We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed”
Review of Palais Benedictine

Palais Benedictine
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.38*
and up
Palais Bénédictine Liqueur Distillery and Museum Visit in Normandy
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Fecamp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We learned a lot about benedictine and I was fascinated because of all the herbs involved. quite a history. the palace is beautiful. we very much enjoyed the tour and the sample. I wish we had had a little more time as they have a very pretty garden/ cafe that would have been nice to enjoy. We were part of a tour that also went to Etretat and the Alabaster coast which was a very nice "beach" town. That morning we had been in Honfleur which I highly recommend as it is like a fairy tale town.

1  Thank sparkysimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your visit and your interest in the Palais Bénédictine. The story behind Bénédictine liqueur is fascinating indeed, and the Palace relates that history in full, as well as the making of the liqueur in the distillery and cellars. It is a shame you didn't have more time to enjoy the winter garden and sample some of our specialities involving Bénédictine, or simply a coffee! We hope to welcome you back on another occasion, when you will hopefully have more time to make the most of the places that caught your eye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

learned a lot about the history of benedictine and the making of this alcohol. even got to try some.

Thank debsteroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your visit and comments. We are delighted you enjoyed learning something of the history and making of Bénédictine liqueur at this splendid palace-cum-factory housing both the distillery and the magnificent art collections.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Interesting to visit but I do not think that it justifies a big detour. The building itself is like a small palace in rococo style. It was never used as a house but just as a museum.
At the end, a liqueur will be served (you paid for it with the ticket price!)

Thank Joaorocheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your visit and comments. The Palais Bénédictine is indeed a factory and palace all in one, built by Fécamp merchant Alexandre Le Grand to house the liqueur distillery and his art collections, and unusual as such. And you are quite right: the Palace has never been used as a residence. You will have seen the founder's amazing collections of sacred art, a fine exhibition of wrought ironwork, paintings, sculptures, manuscripts, etc., and learned something of the fascinating history of the liqueur in an extraordinary setting. You will also have been guided through the manufacturing process in the distillery with its beaten copper stills, in use to this day. And a tasting is indeed included in the admission price (adults over 18 only).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

great place, rich and inspiring history behind the creation of the liquor, tasting experience was great addition to the visit

Thank Hristo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for visiting and for your comment. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the magnificent Palais Bénédictine, the one and only place in the world where the fabulous liqueur is made, and to the museum that traces its remarkable history.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Fecamp is a lovely place to visit on its own,but this place is a must to see for Adults,children may get bored.
Fantastic building and history inside and well worth the money.
The tasting at the end is nice as you can try 2 that you can only get there. The B&B one I particularly enjoyed.
Our French friends took us here while we were visiting them.

Thank binky337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Palais Benedictine, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for visiting and for your comment. We entirely agree, the Palais Bénédictine is truly not to be missed if you are in Fécamp! A magnificent, incredible combination of palace and distillery, the one and only place in the world where the fabulous liqueur is made, plus a museum with an amazing historical tale to tell. There is simply so much to see, learn and enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais Benedictine also viewed

Fecamp, Seine-Maritime
Fecamp, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Palais Benedictine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing