We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, fab location but bring earplugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coquelles
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Clean, fab location but bring earplugs”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Decided to stop here overnight, for a break on our return drive to the UK after a road trip to Belgium and France. Reception staff were very friendly, checked us in quickly and spoke perfect English, although were happy to speak french with me so I could keep practicing! The room was spotlessly clean and plenty big enough for us. Ibis have storage solutions down to a fine art, so there was space for all our stuff. Big window opened wide, so plenty of fresh air and beautiful sunset to watch! TV had BBC news but no other english channels, but at least we could catch up with the news. The shower room is a clever pod, completely enclosed in hard moulded plastic. Shower is really generous, and the whole space cleared of condensation fast. Terrific shower too, powerful and plenty of hot water. We ate dinner in their pub restaurant. It is great value, two courses for under a tenner, if I recall, and tasty. The wine was cheap and decent too. Staff were attentive, and most spoke english. The big shopping mall - cite Europe - is walking distance or a short drive away. Free parking, so fab. We had never been, and were pleasantly surprised by how aimed at the french market the mall was. Picked up some lovely french linen curtains and cushions for the house. Stocked up on lots of wine and cheese at the huge grocery store there too.

My only complaint of this Ibis is that the room is just really noisy. The walls are incredibly thin, and I heard every door shut all night along the corridor, people showering above our room, etc. On top of that, this Ibis is near the dual carriageway, so there is always a background drone of traffic. The receptionist said that it would quiet down in the evening, but not enough for me. I used earplugs, but would probably stay at another local hotel next time. Just a bit too noisy for me. Otherwise, it is a fab IBIS.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    734
    188
    43
    20
See reviews for
357
798
89
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2011

used to stay there on our way to or back from holidays and it was an happy place we stopped every time with pleasure as the kids were looking forward to the fun and the warm welcome there so they behaved through the journey from up north but not any-more as the couple who now manages the place is rude and arrogant! very little of the "old staff" left and the spirit seems to be gone .. not an happy place even if the place is clean and the staff professional

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank emmaandjohnNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I stay here all the time en route to my house in the south and I find it most convenient, very clean modern hotel. Helpful staff who all speak good english if you need it. Food simple, well prepared and served. Very good breakfast and large secured car park. They welcome dogs in all areas except in the dinning room.
I never consider staying anywhere else in Calais

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottylady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2011

stayed here on monday the 9th of may 2011 for one night could not fault anything very clean .breakfast lovely plenty to eat in easy reach of the hypermarket will stay here again your staff are doing a first class job

Room Tip: book on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hewison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I'm not usually a great fan of Ibis hotels having been scarred by the Ibis Car Ferry hotel at Calais but when we arrived at 3 a.m. on Good Friday, I must say I was very impressed by this hotel. It was clean, there was plenty of parking and the bed was very comfortable. We had a very good sleep and weren't disturbed at all, especially as people come and go at odd times at a ferry port. Maybe they just have good soundproofing. I can't recommend this place highly enough for an overnight stopover! Very friendly staff too!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coquelles
0.9 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche
3.1 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
601 reviews
2.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche

Property: Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
Address: Place de Cantorbery, 62231 Coquelles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Coquelles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coquelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Coquelles Tunnel hotel benefits from an exceptional location. Next to the Channel Tunnel and the Cité Europe shopping centre, it is 10 min by motorway from the Car Ferries terminal and 5 min from Calais Frethun TGV railway station. The hotel has 86 air-conditioned rooms. It offers a restaurant, a bar serving snacks 24/24, closed free and guarded parking, a meeting room and Wifi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Calais Coquelles Tunnel Hotel Coquelles
Accor Calais Coquelles Tunnel
Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous La Manche Pas-De-Calais, France - Coquelles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing