We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge palace which produces a distinctive liqueur”
Review of Palais Benedictine

Palais Benedictine
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.81*
and up
Palais Bénédictine Liqueur Distillery and Museum...
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Fecamp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Palais Benedictine, an architectural masterpiece of gothic and Renaissance inspirations, proposes guided tours all year long on Saturday, Sunday, holidays (except May 1st, December 25th and January 1st), and every day during school holidays at 3pm. Discover the museum, the one and only Benedictine distillery in the world and the cellars. Eventually, enjoy the contemporary art exhibition, before heading to the Winter Garden where is offered a tasting of one of the three Benedictine Expressions*. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for health. Consume with moderation
Reviewed June 26, 2018

This is a huge palace which doesn't really look like a distillery but it is. I must confess I didn't know that Benedictine was made in Fécamp - but this is a must visit - as well as being a spectacular building, there is a shop., tasting bar and small restaurant.

The building also houses an art collection.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank daddytommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thank you for your visit and your comment.
The Palais doesn't loook like a distillery for sure, but it remains the unique place of production of the Bénédictine liquor :)
We're glad you enjoyed your Experience at the Palais and we hope to welcome you back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"benedictine palace"
in 16 reviews
"religious art"
in 8 reviews
"guided tour"
in 12 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 6 reviews
"palace rooms"
in 2 reviews
"amazing building"
in 6 reviews
"old palace"
in 2 reviews
"interesting collection"
in 3 reviews
"tasting room"
in 8 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 10 reviews
"nice museum"
in 4 reviews
"leisurely pace"
in 2 reviews
"per adult"
in 2 reviews
"herbs and spices"
in 6 reviews
"small amount"
in 2 reviews
"for sale"
in 2 reviews
"french revolution"
in 2 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2018

Benedictine company has grown in the middle of the city of Fécamp. Owner was an art lover so he built this incredible place hosting a museum, a cellar and a distillery.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thank you for your visit and your comment ! We're glad you enjoyed your experience at the Palais !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

We visited as part of a cruise ship tour. This Gothic revival palais, built by wealthy industrialist Alexandre Legrand is part museum, part distillery.

Our tour started with a visit to the museum, with several ornately decorated rooms containing an eclectic mix of religious artefacts, including ivory carvings and manuscripts. The labels were in French and English. There is also a small art gallery.

After that we descended into the Cave/cellar (several steps, but no lift). There was a short film (about 4 minutes) about the Benedictine distillery, and then we walked past a display of some of the 27 herbs & spices that are used to make the drink, sniffing the samples as we passed them.

Our guide then explained the process of distilling Benedictine, before taking us to the sampling area, for our free (small) sample or traditional Benedictine or B & B (Benedictine & Brandy).

There are toilets there (2 x unisex, so expect to queue for a while). Then you walk through the shop to get to the exit.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018

The place worth to be visited, however a little bit pricy. Nevertheless, you should not expect to be a religious place, because it is a liquor factory.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank MikiBrussels_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2018

Thank you for your visit and your comment ! We hope to welcome you back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

Really didn't know anything about Benedictine before this visit and I was surprised how much we all got something from it. The story of the development of the brand was fascinating. The way the company used graphic advertising employing the best designers of the day including the brilliant Mucha was a for runner of modern marketing. Tying the brand to a religious order The Benedictines was a really clever marketing ploy as I approached the visit I still thought I was going to see monks hard at work. To a modern eye some of the history is a little disturbing as the botteling up until the late 1960s was carried out by girls from the local orphanage supervised by nuns.
There is also a very good collection of 15th and 16th century religious art not my favourite subject but well worth seeing. The lovely little cafe is a lovely place to sit and digest your visit while enjoying your degustation.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank LondonMagicDougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais Benedictine also viewed

Fecamp, Seine-Maritime
Fecamp, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Palais Benedictine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing