We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for Tunnel and Cité de l'Europe shopping centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coquelles
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location for Tunnel and Cité de l'Europe shopping centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Novotel is actually on the same site as the IBIS and shares an open-air carpark. Room was comfortable and large, with unexpected extras like a microwave, which is useful if you don't want to eat at a restaurant. Breakfast was very nice, but the presentation was a bit strange; portions of different foods were packed in plastic pots and colour coded - you were urged to take one pot of each colour to get a balanced breakfast. All well and good - but a LOT of wasted plastic, so not a very environmentally friendly approach. The room was very quiet and the bed was large and comfortable, making for a good night's sleep. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. There is a small gym with a treadmill and a couple of other pieces of equipment. The Cité de l'Europe shopping mall is a five minute walk away, with loads of shops and restaurants (the hotel does not have its own restaurant). One huge shop would be an alcoholics dream - I've never seen such a wide range of beers, wines and spirits! There is also a large supermarket - great for last minute purchases of French delicacies, so I always load up there! The hotel is really near the terminal for the channel tunnel - a five minute drive away. Sadly the area around the hotel is functional rather than scenic, but this is a perfect place to stop-over if you are planning an early morning return to the UK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    362
    89
    19
    19
See reviews for
378
287
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have used the Suite Hotel for many years in several cities...so was disappointed on this visit to discover that the 'merge' with Novotel, some while ago now, has prompted a decline in the uniqueness of the original brand. No longer free croissants/cake and coffee in the foyer, and service to the room very disappointing. Cracked glasses that could not be used, one sachet of original coffee until I requested more. Stains on the carpet outside the room..(had been there for a while) and no-one seemed to be keeping the supply of paper plates etc. topped up. Maybe all small things, but this was never the case with the original brand. I did expect the hotel to be well occupied...but very few people there...probably because the brand is now not worth what it costs for a stay there.With fewer people, maybe the staff had slipped into laissez-faire mode? Pity ...if you have a large family, maybe it still is better because of bigger space, but for a two night stay for two people, there are better and more economic options available. (I have to say that the receptionist was delightful...but slightly impervious to understanding disappointment!). I may return as I visit Coquelles frequently, but I shall do some homework first.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 758David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The excellent previous reviews, which I based my booking on, where absolutely correct. We chose to stay here overnight after our shuttle crossing and before heading down to Paris.

From check in (very friendly and helpful) to breakfast (nice, fresh continental selection) everything was great!

Room decent size, clean, complete with kettle, fridge and microwave, nice bathroom and comfy beds.

Would chose to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbellsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Having made a last minute decision to spend a couple of nights in Calais between Christmas and the New Year we turned to Tripadvisor for recommendations of hotels as we had never used the Tunnel before and were really unsure about the immediate location at the other end. As always we were given expert opinions by travellers and decided on the Novotel Suites at Coquelles. This was everything we had hoped it would be and more. No sooner had we left the Eurotunnel and the satnav was telling us we had reached our destination – how about that for close proximity? After parking up in the large free car park we entered an extremely clean, pleasant reception area where we were politely greeted by English speaking staff who talked us through the facilities in our suite (a choice of smoking or non-smoking was offered which is quite unusual these days). When we reached our fifth floor suite we found it to be very spacious, clean and fresh. Less than 1 mile away was Citi Europe a fabulous shopping mall which incorporated many designer and UK high street shops together with a supermarket which ran the full length of the shopping centre and had everything you could possibly want. As the hotel does not have it’s own restaurant for evening meals and time seemed to have got the better of us we took advantage of the fact that the suite had a microwave and fridge and bought something easy for dinner aswell as 2 x plates, tumblers, knives, forks and spoons as these were not provided. We spent a wonderful relaxed evening in our suite with our microwave meals, tumblers of wine and a choice of numerous English films which were available free through the TV system. Continental breakfasts are available at the hotel which we did have but to be perfectly honest, although very nice, at 14euros each we did find them a little pricey. We did our cigarette shopping in Adinkerke in Belgium as recommended by numerous travellers and this was a very easy 30 minutes drive on the A16. In fact, the hotel is perfectly located for many shopping areas, outlet centres and retail parks all offering bargains galore. Our 3 day, 2 night stay at the Novotel Suites was perfect for our needs and we are already planning our return visit and we would certainly recommend it to anyone thinking of making a similar trip.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker the hotel staff are happy to provide you with a smoking room so no need to go si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed the night of 28th December 2012. This is very much like other Suite Novotels. The room was comfitable, quiet and well situated next to the Cite Europe and outlet centre. The fridge is very large, that is larger than a mini bar size but at max the temperature was only adequate. The floor light failed, and the light above the kettle and sink was intermittent. The TV selection was great and choices of free movies welcomed. The staff were friendly and accommodating. One of the windows opened which was a great relief because we like fresh air. We would definately recommend this hotel and anticipate returning in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Honnef, Germany
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel has not got much atmosphere but it is quiet, ideally situated for an early morning trip through the tunnel and good value for money. There are plenty of parking spaces and it is no problem to get a taxi to a restaurant in Calais.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galleon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coquelles
0.0 mi away
Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.0 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
2.2 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche

Property: Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche
Address: Place de Cantorbery | Tunnel Sous La Manche, 62231 Coquelles, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Coquelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coquelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel, 100 inviting 30sqm suites. Discover our free unlimited Suite box, high-speed Internet connection, phone calls to landlines within France, videos and music on-demand, media zone with chat, music and photos… Located on the Opal Coast, 5 minutes from the Channel Tunnel, 10 minutes from the TGV Eurostar station. Beaches and Cap Blanc Nez 10 min away. 24hr services including food counter, fitness space, business corner. Bar, free massages Thursdays, parking. Tourisme et Handicap certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Calais Coquelles Tunnel Sous La Manche Hotel Coquelles
Suitehotel Coquelles
Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel Sous La Manche Pas-De-Calais, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing