guide then explained the process of distilling Benedictine, before taking us to the sampling area, for our free (small) sample or traditional Benedictine or B & B (Benedictine & Brandy).

There are toilets there (2 x unisex, so expect to queue for a while). Then you walk through the shop to get to the exit.

Thank andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018

The place worth to be visited, however a little bit pricy. Nevertheless, you should not expect to be a religious place, because it is a liquor factory.

Thank MikiBrussels_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2018

Thank you for your visit and your comment ! We hope to welcome you back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews